We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“undoubted best”
Review of Ceylon Tea Trails

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ceylon Tea Trails
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hatton
Certificate of Excellence
a scotsman in London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“undoubted best”
Reviewed 14 April 2009

I travel a lot for work so I'm not un-used to great service, or nice places, good food and a bit of a nice view coupled with a bit of luxury if someone else if paying so I come at this from an objective and slightly "ok so impress me point of view" especially when it's my own money ; )

Castlereagh bungalow was undoubtedly the best place I been for a long time. They've kitted out the bungalows all discreetly while maintaining the old period parts. The staff are brilliant and make everything really easy for you - which helps if you don't speak sinhalese right? The food is great and don't be shy to ask for local food if that's your taste - the menu tends to be western and very well done.

Don't miss the tea factory tour and do get out and walk around the estates - worth it alone to be in the hills.

One point to note - it is miles away, really miles away and roads are not great as with the rest of sri lanka so whereever you are travelling from then make sure you get good driver who knows the routes and can tell you the accurate timing for your trip.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davy-h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,113
    66
    16
    11
    2
See reviews for
218
812
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2009

We stayed at Tea Trails - Castlereagh and Norwood bungalows for 5 days and were amazed with the location, service and attention to detail.

Our favourite was the Castlereagh bungalow, which was our first stop; we were greeted with a cold drink and welcomed before showing us to our beautiful room over looking the garden. The bathroom was gorgeous with a freestanding ball and claw bath/shower... a very special relaxing room.

We then were met by our own chef who read out the evening menu (which if were not to your liking you could change!) The food was amazing... from bed tea to high tea to dinner... We only had high tea once, as it was too greedy! (However you must try it at least once!)

This bungalow is located amongst the tea plantations and a stroll early evening is wonderful and you meet lots of friendly faces too!

There are great views over the lake below and they have a small swimming pool.

We had already been in Sri Lanka for nearly a week staying in Kandalama (which is also lovely) and washed and pressed all our washing free of charge.

Everything was catered for; we even took a bottle of wine to our room one evening!

We then left Castlereagh to go to Norwood a larger bungalow higher up, this was also lovely with a large pool. The service was good and food. We did complain as after having a lovely room in Castlereagh is room was not as big or pretty however for the last two nights we got upgraded to a garden room.

Both bungalows were great. The staff made our honeymoon fab - They created special private dinners, we had flowers over the bed and were made very welcome.

I would recommend this place to anyone going to Sri Lanka and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExplorerVJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2009

This was our first port of call on our honeymoon in Sri Lanka and we were absolutely bowled over. This place is absolutely fantastic. We stayed in Norwood, which if you love beautiful views and the smell of tea leaves infusing the air, I reccomend. The stunning scenery and atmosphere of the area is augmented by the superb service, cooking and lovely feel of the hotel.

If you can afford it, and can spare the time to travel here, you have to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripadvisingTripod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2009

We stayed at tea trails in February for 4 nights, 1 at Tiensten and 3 at Norwood. Tiensten is so beautiful and very grand colonial. My husband loved it the most. Once it gets its Pool, which should be ready by the end of the year, it will be hard to beat! Norwood is lovely too and the plus of staying at Norwood is the huge pool, which is really something. We stayed in a garden suite at Tiensten and a normal room at Norwood. There really isn't much difference between the normal rooms and the suites, except the suites are bigger..BUT if you have the money and want a bigger room go for it! Actually the suites also open out onto there own private veranda or outdoor area which is nice! All rooms at Norwood open out to there own outdoor space though!
We did the walk from Tiensten to Norwood and it took 3 and a half hours..but I'm 5 months pregnant and we made lots of stops along the way. It is an absolutely fantastic walk. The locals come out to greet you and you pass all the tea pickers in the fields. My husband took more than 300 photos! We also visited a school on our walk which was such a great experience. The people are just beautiful and we found this walk one of the highlights of our whole trip to Sri Lanka!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nzlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
1 review
Reviewed 13 March 2009

We stayed 4 nights at the Castlereigh bungalow and loved the whole experience. Staff were brilliant - nothing was too much trouble. Food was very good, the chef tells you what he is planning for lunch and dinner but he is very flexible, if you don't like what's on offer he will cook something different. The afternoon tea was wonderful. It's a bit off the beaten track but I think that adds to the appeal. No noise, a stunningly beautiful location and a very relaxing experience.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DekkerHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2009

Our stay at theTientsin bungalow can only be described as perfect in every way, from the initial welcome on arrival, through to our departure two days later. The location is beautiful, the staff could not have been more attentive, the cuisine was outstanding and the accommodation extremely comfortable.. The "Full Board" tarriff even included free laundry and a most interesting tour of the Tea Factory.
Our meals were all served on the terrace, where, in the day time we were able to enjoy the most spectacular views.The accommodation is spacious, consisting of five bedrooms, dining room & a very beautiful lounge in addition to the kitchen & staff's rooms. The gardens are extensive, extremely picturesque & beautifully maintained.
All - in - all this was a perfect place in which to relax & "Recharge the Batteries" after a week's heavy schedule of touring .

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2009

We stayed there three nights, and wish we could have stayed longer. The four bungalows are situated in a lovely part of the Sri Lankan hills, within working tea estates. We walked to all four bungalows whilst we were there, through the estates, and indeed this was one of the few activities that are available in this remote area. We saw lots of tropical birds in the beautiful gardens of the bungalows.
The bungalows have recently been beautifully refurbished and furnished, by a designer who knew what he was doing. The bathrooms are particularly good. One of the outrstanding features was the quality of food and service - the best I have ever had in a hotel. The service was naturally good, considering the small number of rooms in each bungalow. The food was beautifully prepared by a Chef who deserves the highest praise. I also enjoyed the books in the libraries relating to Sri Lanka.
Management of the bungalows is exceptional, given the logistical difficulties in running an operation to this standard in a remote area.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank horatio1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hatton
20.1 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
2,548 reviews
4.7 mi away
Governor's Mansion
Governor's Mansion
#1 of 1 in Dickoya
98 reviews
23.1 mi away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#3 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
1,520 reviews
15.2 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
828 reviews
15.2 mi away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#2 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ceylon Tea Trails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ceylon Tea Trails

Property: Ceylon Tea Trails
Address: Dunkeld Estate, Hatton 22000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Hatton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hatton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ceylon Tea Trails 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ceylon Tea Trails, Sri Lanka's first Relais & Chateaux resort, is a collection of five colonial era tea planters' bungalows restored to impeccable style, offering a taste of gracious living in 26 suites and rooms, with butler service and original furnishings, accompanied by gourmet meals. Walking trails connect the bungalows which are from 2km to 15km apart. Follow the Tea Trail from one unique bungalow to the next, staying a night or two at each or just laze in one. Rates are fully inclusive of gourmet meals and drinks, including spirits and wines. Even service charges, taxes and laundry are included. We won't bother you with bills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, MrandMrsSmith and Southall Travel so you can book your Ceylon Tea Trails reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ceylon Tea Trails Hatton
Ceylon Tea Trails Sri Lanka/Hatton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing