We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible experience at the restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Koh Chang Grand View Resort
Ranked #4 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Trat
Reviewed 27 January 2011

My experience at this "resort" was almost surreal.
Going to the restaurant in the evening I ordered two dishes: 'Chicken green curry' and 'Seafood salad'. With this I ordered a Fanta and I also ordered Irish coffee from the(alcoholic) drinks menu. Well, 10 minutes later I get my Irish coffee which turned out to be a non-alcoholic Thai iced coffee (the overly sweet dreadful stuff). With this I also get my Fanta which turned out to be a local Thai substitute called Marinda or something similar. No big deal I though and I left the drinks alone while waiting for the food.
Now the waiter comes out with a totally different order Chicken with Pineapple(!) and I ask him to return it (after some argument he did). He then comes out with my second order that was supposed to be the Spicy seafood salad but instead he is bringing me a seafood soup(!) It was just outrageous and to a point where I started to look for hidden cameras expecting a practical joke of sorts. Anyways, following dinner I still wanted to stay around to take some photos of the sunset so I walked up to the bar and ordered a bottle of Heineken to be served by the waterfront. Well the waitress comes out with a bottle of Leo... This place or its staff cannot get anything right. Don't bother!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank JoeTheAmmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2009

Firstly, I would like to say that I wholeheartedly agree with the above review, and would now like to add my comments. Fortunately I was able to negotiate a price of 2,100 baht, down from 2,500 baht. (probably as there was practically no-one staying at the resort). This was only negotiated 'without breakfast'. 2,100 baht is the going rate for a decent hotel in Koh Chang, although the Grand View does not fall into that category, and was seriously overpriced. I had to ask 2 days running for the maids to make up our room - on our return in the afternoons the room was exactly as we had left it. This was done with extremely bad grace, the rubbish being dumped just outside our room until I personally picked it up and handed it to the maids to get rid of it somewhere else. There was no light switch at the bedside, we had to get out of bed after reading at night and switch the light off by the door, returning to bed in the dark. The hotwater heater/shower in our bungalow was broken even before we took it on, and we had to move to another bungalow. Even there the hot water was very temperamental and not at all reliable. The bathrooms were mouldy, and very out of date, the bottom of the bathroom door in our replacement bungalow was coming adrift from the main part of the door. The windows didn't look as though they had ever been cleaned, and the top of our fridge was covered in stains and seemed never to have been cleaned. Our bedside "vanity unit" had a light and was wired for a plug, but there was only one plug at all in the whole bedroom and that was behind the fridge. I had to plug the hairdryer in behind the fridge and place my own mirror on top of the fridge to do my hair.There was a gekko resident in our roof, and other rooves around the complex, which made unearthly noises every hour all through the night, thus rendering sleep totally impossible. Every time it screeched, my husband had to get out of bed, go on to the porch, and irritate it so that it stopped. This went on all night long, every night. The reception staff were, as stated above, slumped asleep in their chairs, (probably from having too little to do), although extremely apologetic every time I went to complain! I would not recommend this hotel to ANYONE!!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelinstyleUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2008

I have just checked out of the Koh Chang Grand View resort and I can honestly say it is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in! Firstly, it is hugely overpriced (3,500 bt per night in low season, we booked two rooms at a cost of 7000bt per night) and is lacking in the facilities that one would expect in a hotel of this price range. On checking in 'we', (My girlfriend, her sister and her daughter) were not informed of the building works that were currently being undertaken a few metres away from the suites we had booked. The hotel grounds have a run down appearance (dead plants, litter and and all non-paved areas are devoid of grass or any kind of vegetation so paths have to be stuck to at all times). The rooms have a very fusty smell, as does the bed linen and the beds are very hard. Light bulbs were missing as were towels and the shower was broken. The following day I went to reception to ask if they could kindly reduce the price as I thought the rates were on the high side (especially seeing as we hadnt been informed of the building works and in light of all the problems we had encountered). Reception staff were half asleep, slumped in their chairs, uncoperative and spoke very little english. Eventually I got to speak to somebody who I presumed was the manager, she said she after much deliberation she was willing to reduce the price to 3000bt, I said this wasnt sufficient and would be checking out shortly. My girlfriend, her sister and daughter would stay behind providing they paid only 3000bt per night and I would find somewhere cheaper a short walk away. On checking out I was offered a taxi to my next hotel, i politely declined stating it was not necessary as it was only a short walk away, i was then told it was 'free' (checked and double checked), I stupidly agreed and was driven the 300m to my new hotel and handed the driver (and later to state he was the manager too) 100bt tip. Later the same day the driver approached my girlfriend and demended she pay another 200 bt for my taxi (taxi incidentally is a dirty, old pick up) she was also charged the full 3500 bt per night for the rest of her stay. On hearing of this i returned to the hotel and asked why my girlfriend was charged for the aforementioned, suddenly nobody could speak english. I demanded to see the manager this time only to be told he was away in Bangkok and could nt be contacted, then the driver turned up stating he was in fact the manager. I have stayed in some bad hotels before but I have never been lied to and cheated as I was at this soo called hotel. I have also never been compelled to write a negative review before. If you re coming to Koh Chang, do yourself a favour and stay away from this hotel!!!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank dixons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank Nobuo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lcholum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017
Thank Pasquale D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank ivc65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trat
0.7 mi away
KC Grande Resort & Spa
KC Grande Resort & Spa
#11 of 73 in Ko Chang
1,037 reviews
34.3 mi away
Centara Chaan Talay Resort & Villas Trat
0.2 mi away
Kacha Resort & Spa, Koh Chang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Chang Buri Resort and Spa
Chang Buri Resort and Spa
#30 of 73 in Ko Chang
236 reviews
4 mi away
Centara Koh Chang Tropicana Resort
3 mi away
Klong Prao Resort Koh Chang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Chang Grand View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Chang Grand View Resort

Address: 9/3 Moo 4 | White Sand Beach, Koh Chang, Trat 23170, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Trat
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Trat
Price Range: £39 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Koh Chang Grand View Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our idyllic resort is perfectly located in the centre of Koh Chang's famous White Sand Beach .Ideal for those who love sea, sand and glorious sunsets, Koh Chang Grand View Resort offers seaside relaxation and swimming in the calm tropical. Sunbathe under the coconut palms or go for a sunset stroll along the beach. Take a dip with all the family in our large free form swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Koh Chang Grand View Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Chang Grand View Hotel Trat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing