We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“summervilla bunglow visit”
Review of Ceylon Tea Trails

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ceylon Tea Trails
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hatton
Certificate of Excellence
india
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“summervilla bunglow visit”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Recently we have visited and stayed at Summervilla bunglow at Hatton and we were very much satisfied and very happy that we choose this property for our stay.Staff was very friendly and helpful.Food was delicious and the location is superb.Location is very beautiful.
Tea Trail was an excellent experience with great facility ,lovely food and even better service .It is an experience we will never stop talking.

Room Tip: All rooms r good but please make your reservation in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jagmahek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,087
    63
    15
    11
    2
See reviews for
207
797
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
85 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Very special place, with impeccable personal service - stay in one bungalow, travel to another for a spot of lunch, tennis and afternoon tea. The chef is at your service to cook whatever you want - Sri Lankan or western and the butlers are always on hand to bring you some tea or a cocktail. Great tour of a tea factory included in the hotel - beautiful wooden floored rooms with well chosen, classic colonial decor.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonCymruambyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

General impression: This resort is the best option for touring the Ceylon tea area. Make sure to go during a season where rain is less probable, as staying indoors here gets old pretty quickly. The scenery in the area is generally beautiful and at times over-the-top stunning. Apparently in the 1800s many different tree varieties were brought in from Africa and other countries, so there is an eclectic mix of lush greenery everywhere.

Bungalow thoughts: We stayed at Castlereagh during a rainy stay in the area -- it had a traditional British colonial feel and overlooked a man-made reservoir. We visited the other bungalows as well. Norwood was under renovation but seems to have the grandest views of the rolling tea hills. Tientsin has impressive English-style gardens, but noise from the nearby village was loud and unpleasant. Summerville has a more modern feel and would be our first choice if we ever returned. Given there are so few rooms at each bungalow, it’s easy to chat with and get to know other guests.

Lodging: Our rooms were nice with a colonial decor. As it was quite humid and the bungalows are not air-conditioned, indoor areas often felt damp and moist. Common area windows/doors are kept open, so flies and mosquitoes tend to be prevalent indoors. Breakfast is served outdoors on a patio, and birds fly all around. A crow visited the patio each day, and on several occasions swooped in to diners' tables and stole food as they were sitting -- nerve-wracking and unpleasant…

Service: Staff members were attentive and friendly, although erred on being polite and not really warm. They try very hard but just don’t have that level of hospitality/behavior that one might find at other all-inclusive resorts in this price range.

Food: The chef discusses all menus and meal preferences each morning, and the food was generally solid (although meats tended to be overcooked). The Sri Lankan omelet and local sausage at breakfast were highlights. We took advantage of trying many of the local teas. Look for the more rare/expensive white tea, which is subtle but wonderful.

Activities: The tea factory tour with Andrew was informative and interesting. He does this same tour on a regular basis, but his enthusiasm still comes through. We took a hike one rainy day from Castlereagh to Norwood. Be careful of leeches if you walk around the area in the rain – they are everywhere in wet weather.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank CDP5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelford, uk
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We had an amazing 3 night stay at this salubrious, charming place. Treated like royalty. Perfect balance of colonial decadence and Sri Lankan kindness and warmth.
Highlights for us were the delicious food which reflects the sophisticated surroundings (every morning the Chef discusses the days menus with each guest personally) and the Tea Factory Tour with Andrew Taylor (he was a tea planter and this was his home). Andrew is a true gentleman with a passion for his subject.
We will return to this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jules S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

The view of the hills from Norwood bungalow must rank with the finest in the world - I was totally mesmerised, and decided that the colonial tea planters probably found it ample compensation for exile from Blighty.The bungalow's own garden is also very attractive, with a stand of bamboo at the end of the drive which is nothing short of magnificent. There's also a pool if you are brave enough (temperatures in these hilly parts of Sri Lanka are a far cry from the coast).

Despite all this, it's a bit of an odd experience - it's like a home but it's not your home, because you are sharing it with other guests. And the super-attentive staff (except on arrival, when we were sort of abandoned while they negotiated with our driver about something) make you a bit self conscious. Having said that, the service is generally very good, with everything from your morning 'bed tea' to hot choc for the kids available at the twitch of an eyebrow. The quality (not to say the frequency!) of the food was fantastic - the chef will agree the day's menu with you, and has plenty of ideas - we found we were just happy to let him come up with the goods. Some nights a Sri Lankan banquet is available - well worth opting into. A well stocked drinks trolley stands available in the lounge.

A trip to the local tea factory is thrown in, and head honcho Andrew will entertain you with his well rehearsed tour. I wished I had known beforehand about some of the longer trips available from Norwood - they will fix you up with transport and a guide to climb Adam's Peak, for example. We might well have stayed an extra day for that (well, maybe one of us!).

The road trip up from Kandy is tortuous (tinhatted with an extremely rocky driveway to the bungalow), although with some sensational views - the colour of Castlereagh Lake is something I've never seen before and it will certainly stay in my memory. I would advise coming up by train to Hatton if you can. Staff told us that the driveway is due an upgrade, and that the property itself will be overhauled and extended soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wyvernian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stayed here on our third leg of a weeks trip. Our house was called Castlereagh and had 5 bedrooms, 2 lounges, a swimming pool and lots of outdoor space.
Our room was huge with a big bathroom and an outside terrace with loungers. At breakfast the chef comes out to go through the evening menu with you to make sure you like what he will be cooking later. All the food we had was lovely and was eaten out on the verandah. The guests all dined at about the same time so it was great to get to know the others and find out about their travels around Sri Lanka.
Unfortunately the weather wasn't good while we were there so we didn't use the pool or lounge around the garden. We did go for a 5mile walk around the paths (map provided) which was great for meeting the local children and there parents who work on the tea plantations. Take some sweets with you.
We loved staying here, the view across the lake, the rooms, the service, the relaxed atmosphere, everything about it (except the rain) was perfect.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back have a small garden area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lauralou911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

A long drive to get there, but boy was it worth it!

Luxurious, beautiful, fantastic views, superb staff.

I would have thought that this experience was quite unique, your own butler, lunch and dinner discussed with the chef at breakfast time.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hatton
20.1 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,481 reviews
4.7 mi away
Governor's Mansion
Governor's Mansion
#1 of 1 in Dickoya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
15.6 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#3 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
5.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
15.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,955 reviews
15.2 mi away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#2 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ceylon Tea Trails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ceylon Tea Trails

Property: Ceylon Tea Trails
Address: Dunkeld Estate, Hatton 22000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Hatton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hatton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ceylon Tea Trails 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ceylon Tea Trails, Sri Lanka's first Relais & Chateaux resort, is a collection of five colonial era tea planters' bungalows restored to impeccable style, offering a taste of gracious living in 26 suites and rooms, with butler service and original furnishings, accompanied by gourmet meals. Walking trails connect the bungalows which are from 2km to 15km apart. Follow the Tea Trail from one unique bungalow to the next, staying a night or two at each or just laze in one. Rates are fully inclusive of gourmet meals and drinks, including spirits and wines. Even service charges, taxes and laundry are included. We won't bother you with bills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, MrandMrsSmith, Holiday Gems and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ceylon Tea Trails reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ceylon Tea Trails Hatton
Ceylon Tea Trails Sri Lanka/Hatton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing