We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The joy of glimpsing how the other half live!”
Review of Ceylon Tea Trails

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ceylon Tea Trails
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hatton
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“The joy of glimpsing how the other half live!”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

"Chef would like to discuss your requirements for dinner this evening," inquired our butler and I immediately thought, I could get used to this!..This is a truly magical destination. The view from the Castlereagh Bungalow overlooking the lake and the glorious fields of green, dotted with the occasional brightly coloured sari, was simply sublime. The excursion to the tea factory was great as our charming guide was so full of enthusiasm and good humour. Despite the elegant surrounds, luxurious rooms and outstanding food, this place is not at all stuffy. We had great fun playing croquet on the lawn and dipping our toes in the pool following the truly exceptional high tea. Oh I yearn to return.

Room Tip: Castlereagh Bungalow was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DreamingSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,113
    66
    16
    11
    2
See reviews for
218
812
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Tea Trails have covered a number of old Tea Plantation homes into beautiful retreats, with 4 to 6 guest rooms.

We stayed at nestled between the working tea plantation and lake, surrounded by beautiful gardens. The meals are amazing, and one night the chef even whipped us up a special meal when we requested something different. High tea is served in the afternoon, and pre dinner cocktails in the lounge. The rate includes all meals and drinks, and the wine choices are very good.

The small team of staff stay on site and take care of your every need. You can organise a boat ride, or wander through the tea plantations to have a meal at one of the other houses. The staff organised a packed breakfast for us to take one morning when we had an early start.

This is a tranquil, personal and very special place to stay when enjoying the Sri Lankan Hill Country. It is a little hard to get to, but assuming you have a driver who knows the way, it is well worth staying here for a few days.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are spacious and well decorated. If you want a real treat book one of the larger s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BaileyC_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kandy, Sri Lanka
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed in two of the Tea Trails locations, Norwood and Teintsin. Both were outstanding. Beautifully appointed rooms, an extraordinarily attentive staff, evening cocktails with other guests, well prepared meals, free laundry. Extraordinary by the best international standards.

One caveat, Teintsin is not as nicely situated. No views and located right across from a small village which was quite noisy. Blaring music at times and barking dogs.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank holdstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

We are midway through a 12 day trip in Sri Lanka. Just spent 3 glorious nights at Tea Trails. The resort has 4 "manor houses". We stayed at Castlereigh which I loved. Their website does an accurate job depicting the different places. We saw 3 of the 4. IMO I liked Castlereigh the best ( we were in the Tate room), Summerhill second and Norwood third. The houses are not particularly close together- but you can walk, boat or van amongst them. Summerhill and Castlereigh on the water. The other two are not. They allow you to have lunch or tea at a house other than the one you are staying at. There are lovely walks/hikes through the tea trails. Really a spectacular setting and worth the journey to get there. While it may seem expensive by Sri Lankan standards, it includes 3 meals a day plus tea, liquor, washing service. The only bill we had at the end of our stay was to purchase some tea. I would highly recommend.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank chichichicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We stayed at the Castlereagh for two nights. The road to reach the bungalow is very windy and rocky, so be prepared to drive around 40 minutes from Hatton. The Castlereagh is set beside the lake and has stunning views and a beautiful garden with flower beds and a croquet lawn. You are greeted by a butler and offered lunch, dinner or high tea depending on when you arrive. The food is excellent, and there is a lot of it! Meals are taken on the terrace with a great view, and there are heaters in the evening. Service is exceptional, you really are treated like royalty and nothing is too much trouble. We went for lunch at the Summerville one day which was lovely too, but the Castlereagh has a wonderfully open hallway and a bigger garden. We stayed in the Tate room which had a lovely view and a huge four poster bed. The bathroom is also big and has a roll top bath which ( with a bit of manoevering) doubles up as the shower. There is a complimentary laundry service which was greatly appreciated, and a wide selection of drinks and wines before and after dinner in the lounge. There is a slightly formal feel to the place, and there wasn't quite the social atmosphere we had experienced in other bungalow style small hotels, but the setting in the tea plantation and the first class service make it a fabulous place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We arrived after a long journey from Negombo. The roads up to CTT are quite stoney and there is a lot of rocking and rolling side to side but the destination is worth it. A peaceful place in beautiful surroundings. Fresh air and lots of smiling faces!

The staff could not do enough for us. I was there during my 50th birthday and the staff were ultra-attentive. But they are attentive and accommodating throughout.

The chef would tell you what was on the menu that day but if you had any dietary requirements he would accommodate them or cook you a completely different meal...the choice is yours!

The rooms were beautifully decorated in colonial style. You felt like you had stepped back in time.

Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: From what we could see all rooms were good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Wonderful... we stayed at three of the bungalows (Castlereigh, Norwood and Summerville), walking through the tea plantations, between the three each day. The walking was spectacular... beautiful views, encounters with the (such hard working) tea workers, bird life, clean air and peace. Arriving at the Bungalows being treated to lunch, afternoon tea and then fabulous dinners and generally being spoilt made us feel really special. Staff were lovely (and a special mention to the staff at Summerville ... although all were great).

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnRed2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hatton
20.1 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
2,548 reviews
4.7 mi away
Governor's Mansion
Governor's Mansion
#1 of 1 in Dickoya
98 reviews
23.1 mi away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#3 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
1,520 reviews
15.2 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
829 reviews
15.2 mi away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#2 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ceylon Tea Trails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ceylon Tea Trails

Property: Ceylon Tea Trails
Address: Dunkeld Estate, Hatton 22000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Hatton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hatton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ceylon Tea Trails 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ceylon Tea Trails, Sri Lanka's first Relais & Chateaux resort, is a collection of five colonial era tea planters' bungalows restored to impeccable style, offering a taste of gracious living in 26 suites and rooms, with butler service and original furnishings, accompanied by gourmet meals. Walking trails connect the bungalows which are from 2km to 15km apart. Follow the Tea Trail from one unique bungalow to the next, staying a night or two at each or just laze in one. Rates are fully inclusive of gourmet meals and drinks, including spirits and wines. Even service charges, taxes and laundry are included. We won't bother you with bills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, MrandMrsSmith and Southall Travel so you can book your Ceylon Tea Trails reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ceylon Tea Trails Hatton
Ceylon Tea Trails Sri Lanka/Hatton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing