We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Found it by accident, & happy we did”
Review of View Mare Pattaya

View Mare Pattaya
Ranked #9 of 50 Restaurants in Sattahip
Cuisines: Bar
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Mesa, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Found it by accident, & happy we did”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

It's very nice here. We were a little early, so we grab an ice cream, & coconut juice and simply enjoyed 'the view' be back soon for a little more.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Neysa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    48
    28
    6
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Only good for the view”
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile


We went there during Songkarn festival. The restaurant is located on the beach near South Pattaya. The place is well decorated. You also can have your dinner on the beach right to the sea. The only things that let me down is the food and service. My comment is to come here for the view and snack or drink but not for the food.

Helpful?
1 Thank Wichak P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Poor service”
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Came for lunch. Was shown a table by the waiter, received a menu and then left waiting. After 20 minutes of waiting for my orde patient i left. Not the first time their service around lunch time was poor.

Helpful?
1 Thank Berne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilen, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“perfect location, perfect food, lousy service”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I visited The View several life over the past 4-5 years. The location on the sea is just awesome, the sunsets unforgettable, the menu is very interesting and offers a wide choice, the food is perfect - but why is the service so lousy?

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RRoadRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stansstad, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Service worse than chaotic”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

It was the last evening with some friends together. Two of the leaving the next day for Bangkok, two more scheduled for the flight back to Switzerland at the New Years eve. A good occasion to have a dinner united at a nice place at the beach.
The place and the location is very nice indeed. The selection of food and drinks is ample and the prices - even they are high for Thai standards - are not unfair for European guests.
We were eight people and the statt gave us a table for 10 person, so we had space enough for our dishes and the food served.
The food was ok - some of the dishes were excellent, some quite average, nothing of the food served was bad. But the service was chaotic beyond local standards. Usually you have to accept in Thailand, that not everybody will get the main course the same moment. But two of our guests got their food ordered very fast and fairly hot. But that had to wait 10 minutes until the rice arrived and in the meantime the dishes served in open plates were cold - matching the temperature of the rice which was also cold.
four more people had ordered some simpler dishes which were served after roughly 30 minutes. But two of us waited a full 40 minutes and only after checking twice with the waiter we learned "Sorry - the duck you ordered is not available today. You have to order another dish please". It the took another 20 minutes before the last two people of our party got their food.
I was guest at the Beach now three times within two weeks and once everything went according to acceptable standards. Once a member of a three person party - a vegetarian - got their dish with chicken meat and had to reorder it and today the whole organization and service was a pure mess.
Perhaps "The View" is a good choice of name, as food and service are not the main strenghts of this restaurant at a basically beautifull location. This place I think need a professional, well trained and skilled manager who is looking, that kitchen and service are matching their performance to a successful result and customer satisfaction.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cormalon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed View Mare Pattaya also viewed

Pattaya, Chonburi Province
Sattahip, Chonburi Province
 
Sattahip, Chonburi Province
Pattaya, Chonburi Province
 

Been to View Mare Pattaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing