We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total Relaxation”
Review of Ceylon Tea Trails

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ceylon Tea Trails
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hatton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I am a little late in posting this but we stayed at Tiensin bungalow for three nights at the beginning of November. We were right to stay the three nights, rather than two, as the journey from Colombo took 4.5 hours, following an overnight flight, so we didn't arrive on our first day until 7.30 pm. We hired a car and driver via Mr & Mrs Smith - turned out to be JetWing so we maybe could have booked them directly. Do not be tempted to hire a car yourself - roads and driving leave a lot to be desired! Plus there aren't many signposts!

The weather seemed to have a pattern of being very warm and sunny in the mornings and clouding over and some rain in the afternoons. It rained both afternoons we were there but honestly didn't matter as was still warm, nothing like English rain! Also quite nice to be cosy on the verandahs with tea watching it.

Tiensin was delightful with beautiful views and gardens and a lovely, but initially rather cold, 20 m pool. There is a very calm atmosphere and a well appointed drawing room with lots of books. Other reviews on here have mentioned the village which lies slightly below the property - yes you can hear music but we liked it and thought it added some local colour. There area also lots of birds flitting about and often kites overhead.

The food was delicious and portions just the right size. Sri Lankan curry night was our favourite. Apart from the this the food tended to be more European.

We didn't visit any of the other bungalows as the journey time was around an hour or so to get to them and we were planning on having a relaxing time. Other guests did go to other bungalows for afternoon tea. We swam in the pool a lot and read books. We did have a massage each which was brilliant and very good value.

We did the Norwood Tea Factory visit and Andrew was very enthusiastic and informative - so passionate about his tea and the tasting we did was entertaining.

Mahesh, Sanath and the rest of team of boys running Tiensin were always very helpful, smily and cheerful and nothing was too much trouble. A great start to our Sri Lankan holiday!

Room Tip: We stayed in the room called Meares which was delightful. Didn't have its own terrace as some r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SweetPeaJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

702 - 708 of 1,267 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2013

We spent two nights at the Tiensin bungalow during our trip to Sri Lanka. It was an amazing place to stay. The room, service and location are excellent and the attention to detail - fantastic. Really appreciated the opportunity to walk in and around the tea trails. Really enjoyed the opportunity to visit and tour the tea plantation. Huge thank you to Andrew Taylor for spending the morning with us explaining the ins and outs of producing and tasting tea!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stanbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

When we booked our three-night stay at the Tea Trails bungalows in Sri Lanka we had requested to stay at Norwood bungalow. However, just before we left Australia, we were told we'd been moved to Castlereagh, as Norwood was being renovated and extended. While we didn't visit Norwood bungalow when there, we saw where it was as our tea tour was conducted at the Norwood Estate tea factory just down the hill from the bungalow. We also visited the other two bungalows in the Tea Trails group: Summerville, which is close to Castlereagh; and Tientsin, the most remote of the four bungalows and probably the prettiest because of its extensive gardens and its building style (it's the oldest of the four, with timber-panelled hallways). Castlereagh and Summerville face each other diagonally across the Castlereagh lake. Summerville, which is the smallest of the four, has the most spectacular setting and view, but all rooms lead off a tiled, slightly utilitarian corridor. Castlereagh feels much grander, and our room (Palmer), at the end of the wide hall, lead directly onto the garden. It was probably the pick of the rooms in this bungalow, however its side windows faced the early morning chanting broadcast by loud speaker from a nearby Hindu temple, which interrupted any plans to sleep in. Apart from the tea tour — which was a fascinating insight into the world of tea, led by the very knowledgeable and urbane Andrew — there is little to do but sit and relax and go for the occasional stroll around the plantations in an attempt to walk off the enormous amount of food (three and four courses at each meal) prepared by the talented chefs at each guesthouse.
The one downside is that we were a little disappointed with the country where the Tea Trails bungalows are located. It's certainly not as lush and verdant as other tea country we passed through on the way to Yala. Planting more trees on land not used for tea, such as the crests of the hills, which have all been cleared, would certainly improve the feel of the area and perhaps help alleviate erosion, which was starkly obvious in places.

Room Tip: Garden rooms are larger and open directly onto private garden areas with chaises. If you're at a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoyFlight101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Had a wonderful time staying at Tiensin with the family. So many things to do. Food was 'haute cuisine', tea out of this world- best I ever had! Can't wait to go back ! Such a luxury to have the laundry cleaned and folded without asking!

Room Tip: Bungalow is small, all rooms are nice and have scenic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Stayed 2 nights at Tientsin bungalow with friends and it was a perfect oasis of calm and perfection. The staff were so helpful and couldn't do enough, the rooms huge and comfortable and the food was amazing. We needed a break from the hectic tour and they provided just that. The gardens were stunning and the gardeners a so proud of them and rightly so and the pool had amazing views.

Did the tea tour at Norwood estate which was excellent and Andrew Taylor was very entertaining in delivering all things about tea. We had a packed lunch and went for a walk through the tea plantations, well worth it, the pack up was excellent and the walk with views just stunning. Cannot say enough good things about it, was just wonderful.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Powderbirdffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Lovely position with the tea plantation all around,overlooking a lake, efficient staff, spacious rooms, peaceful and really good food. The all inclusive package is a great idea. We had such good fun chatting to other guests over pre dinner drinks. They were a super bunch of interesting people. The chef took such care with planning the menu and talked through every meal with you. The food was beautifully cooked and presented. We did the walking trails and really enjoyed the experience. There are clear laminated maps to take with you and you can see tea plantation life at your own pace. Boat trips to other bungalows for tea are available but we were so happy and settled playing croquet and just enjoying the wildlife that we stayed put . Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beverley73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

My wife and I spent 3 very pleasant nights at the Tientsin Bungalow near Hatton. Despite the long journey over from the coast, we thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience. The location has lovely views (especially if you like tea!), the food (and tea) is great and the staff went out of their way to make our visit special.
To avoid becoming stir crazy (and to reduce our food and drink intake), we took the train from Hatton to Kandy which was great fun (sit on the left side going, reverse coming back); Kandy and the surrounding area is definately worth a visit.
We also took the hotel's shuttle bus over to 'Castlereagh' (one of their other bungalows) and this was in an even more spectactular loction by a lake, but is a lot more 'remote'.
It was a nice touch to meet and chat to the other guests at pre-dinner drinks, which made the whole dining experience such fun; however if the lovely colonial dining room had been used instead of individual tables on the verandah, converstaions could have continued (a small moan).
Another suggestion to improve the ambiance, would be that management should get the local village DJ to turn his music down a tad! All in all though a great place and well worth a visit.

Room Tip: No choice given, but ours was fine - but you will need to use the mosy nets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danjude2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hatton
20.1 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
2,688 reviews
4.7 mi away
Governor's Mansion
Governor's Mansion
#1 of 2 in Dickoya
103 reviews
23.1 mi away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#3 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#6 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
1,633 reviews
15.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#5 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
2,125 reviews
15.2 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ceylon Tea Trails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ceylon Tea Trails

Address: Dunkeld Estate, Hatton 22000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Hatton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hatton
Price Range: £661 - £727 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ceylon Tea Trails 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ceylon Tea Trails, Sri Lanka's first Relais & Chateaux resort, is a collection of five colonial era tea planters' bungalows restored to impeccable style, offering a taste of gracious living in 27 suites and rooms, with butler service and original furnishings, accompanied by gourmet meals. Walking trails connect the bungalows which are from 2km to 15km apart. Follow the Tea Trail from one unique bungalow to the next, staying a night or two at each or just laze in one. Rates are fully inclusive of gourmet meals and drinks, including spirits and wines. Even service charges, taxes and laundry are included. We won't bother you with bills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, MrandMrsSmith and Southall Travel so you can book your Ceylon Tea Trails reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ceylon Tea Trails Hatton
Ceylon Tea Trails Sri Lanka/Hatton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing