We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden pearl”
Review of Mairood Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mairood Resort
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Trat
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We were recommended Mairood from a friend who spoke very warmly about Mairood, so we arrived with high expectations and left with an impression beyond the expectations - Mairood gave us more then anticipated!

The staff is very friendly and makes you feel at home straight away, you feel very comfortable and free. The environment in the resort is stunning - you'll definitely find more then one favorite spot to enjoy a good book, watch the colorful Thai fishing boats heading towards its daily trip, enjoy the sunset or to just take a nap with the breeze from the sea.

We prolonged our stay and continued saying how much we missed Mairood and the staff (and the delicious food!) when we came back to Bangkok. Mairood Resort is the place to go to if you want to find peace, enjoy yourself and your company and is ready to explore Thailand "beyond the so called unseen Thailand". Mairood is a warm place and will give you good memories!

We have travelled in most parts of Thailand and been to many different resorts, but none have left so much impression as Mairood did and we will definitely recommend the resort for other friends and come back ourselves.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NathalieSajda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

54 - 60 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2011

After two months of traveling in Laos en Cambodia we finally arrived in Mairood resort.I was been there 5 years ago and so I new what to expect there.Once more we stayed in the comfortable mangrovebungalows and we enjoyed the fine cooking of Chin, the lovely company of Dutch people, the talks with Chin and his lovelyladydriver.The garden remains so beautifull and the fishingvillage lookes still the same.Sure that next time we will be in Tailand Chin may expect a phonecall!

Georges, Agnes and Cecilia

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georges D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2011

We stayed at Mairoodresort 5 nightsat the start of our holidays.
Great, clean bungalows (luxurious even for our standards), beautiful quiet garden en really friendly people.
Real nice alternatve from all the touristic hustle when you're staying at Mairood & walking through the local fishermens village.
If peace & quiet combned with authentic Thai atmospere & great food (Chin takes good care of his guests ;)!) are what you are looking for than this is really great place tovisit!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeRuijtertjes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

From the moment we were met at Trat airport we could tell we had made the right choice in staying at Mairood Resort. Chin, the owner of the resort, immediately welcomed us like friends and made sure our 5 night stay was memorable.

Mairood Resort is an oasis of tranquillity in the middle of a scruffy but very interesting fishing village. Walking through the village to get there I did wonder what we had let ourselves in for, there was no way that the pictures I’d seen on the website could be near here. But oh boy….were we surprised! Walking through the gates and into the resort you immediately get the sense of friendliness, cleanliness and total relaxation.

The rooms in the resort are very clean, all decorated uniquely and very stylishly reflecting Chin’s artistic nature. There are a lot of outside seating areas to give choice of sun or shade all day, lots of trees ensure that there is plenty of shade for those who need it. The swimming pool is, like the rooms, very clean and well looked after making it extremely inviting in the heat of the day. There is also very strong wifi available all around the resort – including on the swinging seats overlooking the lagoon.

There are no local restaurants within walking distance but this isn’t a problem as the food that Chin serves up is second to none. There are no menus but using local fresh produce and by ensuring he understands guests taste, likes and dislikes, Chin produces excellent meals. We asked him to ‘surprise us’ as we always pick what we know from menus, he certainly opened our eyes to the fact that there is more to Thai cuisine than ‘Fried Rice Chicken’ and ‘Chicken with oyster sauce’. We had some of the best food we’ve ever tasted whilst staying at Mairood and all very good value.

Whilst on the coast, Mairood doesn’t have direct beach access as it is situated behind a natural spit which creates a lagoon. It is, however, only a five minute drive in the car (walkable but we didn’t try it as we were lazy!!) to gorgeous beaches and Chin is only too happy to arrange to drop you off and pick you up again.

www.mairoodresort.com is a very honest website, it describes the resort and surroundings very well but you’ll be very pleasantly surprised by the resort as the website really doesn’t do it justice!

The fishing village is most definitely worth walking around, the local people respond well to a smile and a hello and don’t mind at all when strangers take an interest in what they are doing.

If you are looking for bars, nightlife, rows of sunloungers on beaches and noise this is not the place for you. If, however, you are looking for peace and quiet and interesting local life then Mairood is most definitely where you need to be.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susiemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2011

I found this place via a tip from a CouchSurfer (CouchSurfing.org) and I rate it among the nicest I have ever been to, and not just in Thailand. It's a real Thai experience, not one made to look like one, the owner cooks marvellous food, the houses are great, as is the location, and the only one thing I can say is that if you are looking for postcard beaches, alright, they're not there. But you still get to swim in Trat and you won't have your average tourists around, just individual travellers. A gem, really.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yongsagisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2011

We were looking for somewhere away from the hustle and bustle of Bangkok. We certainly found it in the Mairood Resort. After a pleasant trip from Bangkok to Trat, then the bus to Mairood we came upon this littlegem. It is right next to a local fishing village, but once through the gates we were in paradise.
The gardens are beautiful, full of tropical plants and trees. The coconuts are wonderful! It was so quiet except for the sounds of nature---perfect. (this includes the dogs, roosters etc!!!)
The staff and especially the owner were amazing and we enjoyed some fantastic food, all cooked from locally sourced produce.
If you can drag yourself away from the pool or from the gentle swaying of the swings a walk through the village is a must. Seeing them catch, sort and prepare their catch is so interesting. Also a walk down to the beach is worth a look.
This is the perfect place to chill out and we certainly did that, before returning to the noise of Bangkok.Will we go again, you bet!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank toysanken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2011

My mom and I landed at Mairood Resort after a friend had been there and invited us to stay. When we first arrived at Mairood we were somewhat wary about a 'resort' in such a quiet little fishing village. The gates of the resort opened up to an idyllic slice of paradise! The superbly tended gardens of tropical plants, flowers and orchids, koi pond, birds, butterflies, and sweet family pooches. If your lucky you might even get a visit with J-Lo, the pot-bellied-pig.
We were met by Chin, the friendly host, and he proudly showed us our accomodations. My mother and I are of different tastes while travelling. I am more along the backpacker lines of budget travel, and my mom likes a few more comforts. Chin has something for everyone. I got a great affordable bungalow option set away in a cool section of mangroves with my own little patio. My mom stayed in a sweet upscale bungalow next to the pool.
Then there were the meals! Chin prepared incredible meals with local, fresh seafood and produce, and amazing coffee and breakfasts to get us going for a day of relaxing by the pool or swinging in the loungers along the quiet strip of oceanside next to the resort grounds.
I could easily lose time at Mairood Resort. Chin is a gracious and attentive host who goes above and beyond to ensure you enjoy your stay. I really look forward to losing myself there in the future.

Stayed: February 2011
1  Thank natpile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trat
4.3 mi away
Mango Beach Resort
Mango Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Khlong Yai
217 reviews
21.9 mi away
Banpu Resort Trat
Banpu Resort Trat
#14 of 17 in Trat
35 reviews
29.3 mi away
Trat City Hotel
Trat City Hotel
#3 of 17 in Trat
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Golden Cliff Beach Resort
28.8 mi away
Trat Center
Trat Center
#6 of 17 in Trat
84 reviews
28.2 mi away
Residence House
Residence House
#5 of 17 in Trat
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mairood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mairood Resort

Address: 28 Moo 6 | T. Mairood, Trat 23110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Trat Province > Trat
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Trat
Price Range: £14 - £51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mairood Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Mairood Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing