We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unforgettable and fantastic stay. Great service!”
Review of Ceylon Tea Trails

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ceylon Tea Trails
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hatton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Reading all the other reviews on TripAdvisor made us decide to splurge on 2 night at Tea Trails, and it was something that we did not regret! After a very long and wobbly drive up the tea plantations, we first arrived the Summerville bungalow (which was one of the smallest bungalows on the whole estate). We were wowed by the bungalow, which had a view of the pool which was right by the lake. Service was impeccable, and the staff was always friendly and eager to please. We went on 2 hikes at Summerville based on maps provided by the staff and it was amazing! The weather was great and we got to walk through the plantations, seeing the local ladies delicately plucking tea leafs in the morning. We forgot the sunblock and got sunburnt up in the hills. Don't make the same mistake!

We moved to Tientsin on our 2nd night. Service was still great, but we preferred Summerville for its cosiness and the bungalow was also slightly more modern. Tried the spa service and it was a great relaxing experience, although slightly on the expensive side.

Regardless of which bungalow you choose, you will have a wonderful relaxing experience! The food was always amazing, regardless of whether it was western or Sri Lankan. The chef will always come out to discuss the next meal's menu with you, but we always left the decision to the chef because everything was absolutely delicious! Don't forget the free drinks that you can enjoy all day long!

Last but not least, the tea tour by Andrew Taylor was very educational. He told us everything there was to tea processing, which was a great way to complete our 2 days in the tea country.

Room Tip: Preferred Summerville bungalow to Tientsin. Did not get the chance to visit Norwood (under renovatio...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IrisL_sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,218)
There are newer reviews for Ceylon Tea Trails
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

670 - 676 of 1,218 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed at Tientsin for 2 wonderful days but we could have stayed a lot longer. The staff was so friendly and the service was remarkable. Thank you Mahesh and team. Unfortunately, the tea processing facilities were closed for a holiday but Andrew Taylor came to us for a private lesson on all aspects of tea - history, growing, processing, buying & selling, and tasting. It was fascinating and Andrew's passion for it all really shone through. Besides this, we walked through the tea plantation, went to Castlereagh for lunch and not much else - tea and meals on the veranda, meeting other guests for drinks before dinner. It was perfect.
Do this. You won't be sorry.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Don't stay too long as you will never be able to leave.
Everything is just perfect. Fantastic food, picturesque setting, very professional staff, laundry done for you etc etc Really enjoyed our swims in the infinity pool & croquet in the beautiful gardens before heading back to the bungalow for high tea.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Fraser" room in Tientsin,which had its own very large private garden. Wo...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Polly255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Despite the lengthy travel time due to the poor road system in Sri Lanka the journey is worth it. With stunning views and great service a must if you are in the area. All of the bungalows differ and offer unique service/amenities.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

It's not hard to see why Tea Trails wins awards and people keep returning. It is absolutely stunning!!! The setting is beautiful, so serene, the service impeccable and the food is some of the best I have ever experienced (and I have stayed in hundreds of hotels around the world). We stayed at the Summerville bungalow, which certainly has a nicer view and balcony than Castlereagh (at least in my opinion) although the folks we met at Castlereagh were thrilled with their bungalow too. The staff are amazingly attentive. I woke one morning at 3:45 a.m. to head off to climb Sri Pada (Adams Peak) with our amazing driver and guide Shaluka who owns and operates Heritage Lanka Tours (who is awesome by the way) to find that one of the butlers was awake. He had packed a backpack for me with energy drinks, biscuits, fruit, sandwiches etc. He knew I was climbing on my own and wanted me to have more than enough food and energy. He had even included a flask of tea for the hour long car trip and a touch light in case it was still dark when I got there. Those small gestures are common at this special place. Its relatively expensive to stay here but was worth every penny and for people considering it, I will tell you its a MUST. I am planning my next trip back here next year and I will bring all 10 family members with me

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NicoleNortmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Although it was a long drive to get to this secluded area, the journey was very well worth it. Beautiful colonial rooms, good food, and great service in a serene setting. If you are looking for a place to relax in luxury, this is a solid choice. The staff were professional, and the other guests were good company.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dollarwon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Our third stay at Tea Trails and it is consistently excellent. We have stayed at Norwood bungalow, Castlereagh bungalow and this time at Summerville. All bungalows are terrific with Norwood being better for a big group (five to six bedrooms) and Castlereagh and Summerville being better for couples or two coupes, as we were this time. The staff are superb - friendly, polite, discrete yet always second guessing your requirements. The location is magical - overlooking the lake and its various calming activities and changes of light. The rooms are luxurious yet unpretentious - all needs catered for in generous servings of space and beautiful linens and furnishings. The food is superb and plentiful and the wines are excellent (we noted an improvement since our last visit in 2010). Make sure you take a tea factory tour with Andrew Taylor - great knowledge, presentation skills and sense of humour!

Room Tip: Book early to increase your chances of getting your first choice.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobynFordyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hatton
20.1 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
2,593 reviews
4.7 mi away
Governor's Mansion
Governor's Mansion
#1 of 2 in Dickoya
99 reviews
23.1 mi away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#3 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
1,546 reviews
15.2 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
851 reviews
15.2 mi away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#2 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ceylon Tea Trails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ceylon Tea Trails

Address: Dunkeld Estate, Hatton 22000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Hatton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hatton
Price Range: £655 - £694 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ceylon Tea Trails 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ceylon Tea Trails, Sri Lanka's first Relais & Chateaux resort, is a collection of five colonial era tea planters' bungalows restored to impeccable style, offering a taste of gracious living in 27 suites and rooms, with butler service and original furnishings, accompanied by gourmet meals. Walking trails connect the bungalows which are from 2km to 15km apart. Follow the Tea Trail from one unique bungalow to the next, staying a night or two at each or just laze in one. Rates are fully inclusive of gourmet meals and drinks, including spirits and wines. Even service charges, taxes and laundry are included. We won't bother you with bills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, MrandMrsSmith, Southall Travel and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ceylon Tea Trails reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ceylon Tea Trails Hatton
Ceylon Tea Trails Sri Lanka/Hatton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing