We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First class service in a beautiful location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tea Hill's Bungalow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tea Hill's Bungalow
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“First class service in a beautiful location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

I was visiting Sri Lanka for the first time with my nephew. We intended on climbing Adam's Peak and came across Tea Hills Bungalow through Agoda.

On arrival the staff went out of their way to ensure that we were comfortable and happy. The bungalow is a lovely building with views across a tea plantation, and is designed to provide a home away from home. We had our own private living area and balcony where our delicious breakfast was served.

Staff were extremely attentive and helpful, ensuring that our every need was met. They provided us transport too and from Adams Peak and even packed some sandwiches, free of charge, for us to take on our way (which we needed and appreciated).

Great service and amazing food has made our stay memorable. My 11 year old nephew is completely in love with the bungalow and the staff.

I would definitely recommend Tea Hills Bungalow for couples, families or groups.

Room Tip: Book early to get a room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helpfultraveller25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    22
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
64
52
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Karvina, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

Service was excellent. Very friendly staff, who are always smiling and helpful. Meals are delicious, you can try and enjoy a lot of local dishes, prepared according to your wishes - so if you have any special dietary requests, you can just ask and the meal will be always prepared the way you like. It is very easy to feel like home in here, rooms are cozy and very clean. Holiday in here is really a good choice.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaSL2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosario, Argentina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

This holidays exceed our expectations in every way. I read a few comments about Tea Hills Bungalows before booking our trip and it seemed like a really nice place with friendly staff willing to take care of you the best they could. From the moment we were picked up from the airport we realized it was even better. They took care of every little detail, pillows in the car, flowers, drinks and hot towels waiting for us every time we arrived to the bungalows, etc. They pay attention to things that sometimes you don't even remember saying. The bungalow is very nice, comfortable. clean and with a beautiful view. We had the place for ourselves only, so it was like being at home. The chef is absolutely amazing. I never in my life thought I would try typical food. We request non spicy food and they adapt everything to our taste and still we tried the most delicious dishes ever. Before coming I thought i was gonna loose weight but I am sure I gained some kilos because not only the food was great but also a lot in quantity and variety.
Overall it was a great experience, we really enjoyed our holidays and I definitely recommend this place. Believe me, they will spoil you even more than your mom or grandma, and I guess that's not an easy thing to do. KEEP IT UP :)
Looking forward to come back again and relax like we did.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sofi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

My fiance and myself wanted to go to Sri lanka to explore their culture and history based on reviews from other friends.

We searched online for different activities, tours and places to stay and we came across this Bungalow. What made it interesting for us was the fact that they could arrange a all inclusive tour package for us.

We opted for them to pick us up from the airport. It started with them waiting at the arrival hall for us with fresh flowers, helping us with our luggage and taking us to their car with wifi and pillows for our comfort.

Upon arrival at the bungalow we were greeted by the staff with freshly made tea, coffee and juice.

The staff at this place is very friendly, helpful and genuinely carrying people. Food prepared here is always fresh and made to your liking. I have tried many different Asian foods but this is probably one of the better ones we have had.


Some of the activities they arrange for us were White water rafting, day trips to see waterfalls, temples, tea factories and a must see elephant orphanage.


We can highly recommend this bungalow, it has truly been a joyful and stress free stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fredrik E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
129 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

From the start, when we pulled in, we couldn't believe we were in the right place. It didn't look like any guest house or bungalow we've ever stayed in, anywhere in the world. It seemed like a dirty back entrance, but in fact it was the front of the bungalow. We'd also wondered why there were no pictures of the hotel, but seeing it, we understood. Sanjay met us and escorted us upstairs, where he gave us a bouquet of cellophane-wrapped flowers, which was a nice gesture but what were we to do with them? We didn't have a vase.

After getting settled in our room, we wanted to take a walk into town but this seemed to make Sanjay very anxious; he tried a couple of times to push us to accept someone accompanying us, but after pushing back harder than we've ever had to do, we escaped by ourselves. We'd only walked a short way through town when Sanjay dashed across the street to lead us to a van with a driver! We felt stalked, and we finally decided our only real recourse was to surrender because it was not going to be possible just to do what we wanted to do during our stay. After being driven to the waterfalls, the driver offered to drive us to Kandy the following day and said we could call him at any time and he'd be right over. No specific arrangements were made in terms of the time, and we told the staff this when we returned to the hotel. No specific arrangements were made, no specific time.

Dinner was GREAT -- the food was delicious, beautiful, marvelous, and just so special -- but our experience of eating dinner was not. People hovered over us while we ate (we were the only guests) and when a dish on the table still had about 1/3 left, someone would whisk it into the kitchen to fill it up. We just wanted to finish the food that had been served. We were really uncomfortable during the meal, which was especially disappointing because the food really was special. Kudos to the chef; if we were rating the food itself, we'd be writing a very different review. (And the sweet men in the kitchen really were wonderful too.)

The room was fine except it had no view and it was extremely overpriced compared to all the other places we stayed in Sri Lanka (and for what we got, for that matter). It was right off the living room, so when other guests arrived later in the evening, we could hear them talking and laughing in the living room and dining room.

We'd asked for breakfast at 8 and when we walked out of our room at 8, instead of being allowed to go to the table on the upstairs terrace -- which does have a beautiful view -- we were told to sit on the couch in the main living area. Why couldn't we just go sit and enjoy the view? We felt controlled and unable to enjoy ourselves. Again, the food at breakfast was delicious and quite special (the homemade yogurt, the milk rice, the muffins, really wonderful, along with all the rest of the huge and delicious meal), but again someone stood right next to us the whole time. We just wanted to enjoy our breakfast and the view without being hovered over.

After breakfast we wanted to take a walk and we were told the van would be there at 10am to take us to Kandy. We hadn't set up any time with the driver! Once again, the hotel staff decided what we would do and when we would do it. We pushed back and asked for 10:30 and were told to be ready at 10. And in fact, someone knocked on our door at 10 to take our suitcases to the waiting van.

This bungalow really is set up for people who do not want to do anything on their own. We'd noticed that almost all the reviews for this place were written by visitors from Dubai, and were the only reviews they have made here on TripAdvisor. It seems to be primarily set up for people from Dubai -- there is some kind of arrangement made to reserve the bedrooms on the top floor just for Emirates -- and the hospitality may well be appropriate and suitable for Emirates. Had we gone to the UAE, we'd have prepared ourselves for that culture and known what to expect. But we were in Sri Lanka, and at this point we'd had nearly two weeks' experience with Sri Lankan hospitality, so this was surprising and very unpleasant and entirely controlling. We felt suffocated. If you are interested in wandering around and exploring the country and culture on your own and making your own decisions about what you do and see, this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marc_Lori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kamaleesan, Owner at Tea Hill's Bungalow, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Katherine,

Thank you for your detail review about our Bungalow.

My apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay with us specially the noise from the guest when you were sleeping.

Its our first review that you have rated us Poor which is an alert for us to be aware about our standard of service.

Regard to your comment about driving you to town. Our staffs politely asked you if you need the transport for free or you want to walk alone? when our staffs met you in town they asked you if they can drop you back, we did not charge for the transport to take you to town, I cant find what was wrong just offering a lift for our own guest.

Thank you for the comment about our food, however you have mentioned the food plate was taken inside the kitchen to replenish, due to hill country side cold weather, our staff want our guest to have the warm food, we keep replenishing the food to make it warm for the guest. We did not service less quantity or poor quality food which you have agreed. One of our staff will stay just corner of the table with a good distance to observe if you need anything or to replenish water, bread, wine etc. You are the only one who did not like these kind of more personalized service. When you come for the breakfast, we showed you the down stair table, its for privacy, again we did not refuse if you asked us that you want to have your breakfast upstairs. Our staffs informed you that the other guest are from Emirates who were on a tour during your stay, we did not mentioned that we dot allow anyone else to upstairs other than Emirates.


You have checked in at 13;30 and have sent your vehicle back, Our staffs realized you need transport to go back to Kandy, they offered if you need transport, after you agreed the transport was provided only for 45$ to Kandy. You have mentioned that you had breakfast but you never mentioned any of our staffs when you need the car. We never forced to leave our bungalow before 11, we just informed you our car is ready whenever you want to leave, it would have been fair if you have rated us poor if we refused to accept you request to let you stay longer.

We have given you our master room with the view, we are unable to keep open doors to the rooms to get better view due to weather conditions.

Please note following points from our side.

*First time I have ever heard some one did not like to be welcomed by fresh flower bouquet
*We have given you a free tour to Devon/St.Clair water falls which you did not mentioned anywhere and you have stated we over charged you. We charged you only 110$ for Bed and Breakfast with the free tour to water falls.
*You have published only some photos part of our Bungalow, I am sure there were so many better photos of our bungalow which other guest have published. Seems like you have look all around our bungalow to get these photos to support your comments. We regularly paint and polish to keep our standard. Due to hills side raining weather last two months we couldn't paint only open areas which will be done after raining season. Please check our web site we have published all our bungalow photos.
*You have mentioned that we haven't published any photos on our web site, please check again our web site, we have published all the photos without any photoshop editing. You don't need to be in Dubai to check our web site, you can check anywhere in the world.
* We agreed to reserve the room without even the payment when you made the booking due to extra cost for sending the money to us, we accept your booking and reserved the room just to give you an good impression about us.
* As a Sri Lankan what ever we offer you or try to provide you more personalized service, you have taken it wrong that we are forcing you.
* I just had meeting with all my staffs, they all commented, they did not refuse for any of your request during you stay, specially if you ask you prefer to have breakfast upstairs, they will be happy to offer you or if you want to stay longer instead of leaving at 10;30am. The only comment you made was "The Bungalow Was Beautiful" "Food is spicy"

Once again, we regret that we could not meet your expectation.

I am sorry to respond you more in detail as we don't want any of our valuable guest to be mislead by your comments. We will continue to do our best for guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

My write up is almost a year late. We went in December 2012 its now November 2013. Only reason I've not written this sooner is pure laziness BUT I have not stopped talking about this amazing holiday. Infact I've been suggesting it to almost anyone who asks me about where to go on holidays. We organised this trip in such short notice but the details and efforts that went into it its as if we had been planning this for months. From the moment we made contact with Kamal it was as if he was planning a dream holiday. Well he definitely didn't let us down. There was nature, amazing home cooked food by our own chef, Sanjay with his knowledge and information about the about country. We stayed in Kamals house in Hattan, then the Bungalows we stayed in where breath takingly beautiful. Clean and tidy. But the view was to die for! We couldn't take our eyes off it! We wanted to be in it, part of it, eating in front of it! Any thing to see the view of all the greenery. We were looked after so well that to this day we both have said we haven't had a holiday sooooo good and so worth our money. Infact we feel it was too cheap. Most certainly worth every cent and more. I have no complaints or any suggestions for improvement.

Every day there was a new activity to do a lot of hiking and walking and exploring which is exactly what we wanted to do. If your not up for a lot of exploring this may not be the tour for u. They truly looked after us and paid so much attention to our needs. Most certainly in my top 3 of best holidays I've ever had. Thank you to the team for making it a holiday to always remember. Katherine

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katherinedubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

With my friend we stayed in Sri Lanka for 6 days and it was a memorable stay with lots of wonderful surprises, although it was booked last minute, everything was planned for us so we didnt have to worry about anything, everything was all inclusive including stunning green hills covered with tea trees ;). Clean bedrooms with magical sunrises and sunsets were waiting for us together with polite and professional staff always prepared to make our dreams come true and spoil us... Cooked food was adjusted to our tastes, as I dont eat spicy&hot food and my friend does...The local fruit was heavenly, still remembering those small bananas,papaya and pineapple..Small drawback was that the dogs woke us up in the mornings and the shower heater took quite a long time to heat the water. However, I enjoyed all the trips and lovely people, as well as breathtaking nature and culture. Thank you all, for your endless effort and hospitality!;)))

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dani267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hatton
2.9 mi away
Governor's Mansion
Governor's Mansion
#1 of 1 in Dickoya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
17.9 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#2 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,403 reviews
13.2 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#4 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Mandira Bungalows
Mandira Bungalows
#2 of 12 in Hatton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Greendale Bungalow
The Greendale Bungalow
#2 of 16 in Hatton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
10.0 mi away
Langdale by Amaya
Langdale by Amaya
#7 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tea Hill's Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tea Hill's Bungalow

Property: Tea Hill's Bungalow
Address: Lynd Hurst | Fruit Hill, Hatton 22000, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Hatton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Hatton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Tea Hill's Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tea Hill's Bungalow Sri Lanka/Hatton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing