We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“$12” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The S.A. hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Trat
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The S.A. hotel
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Trat
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“$12”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

I am trying to follow my mother's advice on accentuating the positive. Love you mum, but the rest is going to be negative. This is a place where a washed-up writer goes to run down the last of his book advance before being found dead under unspeakable circumstances and buried in a pauper's field.

Unclean shower, unclean bed, noisy street, a petite air conditioner that struggled valiantly against the heat creeping in from the window. The front desk staff were disinterested in helping in any manner, even when presented with questions in Thai.

Did I mention it was $12 per night?

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    9
    17
    8
    4
See reviews for
11
19
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

A few points:

1. There was something very odd glued in the bed sheets
2. The water from the shower is cold
3. The staff doesn't speak English
4. If you take the taxi (songthaew) from the hotel (or from some other hotels in Trat), willing to go to the pier, they will leave you instead at an "agency" that will sell you the ride with a surcharge, and you will lose your time to make it worse

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ricardo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Trat hotels

Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

We stayed one night in the SA Hotel on our way to Koh Kood Island. We didn't expect much of the hotel to start with but were still disappointed by the incredibly unfriendly staff, the dirty (bath)room and the entire negative atmosphere of this hotel.

I must say, during the single night we stayed, I felt truly unsafe in this place although I've traveled and stayed in quite some challenging places before. Loud car-music from the street, no insulation against noise from the stairway/other rooms, no safe (we put our money under our pillows) and the unfriendly and indifferent way we were treated by reception staff added to this feeling that you just want to get out of this hotel as soon as possible.

The reception staff didn't speak a word of English and instead of confirming our boat trip to Koh Kood the next morning, they initially cancelled the trip. Only after persistant questioning from our side they called again and in the end it worked out.The only friendly staff we could find in this place are the ladies that work at the café and they made us a delicious breakfast the next morning, thank you for that!

--
Our main conclusion: stay somewhere else if you do need to stay a night in Trat. Even considering the amazingly cheap price, a good night's sleep is not guaranteed in this place.

Room Tip: Don't stay in this place. Find another accommodation if you really have to stay in Trat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeroen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
344 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

This certainly wasn't the Ritz but, after a very long day travelling from Sihanoukville in Cambodia, it was perfect for our needs. Only stayed one night. We had a big, clean room with efficient air-con, hot shower, large towels and good wifi for 500 Baht (~ £10). It was about 5 min by songthew (60 Baht) from the bus station and a 5 minute walk from the night market. Obviously no breakfast was included, but the food centre at the bus station the next morning (we picked up a songthew on the street outside for 40 Bhat) did a really good pad thai and strong coffee.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NED541287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

This is a very basic hotel which is a great value at a rock bottom rate of 500 baht per nite. Rooms are spartan, but clean. All the basics: hot water, A/C, basic local TV. Fine for a one nite stay or if you're on a very tight budget (i.e., backpacker) it's certainly comfortable enough for the price. We stayed here (as I imagine most do) simply because the flights into Trat arrive at night and the boats to Koh Kood and other tourist destinations only leave in the morning.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deal_Hunter_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night in jan 2013.
We paid 500 bht for a twin room with aircon and bathroom, tv with good channels ,and in room wifi which worked well.overall we found the room to be fairly comfortable, the beds were good and everthing in the room worked.our room was clean but in need of some repainting but for 500bht , pretty good value.we did find the reception staff indifferent ,to the stage of apathy but for one night no deal breaker.the hotel does have a lift too , so no struggling up stairs with backpacks- result!!
We were in trat on our way back from cambodia, and its actually a nice little town theres good food , good transport links and the people are friendlly.if you want to go to bangkok by minivan its easier to buy the ticket yourself at the bus station, than buying from the in town travel agents .we did'nt and got charged 100 bht extra.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pmmh101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

We stayed here on our way to Koh Kood.

It was recommended by our Resort on Koh Kood. We didn't expect much of it for that price and we didn't really need anything special.

We arrived at 4.00 pm and left the next morning around 7.30 am.

The rooms are simple and looked clean. There is a hot shower, AC and a bed. Oh and two bottles of water!!
The hotel is located in a wide alley and although there's not much of a nice view it is relatively quiet during day and night.

Personel is helpful and friendly but nothing more. Don't expect to be treated as the king and queen of Britain.

There are several shops, bars and restaurant in the surrounding area. Friendly people in the area also.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lennartdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trat hotels
0.0 mi away
Trat Center
Trat Center
#5 of 16 in Trat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pailin Resort
Pailin Resort
#7 of 16 in Trat
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Banpu Resort & Spa
Banpu Resort & Spa
#9 of 16 in Trat
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Residence  House
Residence House
#6 of 16 in Trat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.0 mi away
Golden Cliff Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Baanrimnam Resort
Baanrimnam Resort
#1 of 15 in Trat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The S.A. hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The S.A. hotel

Property: The S.A. hotel
Address: 45 Soi Terdjarad 2 | Wangkajaa, Trat, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Trat
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Trat
Number of rooms: 100

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing