We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tientsin bungalow”
Review of Ceylon Tea Trails

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ceylon Tea Trails
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hatton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We stayed 2 nights at this fantastic bungalow, originally built in 1868 which is really a 6 star hotel in disguise. With just 6 rooms, you really do feel like living as a colonial tea planter.The setting was magical, the service and food magnificent and the quality of the rooms beyond the very best hotels I have had the privilege of staying elsewhere in the world.
The walks in the tea plantation were a real experience, the locals were incredibly friendly, curious and a pleasure to chat to.
I cannot recommend this bungalow hotel enough, together with its unique location.
The Morris family

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank Howard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

693 - 699 of 1,265 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2013

This is an outstanding hotel which is impeccable in its management and service. Absolutely recommend this. Stayed at Castlereagh bungalow and it was outstanding.
The scenery is fabulous - when you get there. be brave with the roads getting there.
Tea Factory tour interesting and informative. You don't have to love tea to enjoy here but it could help!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AngeliaJolie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

My husband and I are nearing the end of 4 nights at Summerville bungalow. We have thoroughly enjoyed our time here. The food and service has been fantastic. 3 course meals for lunch, 4 course meals for dinner. The quality and presentation is like a top rated restaurant. There are walks from Summerville - we did a 45 minute walk on first day and a 3 hour walk another day. Views were wonderful and paths easy to walk on. Also took out bicycles. Another activity was being taken by boat to Castlereagh bungalow and we did a 2 hour walk from there and we're rowed back afterwards. Could not find fault with anything.

Room Tip: Liked Summerville bungalow for location next to lake. Also not as far to travel from Colombo as oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nomes_from_crowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

One can easily get lost in oblivion while staying at the Ceylon Tea Trails. What a perfect place, high up on the hills between the tea plantations. We stayed 2 nights at Tientsin and 2 at Castlereagh and could have easily stayed longer. Bungalows and rooms are lovely, beautiful details everywhere, gardens, views, excellent food and lovely helpful staff. It is almost a pity to leave the place for an excursion, but the tea factory visit was great, as was the climb up Adam's Peak.
Next time we will stay longer and do absolutely nothing!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Miriamdxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We stayed at the Summerville Bungalow, situated above the reservoir. It had attentive staff, 4 well equipped rooms and a distinct 'homey' feel. All the good stuff said of the 4 bungalows of Tea Trails is true. Bliss!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paddingalong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We spent three nights at Castlereagh Bungalow, which is one of the places you can stay with Tea Trails, high in the beautiful hills of Sri Lanka in the midst of verdant tea estates. Everything about this trip was wonderful. The bungalow, a beautifully restored and maintained managers house for the tea estate is exquisite. The rooms were spacious and comfortable with nothing forgotten or left to chance. The grounds, garden and view were mesmerizing in their beauty. The meals were perfectly delicious and the staff were eager to accommodate dietary demands. Drinks were generous. High tea or cream tea was really something. Delicious.

This is a place where you enjoy nature. There are hikes, walks, mountain biking, water water rafting, and tours of the tea estate and a tea factory. There are also massages and a yoga instructor seems to have recently joined. The tour of the tea factor is a must do - fascinating and polished. I was deeply impressed by everything I saw and learned. The guide, Andrew, has an encyclopedic knowledge of tea making, botany, and the area. We hiked to other bungalows owned by tea trails and had lunch on arrival - all coordinated by the our marvelous butler. Each bungalow is lovely and has its own character and views.

A very nice thing about the environment is size and attitude. In Castlereagh there were four rooms and four tables for meals on the charming veranda. One is not given a key (the room has a safe) which removed the sense of being in a hotel entirely and made us feel 'at home' or hosted by trusted friends. Other guests were extremely nice and the set up allows one to chat with others or just be alone exactly as much as one likes.

Finally, the very best thing was the staff. Every single person we encountered during our stay was gracious, dignified, service oriented and capable. They were perfect. Tea Trails is all inclusive and it really is all inclusive. There was never a whiff or a hint of any staff member suggesting we should tip or pay for anything - nor was there any parsimony.

All the people we encountered while hiking and visiting the tiny jewel of a colonial-built Anglican church were also nice, courteous, helpful, and dignified.

This place is perfect. It takes some work to get there - at the end of a VERY long and bumpy road, although you can be flown in apparently if you wish. But the remoteness is part of its charm.

Room Tip: They are all good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Br0wnster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

This is a perfect home stay with all luxuries and good food and choice of leisurely activities. We stayed at Castlereagh. The only negative is that the drive from Colombo was arduous but worth it. The white water rafting and tea factory visit was a new experience for us.

Room Tip: Choose fro option of lake view or private garden depending on your preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jainajaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hatton
20.1 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
2,687 reviews
4.7 mi away
Governor's Mansion
Governor's Mansion
#1 of 2 in Dickoya
103 reviews
23.1 mi away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#3 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#6 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
1,632 reviews
15.2 mi away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#2 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
353 reviews
15.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#5 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
2,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ceylon Tea Trails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ceylon Tea Trails

Address: Dunkeld Estate, Hatton 22000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Hatton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hatton
Price Range: £660 - £726 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ceylon Tea Trails 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ceylon Tea Trails, Sri Lanka's first Relais & Chateaux resort, is a collection of five colonial era tea planters' bungalows restored to impeccable style, offering a taste of gracious living in 27 suites and rooms, with butler service and original furnishings, accompanied by gourmet meals. Walking trails connect the bungalows which are from 2km to 15km apart. Follow the Tea Trail from one unique bungalow to the next, staying a night or two at each or just laze in one. Rates are fully inclusive of gourmet meals and drinks, including spirits and wines. Even service charges, taxes and laundry are included. We won't bother you with bills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), MrandMrsSmith, Evoline ltd and Southall Travel so you can book your Ceylon Tea Trails reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ceylon Tea Trails Hatton
Ceylon Tea Trails Sri Lanka/Hatton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing