We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolute perfection - everyone who comes to Sri Lanka should stay here!”
Review of Ceylon Tea Trails

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ceylon Tea Trails
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hatton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2010

We stayed two nights in Norwood Bungalow as part of our honeymoon touring Sri Lanka and it was by far the most amazing and memorable place we stayed. We were lucky enough to have the entire bungalow to ourselves which was fabulous, but even if you were sharing there is planty of space to maintain privacy. When you arrive the staff tell you to treat it as 'your home' and they really made us feel so special and you want for absolutely nothing whilst you're there. The food is fabulous - easily on a par with some of the best restaurants we've eaten at in the UK. We ate western food the whole time we were there as a break from rice and curry but they will basically cook whatever you like. The chef comes out to greet you each day and relays his proposed menu for lunch and dinner and when he was plannign to do prawns, which my hubbie loves but i don't like he quite happily just whipped up a fantastic dish of King Fish for me instead.

The room was lovely - four poster bed with roll top bath - and impeccably clean. We especially loved that your 'wake up call' is the butler bringing you 'bed tea' and a bespoke newspaper!

The gardens are really beautiful and the view is stunning. We didn't get chance to visit any of the other bungalows but i can highly recommend Norwood, especially as it has a lovely pool and is nearby the tea factory - the tour of which is so interesting and we thoroughly enjoyed.

The walks around the villages and tea plantations are lovely but consider wearing long trousers and closed-in shoes as there are leeches in the wet areas!

The only regret we have is not staying longer! We cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank honeymooner1704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,060 - 1,066 of 1,265 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2010

We stayed at the Norwood bungalow, one of 4 belonging to the group. Although it could accommodate 5 couples we had the bungalow to ourselves. It is set in beautiful countryside amongst the tea plantation. The views were spectacular, the setting peaceful and the bungalow was beautifully decorated in a retro tea planter style. We had our own cook who we discussd our menu with and he produced the most amazing food. All drinks, four meals a day ( including tea with cucumber sandwiches, cake and scones) and laundry were all included in the cost of the room. We had our own butler who brought us early mornig tea in bed and offered to run a bath for me! The atmosphere was amazing and we reckoned this was the best place we had ever stayed in as did all that wrote in the visitors book. An exquisite place to stay, I cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susanmaryeustace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2010

Lots and lots of glorious food, if you enjoy food and drink then this will be a good place to visit. The setting feels very different to other places in Sri Lanka. We stayed in castlereigh for 3 nights. I think 2 nights may have been enough or perhaps we should have changed bungalows for a bit of variety. The bungalow grounds are quite small as is the pool so although the setting is nice it can get a bit monotonous. The room we had was large and really clean and cosy for relaxing. I think a garden suite would have been nice as you can use your private garden for breakfast or just relaxing. Otherwise outside space is via the veranda and not at all private so sitting in the garden without having to get ready would have been an advantage. We went on the bike ride which was quite intense it was a shame that you could not feasibly ride or walk to other bungalows as I had understood (this would have been quite a task long distances over hilly rocky ground) you could though ride through the village and see the children.
All the food we had was nice but my favourite was the pear and blue cheese salad, cashew nut chicken and bannanna fritters. Afternoon tea was nice but the cakes did not vary and sanwiches were toasted. clotted cream would have been even nicer with the warm scones.
The pool is quite small for swimming and not heated so you have to build up to getting in. The pool at Norwood was a lot larger so if you like to swim you may prefer that bungalow. There was no TV but games were available it was a shame that there were a few cards missing from the card pack which the staff knew about but they had not been replaced. The staff were really good and attentive. We enjoyed the pre dinner drinks and nibbles. Tea and coffee was available on request and it was nice not having to worry about the final bill if you felt like a late night port or another pot of tea. This was my husbands favourite stop and one of my highlights.
The tea tour is very interesting but very intense so be prepared for a long talk and take some water as the factory was hot.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caranc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2010

We stayed at Castlereagh for two nights as part of a longer holiday. The two luxury rooms were perfect with views of the lake, and no smaller than the garden suites. The brilliant reviews of the place are well justified and it is hard to find fault, although if I was being very picky service at mealtimes was sometimes slightly slow. The food was excellent and they tried hard to cater individually for my vegetarian daughter.
it is well worth going on the tea factory tour. Andrew is as knowledgeable as he is charming and he converted us all to the correct way of drinking tea. This place is understandably expensive, but certainly worth splashing out on.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clare63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2010

•The product offering at the bungalow was exceptional. The decor, furniture, room layout, view, amenities etc has been very well thought out.
•The staff were very attentive, knowledgeable, extremely service oriented and made every effort to delight us.
•The food offering was sumptuous, beautifully presented, individually tailored and would be the envy of every premier hotel.
Well done...Tea Trails....

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2010

we stayed in the Tientsien Bungalow. an old converted english cottage. absolutely fantastic, we had a garden suite. huge room, great views, fantastic bed, perfect bathroom and the service....wow. everyone should treat themselves like this at least once in their lives. personalized butler, wait staff and cook. couldn't be more impressed. perfect stay, i'd say more, but honestly a little speechless. worth way more than 5 stars.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fathead77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2010

We spent two nights of our honeymoon at Norwood bungalow and it was a truly memorable experience. The food was fantastic (the chef checks with you before each meal that you are happy with the planned menu - you can ask for something else if not), the scenery is stunning and the environment is very peaceful. We had a fantastic room with doors opening out onto a garden which is tucked away so feels quite private. There are quite a few activities on offer but we whiled away the time swimming, playing croquet and generally relaxing. The staff cannot do enough for you and are extremely pleasant. We wish we had stayed for an extra night and will definitely plan a trip back there.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 123,487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hatton
20.1 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
2,687 reviews
4.7 mi away
Governor's Mansion
Governor's Mansion
#1 of 2 in Dickoya
103 reviews
23.1 mi away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#3 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#6 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
1,632 reviews
15.2 mi away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#2 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
352 reviews
15.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#5 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
2,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ceylon Tea Trails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ceylon Tea Trails

Address: Dunkeld Estate, Hatton 22000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Hatton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hatton
Price Range: £660 - £728 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ceylon Tea Trails 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ceylon Tea Trails, Sri Lanka's first Relais & Chateaux resort, is a collection of five colonial era tea planters' bungalows restored to impeccable style, offering a taste of gracious living in 27 suites and rooms, with butler service and original furnishings, accompanied by gourmet meals. Walking trails connect the bungalows which are from 2km to 15km apart. Follow the Tea Trail from one unique bungalow to the next, staying a night or two at each or just laze in one. Rates are fully inclusive of gourmet meals and drinks, including spirits and wines. Even service charges, taxes and laundry are included. We won't bother you with bills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, MrandMrsSmith and Southall Travel so you can book your Ceylon Tea Trails reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ceylon Tea Trails Hatton
Ceylon Tea Trails Sri Lanka/Hatton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing