We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely outstanding”
Review of Ceylon Tea Trails

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ceylon Tea Trails
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hatton
Certificate of Excellence
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Absolutely outstanding”
Reviewed 21 November 2010

Superb. This has to take the biscuit for the best service anywhere. We loved the location high in the tea estates. The cooler and less humid weather was welcome and the tea experience was great. Can’t think of a single thing about this place that was less than first class.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuffolkBert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,087
    63
    15
    11
    2
See reviews for
207
797
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2010

We stayed 2 nights at Castlereagh Bungalow and it was absolutely out of this world. The setting was wonderful, the accommodation fantastic, the staff unbelievably attentive and the food was as good as any top class restaurant.
Would love to have stayed longer but it doesn't come cheap. Having said that, the price included all food (4 meals), all drinks (including alcohol) and laundry.
Can't wait to return next year.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindainQatar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 November 2010

We stayed 3 nights in the tea trails and it wasn't enough time! The setting is stunning, the staff were great, the food was incredible and the rooms were wonderful. It is the most fantastic place and we strongly recommend a visit if you're in Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesBidwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
45 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2010

We stayed at the Norwood bungalow for 3 nights in November. The location is stunning -right at the top of miles and miles of emerald green tea estates with lovely views of the Castlereigh reservoirs on the way up to the bungalow.

Living here is a complete rewind to the colonial days- the gracious and elegantly furnished parlour rooms, the fireplaces, Victorian furniture and of course, the impeccable service. it is really charming to leave behind the pace of modern life and settle down to plantation splendour.
The chef makes the most divine breakfasts- with freshly baked Danish pastries and croissants, homemade black currant jam and marmalade. We just over rate because everything was so good and saw everyone else do the same! Lunch/ dinner can be either continental or Sri Lankan-both were equally delicious. We especially enjoyed the spicy Sri Lankan fish and jackfruit curries. They also serve some marvelous Chilean wines.

What we really enjoyed was that the whole experience was like staying at an English country house- people from all over the world stayed here and met over cocktails in the sitting room and chatted and swapped stories about travel and life. It was a great setting.
Our stay was marred by some horrible rain -I would advise checking the weather before going to the Tea country.we were hit by torrential rainfall on the day we scaled Adam's peak and it was just thanks to the resourcefulness of the guide provided by Tea Trails that we got back fine. But the staff were extremely kind and made sure we were absolutely pampered on our return- they got us hot water bags, drinks to our room and were extremely concerned about us. Their warmth and service absolutely made up for our horrific experience at Adam's Peak. The staff are all extremely wonderful- they go well beyond their brief to make you comfortable and set new standards in service. Special mention of Melroy, who was just the perfect host.

Apart from the weather, would just caution that this is a long hike from the international airport ( easily a 6 hour drive ) although the drive itself is extremely scenic. Getting anywhere to the coast from here too is about 4-6 hours drive. The price tag is quite hefty, but we did it as a once in a lifetime experience.

Rather than go around to Kandy/ Adam's Peak (both are long hikes from here and not for the faint hearted) as we did, I would suggest taking it slow. Just do the round from one bungalow to another with Tea Trails and savour the experience.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gp2008Mumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmesbury, England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2010

We stayed in the Norwood bungalow for three nights and wished we could have stayed longer. I didn't realize the four bungalows which make up the tea trails were so far apart, so the bungalow is effectively your hotel and feels like home from home. The staff are extremely accommodating, with nothing being too much trouble. The food was fantastic and the chef seemed genuinely interested in creating dishes to suit individual tastes. Andrew Taylor's tour of the tea plantation was absolutely brilliant - very interesting and entertaining. I understand that Norwood is due to close for a re-vamp shortly though there was little to suggest it needs it, and highlights the standards they are trying to keep. The only blemish on the whole stay was the fact that our tour driver, whom we had been with all week, was not made to feel welcome. I understand that there were probably cultural issues, but we felt quite uncomfortable that he was made to feel inferior. Apparently the small bath towels are being replaced during the re-vamp. Otherwise, a fantastic, relaxing stay and the opportunity to get the laundry cleaned a great bonus. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GDevine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bombay
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2010

Fantastic! Everything about it was wonderful. Tea Trails comprises 4 planter's bungalows spread over acres of pristine beautiful landscape - Tea Estates, rolling hills, a perfect lake, tiny churches en route - a slice of a byegone era.

The bungalows are beautifully restored with exquisite gardens- you can rent by the room, or book the whole bungalow, depending on how many you are. The package is fairly expensive, but all inclusive -this includes not only fantastic meals (breakfast, lunch, tea, dinner) , but also unlimited cocktails and drinks throughout the day. It also includes laundry which is a bonus! The staff is polite, friendly and very attentive. The chef will consult you every day while planning the menu.

You also have the opportunity to visit the local tea factory for a very interesting tour. The only downside is the 4 hour winding journey from Colombo - but well worth it once you get there!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KBM00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2010

Hi
We stayed at Tea Trails in July with our young daughter - only 10 months old at the time.
The staff in Castlereagh were excellent at looking after us all - especially Susanth and Mahendra. I hope that I have the right spelling.
The chef cooked special meals for our daughter at no extra cost and they were beautifully presented.
Tea Trails is not cheap but the best thing is that once you get there you do not have to think about anything.
We would love to return.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KL5500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hatton
20.1 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#2 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,481 reviews
4.7 mi away
Governor's Mansion
Governor's Mansion
#1 of 1 in Dickoya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
15.6 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#1 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
5.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
15.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,955 reviews
15.2 mi away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#3 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ceylon Tea Trails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ceylon Tea Trails

Property: Ceylon Tea Trails
Address: Dunkeld Estate, Hatton 22000, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Hatton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hatton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ceylon Tea Trails 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ceylon Tea Trails, Sri Lanka's first Relais & Chateaux resort, is a collection of five colonial era tea planters' bungalows restored to impeccable style, offering a taste of gracious living in 26 suites and rooms, with butler service and original furnishings, accompanied by gourmet meals. Walking trails connect the bungalows which are from 2km to 15km apart. Follow the Tea Trail from one unique bungalow to the next, staying a night or two at each or just laze in one. Rates are fully inclusive of gourmet meals and drinks, including spirits and wines. Even service charges, taxes and laundry are included. We won't bother you with bills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, MrandMrsSmith, Holiday Gems and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ceylon Tea Trails reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ceylon Tea Trails Hatton
Ceylon Tea Trails Sri Lanka/Hatton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing