We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, nice rooms, good location, excellent views.”
Review of Residence House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Residence House
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Trat
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Located in a nice quiet street near the market, this family run business is ideal for a comfortable stay without any worries. It feels more like a home than a guest house, but once you are in your room it feels like a guest house. It's reasonably priced, the views from the top floor are great, with all the surrounding greenery and the sunset. Wifi is provided in your room. Laundry is available next door and coffee is everywhere. Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: Top floor with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank canerandagio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Perfectly clean place, friendly atmosphere, great breakfast, nothing at all to criticise. Situated in central but calm part of Trat city centre. Run by very nice and helpful thai-german couple so german will be spoken when needed. We got very good recommendations for dining and travelling. This place is highly recommended!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Coco R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here twice, one night on our way to Koh Chang and one night on the way back. The owners were exceptionally friendly and very helpful. They offer great recommendations and don't get offended if you don't take their advice. I think we paid about 550 THB for a room with air-con. The room was spotless. Also very cosy and home like. They do shut the doors at 11pm but this didn't bother us and they tell you that upon checking in. So if you are looking to stay out late (didn't seem like there was a big night scene anyways) maybe consider looking else where. Also, check out Cool Corner cafe that's just down the street. Awesome food and service.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Kellie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

The guesthouse is located in a very nice area of Trat, in a small quiet street with old wooden houses. My room with a fan was just great and I only paid 300 Baht. The room was very spacious, very clean with a very big bed. 2 walls had large windows with offered good views of Trat.
Breakfast (not included in the price) was not that great, but there are places nearby where you can have a good breakfast. The German owner is indeed a bit grumpy, but I mostly talked with his Thai wife, who is very friendly.
The transport to Sihanoukville in Cambodia I booked here was well organized. I left at 5:00 am in the morning in Trat and arrived at lunchtime in Sihanoukville.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Globetrotter045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

If you check into this grotty guest house be prepared to be locked in from 11.00pm until 7.00am. You will not be able to go out during those times, not even for a cigarette. The German and Thai owners are rude, nasty and there are more rules - 'Don't touch this', 'Don't do this', than a school. There are better, nicer and cheaper options in Trat.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Stratford B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

I stayed in residang guesthouse for six times (in three years) now (just checked out this morning) and I want to tell other people that it is a very nice place to stay. The place is very quiet, so you sleep well at night en the rooms are clean, and have good beds, a tv, aircon if you like (the have also rooms without). The owners Herbert and his wife Can are very friendly and helpfull. They booked a nice place on ko kood island for us and also the boattickets. It's also a good place for acclimate before travel on.

Room Tip: the aircon room is perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Adriana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012 via mobile

Have stayed twice at this guesthouse and each time have had a peaceful and comfortable stay. Rooms are cleaned every day if you want, the owners are friendly and helpful and ready with local information. Definitely want to recommend this place.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AsiaDaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trat
0.6 mi away
Trat Center
Trat Center
#6 of 17 in Trat
84 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ban Jaidee Guesthouse
1.2 mi away
Trat City Hotel
Trat City Hotel
#3 of 17 in Trat
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pailin Resort
Pailin Resort
#7 of 17 in Trat
6 reviews
39.7 mi away
No photo provided
Chanthanee Hotel
#19 of 23 in Chanthaburi
5 reviews
6.3 mi away
Banpu Resort Trat
Banpu Resort Trat
#14 of 17 in Trat
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence House

Address: 87/1-2 Soi Thanacharoen Rd | Bang Phra Subdistrict, Trat 23000, Thailand (Formerly Residang Guest House)
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Trat
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Trat
Price Range: £8 - £15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residangguesthouse changed the name into Residence House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Residence House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residang Hotel Trat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing