We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ceylon Tea Trails

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ceylon Tea Trails
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hatton
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshire
1 review
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2009

We stayed 4 nights at the Castlereigh bungalow and loved the whole experience. Staff were brilliant - nothing was too much trouble. Food was very good, the chef tells you what he is planning for lunch and dinner but he is very flexible, if you don't like what's on offer he will cook something different. The afternoon tea was wonderful. It's a bit off the beaten track but I think that adds to the appeal. No noise, a stunningly beautiful location and a very relaxing experience.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DekkerHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,060
    62
    15
    11
    2
See reviews for
201
782
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2009

Our stay at theTientsin bungalow can only be described as perfect in every way, from the initial welcome on arrival, through to our departure two days later. The location is beautiful, the staff could not have been more attentive, the cuisine was outstanding and the accommodation extremely comfortable.. The "Full Board" tarriff even included free laundry and a most interesting tour of the Tea Factory.
Our meals were all served on the terrace, where, in the day time we were able to enjoy the most spectacular views.The accommodation is spacious, consisting of five bedrooms, dining room & a very beautiful lounge in addition to the kitchen & staff's rooms. The gardens are extensive, extremely picturesque & beautifully maintained.
All - in - all this was a perfect place in which to relax & "Recharge the Batteries" after a week's heavy schedule of touring .

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jamat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2009

We stayed there three nights, and wish we could have stayed longer. The four bungalows are situated in a lovely part of the Sri Lankan hills, within working tea estates. We walked to all four bungalows whilst we were there, through the estates, and indeed this was one of the few activities that are available in this remote area. We saw lots of tropical birds in the beautiful gardens of the bungalows.
The bungalows have recently been beautifully refurbished and furnished, by a designer who knew what he was doing. The bathrooms are particularly good. One of the outrstanding features was the quality of food and service - the best I have ever had in a hotel. The service was naturally good, considering the small number of rooms in each bungalow. The food was beautifully prepared by a Chef who deserves the highest praise. I also enjoyed the books in the libraries relating to Sri Lanka.
Management of the bungalows is exceptional, given the logistical difficulties in running an operation to this standard in a remote area.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank horatio1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, UK
Level Contributor
71 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2009

Tea Trails is a little off the beaten track, but is well worth the effort to get there. From the minute we arrived, until the minute we left (6 days later) we were made to feel like very special guests. We stayed at the Castlereagh bungalow, although had a chance to visit all of the others except Tientsin, which was under refurbishment. Each of the bungalows has some unique features which make them special. A big plus for Castlereagh though is the large veranda where all meals can be served. This means that you can eat outdoors in the shade when it's hot & sunny, and still outside when it is pouring with rain. You also have excellent views of the Castelreagh lake. When we return (which we will), we may request Summerville next time.
Service was superb throughout our stay, with either the butler himself or one of the staff always appearing magically at the right moment, without ever being intrusive.
The food was consistently very high quality. It tends to be geared towards a western taste, so if you are after something a bit more local, make sure you ask for it the day before, so the chef can be prepared. We had a full Sri Lankan breakfast a couple of times which was delicious. It was nice to meet the chef after each meal in order to discuss the menu options for the next one....
We stayed in the Tate luxury room, which was very comfortable. Unless you are part of a large group and think you will want someprivacy, I wouldn't bother with those rooms offering the private garden. We spent time out in the main garden areas (which are beautiful) and found it easy to either be private or mix with other guests as we chose.
We took a couple of the tours offered from the hotel. Both were enjoyable, but Adam's Peak is not for the faint hearted and if you do this trip be aware you will not be able to do much the next day as there are 6000+ steps to get tothe peak.
Finally, I would suggest that if you stay at Tea Trails, don't stay for only 1 night.You will leave wishing you had spent more time.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ss1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2009

I have recently returned from our honeymoon in Sri Lanka and we were lucky enough to stay in Castereagh bungalow for 5 nights. I really cannot put into words how amazing this place is - everything from the room, to the views, to the service, to the food, is absolutely first class!

We arrived at Tea Trails after 5 nights in the Cinammon Lodge where we had been a little disappointed, so we tried not to get our hopes up - but Tea Trails exceeded any expectation we had.

The food is phenomenal - so much of it! The chef came to see us each day to tell us what we would have for the next meal, and any change was no trouble at all. One evening we chose to try traditional Sri Lankan food and were treated to a feast of about 12 different dishes. The High Tea every day was my favourite, with gorgeous scones, cakes, sandwiches and of course tea!

The service we received was impeccable - Myhendram (sp?!) was our butler for the first few nights and then we had a change. Both butlers were friendly, helpful, always there when you needed them, but blended into the background when you didnt! At meal times the waiters seemed to appear from nowhere at exactly the right times!

We were fortunate to have 3 nights on our own, and the other two nights we had the company of like minded, similar age couples which was great - we were even the only two guests at a wedding when one of the couples got married while we were there!

All in all, I could go on for much longer, but the experience was perfect - absolutely perfect!

Thanks to all the staff who made our honeymoon so special - we will certainly be recommending tea trails to all our friends and family.

  • Liked — The food!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank wemaybesometime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Castlereagh Bungalow for 2 nights during our stay in Sri Lanka and it really was one of the highlights of our trip.

The bungalow was built in the twenties by English plantation owners and the house, garden and views from the house are stunning! Service is impeccable, the staff are friendly and attentive which all added to how relaxing the feel of the place is.

During our time here we were one of only three couples staying at the hotel and at cocktail hour we would sit in the lounge together and chat until dinner was served. The food is outstanding and with three meals a day, plus high tea in the afternoon you will never go hungry! The chef knew I was a vegetarian and would run his menu choices for the day past me to check that I was happy - how's that for service!!

Like others we went to the Norwood Tea Factory for the tour. Andrew the guide is extremely knowledgeable and the tour was really interesting, best of all it was complimentary!

The whole experience was wonderful - we didn't want to leave!

  • Liked — The food, views and peacefulness.
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank StewCamLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2009

We arrived here after a two night stay in the Earls Regency in Kandy (see my review about that hotel!)

All I can say about this hotel is that it is MAGNIFICENT. The views are amazing, you are so close to the tea bushes, every need is attended to by your private butler, the colonial atmosphere really makes you imagine what colonial tea planters would have experienced.

The chef will make anything you want, and all his dishes are simply superb.

Hi-tea was a particular highlight for me, as was the tea factory tour.

  • Liked — Attention to detail. Service
  • Disliked — Long windy road to get to it - not for the travel sick, expensive.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank BirdieS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hatton
20.1 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,400 reviews
4.7 mi away
Governor's Mansion
Governor's Mansion
#1 of 1 in Dickoya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
15.6 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#4 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#3 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
5.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
15.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,888 reviews
3.0 mi away
Tea Hill's Bungalow
Tea Hill's Bungalow
#1 of 12 in Hatton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ceylon Tea Trails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ceylon Tea Trails

Property: Ceylon Tea Trails
Address: Dunkeld Estate, Hatton 22000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Hatton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hatton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ceylon Tea Trails 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ceylon Tea Trails, Sri Lanka's first Relais & Chateaux resort, is a collection of five colonial era tea planters' bungalows restored to impeccable style, offering a taste of gracious living in 26 suites and rooms, with butler service and original furnishings, accompanied by gourmet meals. Walking trails connect the bungalows which are from 2km to 15km apart. Follow the Tea Trail from one unique bungalow to the next, staying a night or two at each or just laze in one. Rates are fully inclusive of gourmet meals and drinks, including spirits and wines. Even service charges, taxes and laundry are included. We won't bother you with bills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Travelbag and Holiday Gems so you can book your Ceylon Tea Trails reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ceylon Tea Trails Hatton
Ceylon Tea Trails Sri Lanka/Hatton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing