We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (288)
Filter reviews
288 results
Traveller rating
252
31
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
252
31
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot towelssri lankahome away from homeorganic gardenelephant orphanagepersonalized servicelocal dishesadams peakwelcome drinkwhite water raftingspecial thankspersonal chefking coconutamazing experiencenuwara eliyatuk tukboat ride
Filter
Updating list...
234 - 239 of 288 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Two weeks ago in August 2013, we undertook our first Sri Lanka holiday. It turned out to be a truly wonderful trip thanks to the product, planning and the final execution of the team at Tea Hill’s. From the time we were picked up from our hotel in Colombo to our drop off 6 days later, our entire itinerary worked beautifully and exactly as planned………the initial planning itself was very thoughtful and included food preferences if any etc. for all of us (we are a family of 4 , with 2 teenage daughters).

This establishment is owned by Kamal and the day to day operation managed by Sanjay and his team. And what a superb job they do; one would think they have worked in the hospitality industry for years and not just got into it! The accommodation, food and service at Tea Hill’s was amazing, with the breakfasts on the terrace overlooking the tea hills; Sri Lankan spices adjusted to our tastes; a nice living / lounge area with tv and music to relax in; and free wifi offered everywhere, included in the vehicles, which were very well maintained, and driven safely!

There were many high-lights and unique experiences in our itinerary which included water rafting, tea tasting (and we bought enough to last us many months!), Sigiriya climb, fishing and one night at an eco-lodge. This is a really rustic place and great to disconnect; you just see, hear and feel nature! Surrounded by greenery, with a natural stream running through and a spring water pool, views of the stunning lake, this was really great. We got there and went for a trek - the scenery was stunning - and ended the day with a sumptuous barbecue dinner! Definitely a key high-light of our trip. The hotel in Kandy was very nice too although we didn’t get much time there between our arrival at dinner and departure at breakfast. Given the amount of driving to and from Kandy, we shared this feedback and understood that alternative accommodation options are being looked.

The value for money and overall peace of mind of this trip was great esp given the various activities and places visited. For tourists to put this together on your own would typically require either considerable knowledge or extra costs, without any guarantee of quality. Thank you and our compliments to the team at Tea Hill’s.

Mehta family
Dubai

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Samir M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We (our 4 boys, my wife and me)stayed with Sanjay and his team for a week and found every aspect had been planned, from the itinerary being agreed upon long before we arrived, the transportation between activities and places of interest, the advance notice given to restaurants before we arrived etc. Every detail was planned and managed. Every restaurant that we visited was of high quality and we were welcomed like VIPs.
The team in the bungalow looked after our every need. Nothing was too much to ask for.
We did activities that the average tourist booking for themselves wouldn't do in my opinion as they wouldn't know where to look.
The bungalow itself is large and immaculate with 4 poster beds in all 4 rooms. Satelite TV was available upstairs and downstairs to keep the kids engaged.
There are some external noises that interupt a good nights sleep, but the high quality matresses assisted in getting back off.
Sincere thanks to Sanjay and the team of 5 that looked after us throughout and made my kids part of the family throughout.
Great value for money. If you want someone to take the strain and stress of planning and organising where to go each day, this is the place to be.
A great holiday with grand memories.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sean T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Although we stayed at the bungalow only for one night, my husband and I were more than impressed not just by the quality of service but also of how friendly, polite and accommodating the entire team was. From the pick up at home (in a Wifi enabled mini-jeep) to dropping us off at our next destination, Sanjay and team did everything they could to make us comfortable. Special mention goes to the amazing chef! All meals were fabulous. The rooms are spacious and clean, and the view outside is spectacular. Definitely worth it!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Divya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Truly memorable adventure holiday from 1st meet and greet to final departure we were totally spoilt. The 'team' organised everything we did not have to plan just show up and enjoy, which we definitely took advantage of. It will be very hard to find another holiday to outdo this one.

Veronica, Emirates, Dubai

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VCC_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kamal-dubai, Owner at Tea Hills Bungalow, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Dear Veronica, Thank you very much for your valuable comments. We are proud that we made your stay memorable and enjoyable.
I shall pass all your comments to my staff's. Our staffs will be proud to see all your positive comments about our service. We look forward to receive you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I have stayed in Teahills Bungalow for 5 nights and my expectations for this trip have been exceeded in every perspective - from a very welcome with flower bouquets and a delicious coconut welcome drink to the most amazing hospitality from the entire Teahills Crew. Everything was so well organized we did not have to arrange anything ourselves. Whatever we wished for came true. The trips are amazing, especially the white water rafting is a one-of-a-kind experience!
We had our private van including wifi 24/7. This was one of my best vacations and I can definitely recommend it to anyone who is interested in experiencing the beauty of Sri Lanka! Thank you Teahills Crew for your hospitality and kindness!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francisca_Sylvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews