We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the highlights of our holiday - a wonderful experience”
Review of Ceylon Tea Trails

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ceylon Tea Trails
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hatton
Certificate of Excellence
Westcountry
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“One of the highlights of our holiday – a wonderful experience”
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Having read the reviews and studied the Tea Trails web site my expectations were high and I’m please to say that these expectations were met during our two-night stay. We stayed at Castlereagh Bungalow – it is a beautiful setting, oozes colonial style, the food was excellent and service attentive without being over bearing. We had a garden suite that was very spacious, comfortable and tastefully furnished. The bathroom was also very spacious with a large roll top bath and rain shower. The bedroom had French doors onto a private terrace and garden where we had high tea served one afternoon. Each day you discussed meal options with the chef and having spoken once about a particular dietary requirement they catered for it on every occasion. One example of the level of service is the way that, while having a drink before diner, the bathroom is cleaned and tidied (as well as the usual turn down). We walked one of the tea trails one afternoon – well worth it for the views (if you plan to do this take pens for the few local children you may encounter) and also the tea experience at Norwood Tea Factory was fascinating (thank you Andrew!).
It is worth mentioning that we stayed in 7 different small properties during our trip and while this was by far the most expensive, I feel it delivered.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SmartMoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,087
    63
    15
    11
    2
See reviews for
207
797
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
132 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

I had read all the reviews so I had high expectations. It certainly didnt disapoint. We stayed in Castlereagh and the location and views from the bugalow are excellent. The service is wonderful - the staff anticipate your every need and have a wonderful friendly manner. The food is great as is the ambience of the hotel. Its just gorgeous!

My only compalint is that the noise from the wooden floors and doors means that you hear other guests coming and going from their rooms. There was quite a bit of inadventent door slamming going on - it would be great if the hotel could find a way to reduce this (more rugs in the hallway to help deaden the sound may help)

PS: There are two great additions to regular hotel service - tea in bed each morning and a free laundry service!

We will definately be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the room at the end of the house - it had double doors opening into the garden and was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neptunetravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hants, UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We stayed in the Tientsin bungalow which was so lovely. It was like you were staying in a smart English house. The rooms were extremely comfortable and the bathrooms were lovely. The highlight has to be the food which never seemed to stop coming. The English tea in the afternoon was absolutely delectable. Do not say no. All the food and drinks were included in our room rate! All the staff were very nice and friendly and it had a lovely pool and clay tennis court. The walks were beautiful as were the views. We highly recommend.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kilntravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

After reading so many amazing reviews about the tea trails I must admit my expectations were incredibly high.
I am incredibly fortunate to have worked in tourism for many years and live in the Maldives and have the chance to visit some of the most amazing hotels and resorts in the world which often leaves me a little disappointed but this was absolutely not the case with the tea trails.

I traveled with my Mother, Sister and two year old son which I must admit made me a little apprehensive as we would be staying in close proximity to other guests.

I have to say that all in all it was one of the most amazing trips I've had to date. We stayed in Tienstien for three nights both rooms were garden suites. The bungalow itself was much larger than it looks on the pictures and the rooms were incredibly spacious.

The furnishings beautiful, beds incredibly comfortable, bathrooms fabulous. The highlight for us though has to be the amazingly warm and helpful staff and without a doubt the food. If you are worried about weight gain this is not the trip for you!!

My mother and sister were both vegetarians and were incredibly well catered for. My son is going through a very picky stage and only seems to eat pasta and the chef went out of his way to ensure he was happy and well fed. Every day we would have a delicious afternoon tea and vow that we would eat less the following day and just end up eating more!!

Thank you so much tea trails. You have spoilt all future trips as I am sure that I cannot find anywhere world wide to compare!

Yes it is expensive but in all honesty you get all and more than you pay for.

Oh and try the in room treatments! book early as there is nothing better than getting an amazing peppermint or tea foot rub and soak after walking the tea trails. Oh and dont miss the tea tour!

Room Tip: My mother had a small issue with her room so she was moved to Noir (I think thats what it was called...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hanathompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
218 reviews
177 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Frankly, who can complain about this place? Ok, a little bit difficult to access with bumpy roads and so on but once there, forget everything. We stayed at Tientsin bungalow with our youngest daughter of 4 and a couple of friends also with their daughter. We felt really at home, especially in the shared leaving room with fireplace and open bar. Food was also nice. We played crocket (new for us), used the nice pool, did not play tennis but went for a very nice 1h30 walk in the area. Room ambiance, decoration and quality of the furnitures are at the top. Tietsin is the oldest bungalow with the most colonial atmosphere. All included concept makes it finally not that expensive compared to many other hotels of the same category.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurent P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

I was a bit apprehensive about taking our 2 ½ year old to Norwood Bungalow after reading some previous reviews (subsequent to our booking). I need not have worried. Our stay was pure bliss.

We loved the warm homey feel of the bungalow. This didn’t detract from the pampering luxury but rather enhanced it. The layout of the bungalow was such that we could put our daughter to bed in the evenings and then enjoy a sumptuous dinner for two within earshot of our suite. A rare indulgence!

The grounds are stunning and we spent as much time outdoors as possible, enjoying long walks through the plantation with its spectacular vistas. Coming from Dubai, even the rain was a wonderful treat!

The Tea Experience with Andrew Taylor is a must! The factory tour was fascinating. Andrew was an absolute delight and has instilled in us a new appreciation for tea.

Thank you to all the incredible staff at Norwood who made our stay memorable.

Just one word of advice: Be prepared for leeches! We were not. That said don’t let this put you off! We would be back in a heartbeat, persistent pests and all.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aimless81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We booked a few nights here during our first trip to Sri Lanka at the suggestion of our travel agent after some hesitation as it increased somewhat the cost of our trip. However we did not regret it a single moment. Our stay has been perfect. You are transported out of time in a parallel dimension in a beautiful setting. The staff is at the same time very discrete and incredibly attentive, We staid in summerville and enjoyed every moment of it, from the sumptuous breakfast to the noises o the tropical night. If you can afford it, if you are looking for a very special moment, we can't recommend the place more than saying that we really wish to come back one day. Even our three teenagers were sensitive to the enchantment of the experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sylfla01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hatton
20.1 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#2 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,481 reviews
4.7 mi away
Governor's Mansion
Governor's Mansion
#1 of 1 in Dickoya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
15.6 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#1 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
5.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
15.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,955 reviews
15.2 mi away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#3 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ceylon Tea Trails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ceylon Tea Trails

Property: Ceylon Tea Trails
Address: Dunkeld Estate, Hatton 22000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Hatton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hatton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ceylon Tea Trails 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ceylon Tea Trails, Sri Lanka's first Relais & Chateaux resort, is a collection of five colonial era tea planters' bungalows restored to impeccable style, offering a taste of gracious living in 26 suites and rooms, with butler service and original furnishings, accompanied by gourmet meals. Walking trails connect the bungalows which are from 2km to 15km apart. Follow the Tea Trail from one unique bungalow to the next, staying a night or two at each or just laze in one. Rates are fully inclusive of gourmet meals and drinks, including spirits and wines. Even service charges, taxes and laundry are included. We won't bother you with bills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, MrandMrsSmith, Holiday Gems and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ceylon Tea Trails reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ceylon Tea Trails Hatton
Ceylon Tea Trails Sri Lanka/Hatton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing