We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrible acommandation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Koh Chang Grand View Resort
Ranked #4 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Trat
frederiksberg
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“terrible acommandation”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Worst vacation surroundings ever, the promised room/bungalow was dirty, ants on the frigde,tables, frontporch, is was treated, but the problem came back Again and Again. The Beach? was a dump, you were not able to go in the Water from the hotel, it took a 5 minutes walk. The pool was dirty, liquids and pool tools was"nt removed in 2 weeks. Poor cleaning, the restaurant was closed every evening at 8 o"clock??? Our toilet was out of order in 4 days. Wi.fi only worked in the reception area, 4 lousy sunbeds at the pool area.

We have emailed the hotel several times with our questions, but no answer.

Conclusion: STAY AWAY.

Regards
John Havmann Eriksen.
Denmark

Room Tip: Choose an other hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john havmann e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    26
    14
    5
    16
See reviews for
12
32
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

This hotel has its own little separate bungalows. The staff were helpful and spoke English. The hotel has some fantastic sunsets. The pool is located right next to the sea. Food here is very average, but its just a short walk along the road and you will come across many restaurants. 2500 baht a night I was paying to stay here

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheoSox10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidney, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2013

i went to grand view resort in white sand and the over all experience was good. i was upgraded in a sea view bungalow brand new with a spetacular sea view. very quiet and central location. i just love it. staff were basic but kind and helpful. very nice stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marko319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

This resort is right on the beach, with easy access from the resort. There is ample parking. Breakfast is average but no complaints. The rooms are very nice but perhaps in need of a little updating but the air conditioning unit was very noisy, meaning that sleep quality was poor.
The resort is very close to shops and restaurants, in the Main Street and there are plenty of excellent places to eat by simply walking along the beach, which is especially nice in the evening.
Planning to return.

Room Tip: The bungalows in front of the pool give a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 664Luap664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

We have been to Koh Chang several times now but this was the 1st and last stay at the Grand View Resort. There is certainly nothing grand about it. The staff were rude and unfriendly, the hotel was shabby and unclean. There were only 11 sunbeds around the pool and not all of them had a mattress, however they were all broken and did have nails sticking out of them!!
We were there over christmas and the hotel was full so it came as a bit of a suprise to the guests at breakfast when we all had to share a toaster that would only do 2 toast at a time.
We did have aircon as advertised, however this dripped onto the bed which meant you were sleeping in a pool of water. When we complained about this we were told that this was not a 5 star hotel and what did we expect!!!
This could be transformed into a lovely hotel if they spent some money and got new staff with a better attitude. The hotel is in a fantastic location with superb views, its such a shame that it has been left to go to ruin. Won't be staying again, very over priced. Back to the Chang Buri or Koh Katcha for us!!!

Room Tip: Not all seaview rooms have a view of the sea so be careful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cheryl v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Trat hotels

Kent
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012

This is one of the more expensive hotels on White Sands Beach but it was still good value. The Pool Villa rooms are spacious and the bed was very comfortable.The room decor is a bit dated and could do with refurbishing but everything is functional and works well. Breakfast was a varied choice and eggs were cooked fresh to your choice every morning. The weather in the second week of November was mostly sunshine with a brief (welcome) shower most afternoons. The hotel does not have a beach but this is really not a problem as it does have it's own seafront garden and there's always plenty of places along the beach to get a sunbed, relax and grab cheap food and drink. The hotel swimming pools were very clean and quiet. The bar serves excellent cocktails but I didn't try the restaurant food. The resort is small and relaxed - Oodies is good for live blues music and there's 2 small clubs open until 4am. Plenty of places for very cheap good meals along the main road and seafront. The 2 hour elephant ride/bathing was exceptional and shouldn't be missed. The local SCUBA diving was OK - lots of coral and a few interesting fish but visibility was low.The bungalow rooms looked slightly more modern and although the hotel is a bit rough around the edges but I would recommend it and stay here again.

Room Tip: Room Y1 ground floor sea view was bigger than the others but it the pool was not outside the door. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schmokin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Overall, the resort still pleases. The staff continue to improve, within Thai standards. As the bungalows are now over 5 years old, some of the fixtures and fittings are in poor condition. Taps, toilet seats, air-cons units all starting to show distress. Still a better bet than any hotel room though, and the place is right on the beach. You will need to walk for 5 mins before you get to the sand though.
Mabe one day I will stay in a Thai resort where there is no building being done; but I doubt it!!

Room Tip: Best bet are the 2 so called "garden view" (newer) bungalows at the far end of the resort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ROBERT R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trat
0.7 mi away
KC Grande Resort & Spa
KC Grande Resort & Spa
#11 of 73 in Ko Chang
982 reviews
0.5 mi away
Koh Chang Lagoon Resort
Koh Chang Lagoon Resort
#48 of 73 in Ko Chang
126 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kacha Resort & Spa, Koh Chang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Chang Buri Resort and Spa
Chang Buri Resort and Spa
#31 of 73 in Ko Chang
225 reviews
0.2 mi away
Banpu Koh Chang Resort
Banpu Koh Chang Resort
#27 of 107 in Ko Chang
174 reviews
5.9 mi away
Sea View Resort & Spa Koh Chang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Chang Grand View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Chang Grand View Resort

Property: Koh Chang Grand View Resort
Address: 9/3 Moo 4 | White Sand Beach, Koh Chang, Trat 23170, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Trat
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Trat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Koh Chang Grand View Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our idyllic resort is perfectly located in the centre of Koh Chang's famous White Sand Beach .Ideal for those who love sea, sand and glorious sunsets, Koh Chang Grand View Resort offers seaside relaxation and swimming in the calm tropical. Sunbathe under the coconut palms or go for a sunset stroll along the beach. Take a dip with all the family in our large free form swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Koh Chang Grand View Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Chang Grand View Hotel Trat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing