We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rayang Island Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$75
US$69
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (13)
Filter reviews
13 results
Traveller rating
1
3
4
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1
3
4
3
2
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 13 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We started this trip with a 4-5hour car drive from Bangkok. Then we took the speedboat from the mainland to the Island Koh Mak. The trip took around 50min and was a beautiful trip, seeing all the island around Koh Chang. When we arrived in Koh Mak we took a smaller boat to The Rayang Island Resort.

Rayang was a beautiful small island with not so many bungalows. Perfect place is you want to relax and chill. The only bad thing I can say about Rayang was that it had no LEO on the island.
9/10!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andreas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Koh Rayong is a small Island just west of Koh Mak. Most of the Island is inaccessible and just covered by jungle but the beach is really nice. The only reason to go here is if you like a quiet place to relax. The resort has only a few bungalows all of which are rather simple but very charming. On our arrival the beds were nicely decorated with a lot of flowers. I would recommend the sea side bungalows since the hillside can be a struggle to find at night. The restaurant is below average but still ok. Bring a good book and sun block since there is nothing more to do than relax of the very nice beach, take the kayak out for a short paddle or enjoy snorkeling. The best snorkeling is found along the strip from the restaurant down to the beach. Go down to the beach after dinner and you will see an army of crabs walking around in the moonlight. Maybe a bit too expencive, but I guess you have to pay for some privacy too. If you don’t like to stay on the Island you can just take the boat over for one day at the beach.

Room Tip: Go for the sea side bungalows since the hillside can be a struggle to find at night.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leufis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2010

Don't go there. The bungalow are very simple, the bed are very hard and sanitary is terrible. The generator makes a lot of noise and you can't get of the island when you want. You just have to wait untill the small boat sails en when there are to many people you have to wait for the next boat. We didn't stay and went for a better place on Koh Mak.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kohmak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2010

Basic 'Robinson' feel! Beach is lovely with beach chairs.
Boat to Koh Mak is Bh100.
Good snorkelling.
Don the manager is very friendly and tries his hardest but struggles with the rest of the staff.
Food orders always wrong but you learn to just accept what you get - they are trying!
Noisy generator but this is closer to the restaurant rather than the rooms.
Cheap bungalows that need some TLC but if you're looking for basic then this is it.
Only cold water and pressure aint so good at the bungalows higher on the hill. They even ran out of water on our first day but we had water in the morning and could use the showers near the beach.
I don't think its worth Bh2000 per night but was a good experience being the only resort on the island!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveldeluxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2009

My partner & I stayed at the Rayang Island Resort at the end ot April 2009 - we had transferred (in a tiny & slightly leaking boat!) from the sister resort on Koh Mak (Good Time). We were due to stay 2-3 days, but in the end we only stayed one full day & one night. There was one other couple there who arrived the same day as us, and they also cut short their intended stay and left after only one night.

There is no disputing that the setting of the island is beautiful - the views out to sea, and of the other surrounding islands & fishing boats are really lovely. However, having visited the resort , I do feel that the images on their website are slightly misleading. The area around the beach and leading up to the restaurant/main building is really quite rundown - broken sunloungers, no parasols, broken tables & chairs lying around - it just looks a little bit neglected. The beach itself is basically covered in dead coral, so it's not easy to walk on, but the water is clear and we did enjoy swimming there - we tried some snorkelling (the resort has equipment for hire) but noticed some strong currents so advise taking care. We also noticed alot of sea urchins, so you need to be careful!

The food in the resturant is fine, and the staff were very helpful.

The main problem is that the accommodation is basic backpacker level, but not at basic backpacker prices (around 300 baht per night) - we paid 1600 baht per night. We had a beachfront hut, which consisted of bedroom (with mosquito net over the bed) & bathroom. There is no air-con and no electricity during the day. The room did have a fan, but it was a small desk fan, not a ceiling fan. There was nothing to stand the fan on near enough to the plug point, so we balanced it on one of our bags as close the bed as possible, but it was simply not big or efficient enough for us to feel it at all. It's possible to cope with these temperatures without aircon, but only with a good ceiling fan. We barely slept and we were extremely sweaty and uncomfortable! The pillows were really horrible & lumpy.

I feel that we made the best of our time on Rayang - we spent the day swimming, reading and lying on the beach, and most of the evening up at the resturant area. However, we didn't feel that comfortable there - the resort itself just doesn't have a great vibe (I appreciate that's a little vague!). In hindsight I would just do a day trip there - yI believe you can pay 70 baht to spend the day on the island. And if you want to go somewhere small, quiet & basic, try Koh Wai instead.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank missjensa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews