We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Sri Lanka”
Review of Tea Hills Bungalow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tea Hills Bungalow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 November 2013

With my friend we stayed in Sri Lanka for 6 days and it was a memorable stay with lots of wonderful surprises, although it was booked last minute, everything was planned for us so we didnt have to worry about anything, everything was all inclusive including stunning green hills covered with tea trees ;). Clean bedrooms with magical sunrises and sunsets were waiting for us together with polite and professional staff always prepared to make our dreams come true and spoil us... Cooked food was adjusted to our tastes, as I dont eat spicy&hot food and my friend does...The local fruit was heavenly, still remembering those small bananas,papaya and pineapple..Small drawback was that the dogs woke us up in the mornings and the shower heater took quite a long time to heat the water. However, I enjoyed all the trips and lovely people, as well as breathtaking nature and culture. Thank you all, for your endless effort and hospitality!;)))

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dani267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 230 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2013

Hatton was disappointing, there were much prettier places in the Tea Hills. The bungalow was very nice and comfortable and the staff very accommodating but we were told that all rooms had en-suite. This was not the case as all four of us had to queue up to use one shower as the second shower was not connected to a water supply. Also, the immersion had to be switched on at least 20 minutes beforehand to heat the water as we told it must be switched off when not in use! The first night we hardly slept as dogs guarding an old tin warehouse next door to the property barked and howled from dusk till dawn!
The owner Kamal, whom we never met despite him being resident at the time, arranged our six day tour and the other accommodation he organised was most definitely less than three stars. The accommodation arranged for our trip to Kandy was disappointingly twenty five miles outside the town situated down a very steep dirt track which meant we were unable to enjoy the famous elephant festival we were so looking forward to in the town that evening. My son and grandson also had a large black rat in their room which disappeared amongst the rafters!
The tour itself was well organised and the staff extremely attentive but it entailed between 2 and 5 hours of travel between each destination and was so tiring that we decided to leave a day early to recover at our beach hotel for the last few days of our holiday.

Room Tip: Make sure you are given the room with a working shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RIEWatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kamal-dubai, Owner at Tea Hills Bungalow, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Thank you for your review and positive comments about our staffs service.

We apologies all the inconvenience caused in our bungalow. Due to leakage of the hot water line , we were unable to provide you the hot water only one of our wash room. I belive our staffs offered you an alternative option which is down stairs room with attached wash room with hot water.
We regret that we were unable to control external noise due to local festival time and dogs noise because of fire works.

I have spoken to kandy hotel management about your comment, they refused to accept your comment that rat in room and the hotel located only 13 km from kandy city with surrounded quiet environment.

We will take all your comments positive and continue to work on improving our standard and service.


Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Booked this trip at the last minute, and we were on the plane the VERY next day to Sri Lanka!
We were both warmly greeted at airport arrivals with a very nice suprise of fresh flowers and were quickly whisked off to Tea Hills Bungalow in a very comfortable, pillow supplied car!
Upon arrival at Tea Hills Bungalow, this was to be only the very beginning of an incredible and wonderous mini adventure held over 6 days.
We were sent the itinerary via email before we arrived, so we had some expectation of what was in store. Little did we know that it turned out to be a complete and unexpected suprise!!
Although have been to Sri Lanka many times, to be able to experience it with such friendly, and professional staff at each and every step of the adventure, was truly amazing!
No words can describe how well we were looked after throughout the 6 days. All we had to do over the 6 day adventure, was to sit back, relax, and enjoy it!!!
Have to admit, the favourite part of the adventure was staying overnight in the Eagles Ridge Log Cabin. This place was absolutley getting back to nature at its best. Eagles Ridge was more than beautiful; being out amongst nature and right next to a mini waterfall; so at night could be soothed by the sounds of the running water right next to the log cabin. The natural rock swimming pool underneath the waterfall topped off such a beautiful, natural getaway.
Prior to spending the night in Eagles Ridge Log Cabin, we also spent the night in Mount Royal. This place was not was expecting as per the itinerary, so when we walked into Mount Royal and saw out room for the night, we were completely in awe by such a beautiful, and again, back to nature hotel.
Each day of our mini adventrure was more than we were expecting; so we were more than elated by the care, and attention we received every step of the journey.
Would highly, highly recommend this amazing experience to family and friends.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StarBluebelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

It was great 6days of trip to Kandy city and Hatton in Sri Lanka. Ted Hills Bungalow has nice cosy rooms and view from 2nd floor patio which overlooks tea plantations. My friend and I, we loved all the activities(White water rafting,trekking around mountain,Beautiful view from the peak of the Lion Rock Mountain,Tea Plantation etc.) Especially, staying at the Log Cabin was AMAZING.!! It is in the middle of the mountain with waterfalls, surrounded trees and natures.
I really appreciate the service they provieded for us,we had 2 guides with us all the time and they were so attentive and helpful! If i could i would definitely come back again. highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jin37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Two weeks ago in August 2013, we undertook our first Sri Lanka holiday. It turned out to be a truly wonderful trip thanks to the product, planning and the final execution of the team at Tea Hill’s. From the time we were picked up from our hotel in Colombo to our drop off 6 days later, our entire itinerary worked beautifully and exactly as planned………the initial planning itself was very thoughtful and included food preferences if any etc. for all of us (we are a family of 4 , with 2 teenage daughters).

This establishment is owned by Kamal and the day to day operation managed by Sanjay and his team. And what a superb job they do; one would think they have worked in the hospitality industry for years and not just got into it! The accommodation, food and service at Tea Hill’s was amazing, with the breakfasts on the terrace overlooking the tea hills; Sri Lankan spices adjusted to our tastes; a nice living / lounge area with tv and music to relax in; and free wifi offered everywhere, included in the vehicles, which were very well maintained, and driven safely!

There were many high-lights and unique experiences in our itinerary which included water rafting, tea tasting (and we bought enough to last us many months!), Sigiriya climb, fishing and one night at an eco-lodge. This is a really rustic place and great to disconnect; you just see, hear and feel nature! Surrounded by greenery, with a natural stream running through and a spring water pool, views of the stunning lake, this was really great. We got there and went for a trek - the scenery was stunning - and ended the day with a sumptuous barbecue dinner! Definitely a key high-light of our trip. The hotel in Kandy was very nice too although we didn’t get much time there between our arrival at dinner and departure at breakfast. Given the amount of driving to and from Kandy, we shared this feedback and understood that alternative accommodation options are being looked.

The value for money and overall peace of mind of this trip was great esp given the various activities and places visited. For tourists to put this together on your own would typically require either considerable knowledge or extra costs, without any guarantee of quality. Thank you and our compliments to the team at Tea Hill’s.

Mehta family
Dubai

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Samir M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We (our 4 boys, my wife and me)stayed with Sanjay and his team for a week and found every aspect had been planned, from the itinerary being agreed upon long before we arrived, the transportation between activities and places of interest, the advance notice given to restaurants before we arrived etc. Every detail was planned and managed. Every restaurant that we visited was of high quality and we were welcomed like VIPs.
The team in the bungalow looked after our every need. Nothing was too much to ask for.
We did activities that the average tourist booking for themselves wouldn't do in my opinion as they wouldn't know where to look.
The bungalow itself is large and immaculate with 4 poster beds in all 4 rooms. Satelite TV was available upstairs and downstairs to keep the kids engaged.
There are some external noises that interupt a good nights sleep, but the high quality matresses assisted in getting back off.
Sincere thanks to Sanjay and the team of 5 that looked after us throughout and made my kids part of the family throughout.
Great value for money. If you want someone to take the strain and stress of planning and organising where to go each day, this is the place to be.
A great holiday with grand memories.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sean T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Although we stayed at the bungalow only for one night, my husband and I were more than impressed not just by the quality of service but also of how friendly, polite and accommodating the entire team was. From the pick up at home (in a Wifi enabled mini-jeep) to dropping us off at our next destination, Sanjay and team did everything they could to make us comfortable. Special mention goes to the amazing chef! All meals were fabulous. The rooms are spacious and clean, and the view outside is spectacular. Definitely worth it!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Divya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hatton
2.9 mi away
Governor's Mansion
Governor's Mansion
#1 of 2 in Dickoya
100 reviews
17.9 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#2 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
2,653 reviews
13.2 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
1,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Ceylon Tea Trails
Ceylon Tea Trails
#1 of 1 in Hatton
1,247 reviews
1.6 mi away
Daynish Rock Bungalow
Daynish Rock Bungalow
#6 of 20 in Hatton
26 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Waterfall Villas
The Waterfall Villas
#1 of 1 in Talawakele
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tea Hills Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tea Hills Bungalow

Address: Lynd Hurst | Fruit Hill, Hatton 22000, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Hatton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Hatton
Price Range: £29 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Tea Hills Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tea Hills Bungalow Sri Lanka/Hatton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing