We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic little cottage and dog friendly”
other travellers have booked this property
Night time at Haughian's Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Night time at Haughian's Cottage
Master bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Night time at Haughian's Cottage
Master bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Ballymartin, Kilkeel, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Carla M
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic little cottage and dog friendly”
Reviewed 15 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Just back from our weekend at the cottage and it was fab from start to finish.

Paula the owner is lovely and so welcoming. She left a wee basket of goodies upon arrival so we could have a cuppa and a wee treat before we headed out on our adventures.

The cottage is lovely, so cosy with everything you need. There's a double room and a single room.....the single bed can be made into a double and the living room sofa is also a bed if required. The living room has the old style fireplace with a wood burner, Paula had the fire set so we just had to light it last night when we got home from our long walk.

The bathroom is equipped with an electric shower.

We went to Silent valley which is literally 5 mins away by car. We also went a walk over the mountains and stopped off at Carrick Cottage Cafe which is a must! Their cakes are lush!!!

If you are visiting the cottage be sure to take some carrots etc for the 2 donkeys Peggy and Sue, they're adorable and will greet you each time you leave and return home ❤️

We loved our trip and will definitely be back again soon....

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2017
Thank you so much for these heart-warming words. To be honest, it is guests like you and Robert that make my job such a pleasure. You are more than guests. ..friends now! Look forward to having you back to visit us!! Lots of love
Paula
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saraj1902
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful cottage”
Reviewed 3 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful stay at this beautiful cottage with breathtaking views. Paula was a friendly, warm hearted host who went out of her way to make our stay perfect. We loved the cosy wood burning stove and the kids loved the garden and feeding the donkeys. Thanks again Paula for the welcome pack and your hospitality. We can't wait to come back

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2017
Oh what a pleasure to have such a gorgeous family stay in our cottage! Josh and Max did an amazing job looking after our Donkeys... thanks! And thank you for leaving the house spick and span, even resetting the fire. I really loved making your stay special. Thank you Sara.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherith M
1 review
“Brilliant find, a hidden gem!”
Reviewed 2 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

What a stunning little cottage! Such a cosy and relaxing spot with outstanding views. Paula made us all feel more than welcome and had everything we could wish for plus more. We had a brilliant weekend and will most definitely be back again. Thanks again Paula!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2017
Thank you Cherith! Wow! Delighted you had a wonderful time. Such a lovely family indeed. Really looking forward to having you as our guests again. Warmest wishes
Paula
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Sep 2017
Wow! I am so delighted that my guests, now friends, have enjoyed their stay. So looking forward to seeing you again in our wee piece of heaven x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
avrilwilk...
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect family cottage”
Reviewed 4 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We had a really friendly welcome at this cosy cottage. It had everything we needed for a family weekend away. The garden was secure for the children to play in and they loved feeding the pet donkeys. Inside everything we needed was there including games for the children and a box of edible treats for the whole family. The peat fire added a great atmosphere to the cottage. We will be telling our friends and family about this super place for a weekend getaway.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2017
My goodness. I am overwhelmed at this review. What a beautiful family. Really interesting stories to tell. Children were just little angels indeed. Thanks for everything and hope to see you back for a romantic weekend! Warmest wishes Paula
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
21 Aug 2017
Oh my word, perfect! Thank you Louise. May I say I look forward to seeing you and your family again. I feel like you are friends not guests!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
parksat9
Coleraine, United Kingdom
1 review
“Quaint pet friendly cottage”
Reviewed 21 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The views from the cottage were stunning. The cottage itself had everything we needed. Paula and her family made us so welcome we had a lovely relaxing break,
Lots of lovely walks nearby and not too far from Belfast or Newry if you fancy some retail therapy. We will definitely visit again!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2017
What a beautiful family. So friendly, and very respectful of our cottage. I so enjoyed meeting you and am delighted to had such a nice stay. See you again, I hope. Love Paula
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing