We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely getaway from Pattaya”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunset Park Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Sattahip
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A lovely getaway from Pattaya”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

A cosy and relaxing getaway place away from all the hussle at Pattaya. Personell in really friendly and service attitude is great. Nice pools right in front of the beach. Beach is not the best one in the world but we enjoyed a lot of the nice walks alongside it towards to Pattaya. We were almost alone in the resort during the weekdays, for weekend some locals came from BKK I suppose.

Room Tip: See breeze cottages are nice. Remember to take mosquito rebellant with you, there are mosquites beca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    33
    9
    6
    3
See reviews for
21
26
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Really a gem location south of Pattaya next to Bangsaray beach. We were virtually alone at the hotel and had a great time at the pool area next to the beach. Staff was really friendly and the bungalow was of good size, although we would have preferred to have the shower and bathtub inside and not outside the toilet under open air. Not so convenient when you want a cold shower and it's raining outside. We only tried the restaurant for breakfast as there are a lot of places for great seafood in Bangsaray (you need transport to go as it's 3-4 kms at least). Breakfast was good and with OK variety. Unfortunately, the one thing that really ruined our stay was that the beds had fleas or bed bugs and we got severely bitten over the night making it impossible to sleep and with red itchy bites all over everyone's body the next day. The hotel manager at charge when we were there did not seem to care much when we notified them and only said they give nasty bites and welcomed us back next time. Hopefully this is isolated only to our bungalow and that they can do something about it, although they did not seem to take it too serious. Location - yes we will come back. Bed bugs - it's still itching, so not sure we are too tempted.

Room Tip: Location wise, try to get a room towards the beach... the further back you come, your rooms are over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Anders R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mombasa, Kenya
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

After seeing the location with the combination of beach and jungle and well away from the main Pattaya city, we immediately decided upon Sunset Park as our wedding location. The staff were excellent and extremely helpful. The day passed without hitch even with the unforeseen rain forcing a move from the terrace into the dining area. Lovely rooms backing onto little brooks and even a boat should you feel like doing a little punting. Fantastic food and fantastic day.. will definitely be back again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank slinkywheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinit C, General Manager at Sunset Park Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear slinkywheels,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write an online review of your recent stay at Sunset Park Resort & Spa.

We are glad overall you had an enjoyable stay with us and hope to have a chance to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Vinit C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

First and most importantly, the staff are good - always trying to help that bit extra - but are let down somewhat by the infrastructure.
Looks like the resort is suffering from the long term downturn in tourism in Thailand. 2 years ago the property was in much better repair - unfortunately - the current low maintenance activity / budget has affected safety in a number of areas (open and broken electrics, bad timber decking, crumbling rock structures etc.). I was told that the resort has a long list of repairs they intend to do over the low season April - June 2014 - hope they do it all.
We had one of the more expensive villas for a week - and when it rained - it leaked.
But - give the resort owners the benefit of the doubt - this really is a good resort when properly maintained and functioning as designed. The staff can certainly meet expectations if given the right tools.
Maybe the GM should publish the post renovation pictures on the resort website when done.
However - I would not go back in the current state. You go to this resort to get away from everything - if it is not functioning properly you will need to get out and then you will find it remote
1 last word - do not book the resort bus - it has no seat belts.

Room Tip: Not for children at the moment until repairs are done. Expect leaks in rooms during rainy season u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeanGoldsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinit C, General Manager at Sunset Park Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Mr. Goldsmith,

Thank you for your comments which we do appreciate
.
We are sorry to hear that your stay with us did not live up to your expectations. We are striving to do our best to improve on the service and standards of our rooms and bungalows to ensure that our guests are always happy and comfortable.

The various points you have mentioned about the safety of the resort have been fixed according to your advise and the leaking of the room 106 had also been fixed including the safety belts on the shuttle bus.

An upgrading program is also currently ongoing, which, when completed, will eventually provide better facilities and amenities all round.

We again apologize for any inconvenience caused. Please be aware that we appreciate and value all comments made and will take the necessary steps to rectify these shortcomings

Best regards,

Vinit C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london, uk
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

There could be many reasons for finding yourself in the unusual situation of looking for a quiet hotel in one of the livliest holiday destinations in Asia. For us, we were looking for an idyllic getaway that's close enough to Suvarnabhumi airport for a long weekend. We were very happy to find Sunset Park Resort, a mere 2 hours drive from the airport and only 15 mins south from Pattaya centre.
Thailand does this style of luxury hotel very well - bungalows in the traditional style set in a beautiful garden setting, and Sunset Park is as good as any of them. It's quite incredible that this peaceful hotel is so close to the craziness of nearby Jomtien / Pattaya. As well as the sea views - with tropical hills to the south and skyscrapers in the distance to the north, there is a beautiful sunset to savour - so its definitely worth the extra to book a bay view room - gazing down along the fish-filled canal to the garden view rooms, they did look quite dark in the late afternoon, and it would be a shame to go all this way and still not see the ocean.
Everything else is as you would expect from a 3/4 star hotel. We were particularly impressed with the quality of the food - the breakfast buffet was especially good, possibly the best I've ever enjoyed, with the exception of the fresh bread, which they just can't seem to get right in Thailand.
In the evening, the lawn in front of the beach turns becomes a restaurant, with good (and good value) Thai food off the menu and a very impressive selection of fresh sea food available for BBQ - we enjoyed it. Drinks prices are fair - a bottle of beer is the same price as in many other places nearby on Sukhumvit. I would preferred reduced light levels around the restaurant, the flood lighting across the garden was somewhat excessive.
The beach is smallish, and a bit rocky, but nice for a dip. There is no access to any other bar or restaurant no matter how far you walk either way on the beach from the hotel, so if you want an alternative bar or dining option, then ask for a free transfer up to Sukhumvit road (or 10 min walk), where you can find restaurants nearby (as you walk towards Pattaya) or better still, jump on a passing song taew (20baht) and head into town.
Staff are a bit light on info when it comes to heading into town independently of their 100baht bus transfer or 500baht taxi - and their bus transfer is even less use since it won't stop anywhere on the way - just the final destination on the beach in Pattaya somewhere. But, as above, just 10 min walk to Sukhumvit Rd and then take a Song Taew.
Overall, this hotel is a great option for a non-Pattaya style hotel in Pattaya. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Any room with a bay view, its well worth the extra - your private balcony is then a lovely place to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jodyodea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinit C, General Manager at Sunset Park Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Jodyodea,

Thank you for staying at the Sunset Park Resort & Spa and for your kind words about our resort on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to read you had such a wonderful time during your short stay with us and very appreciated for your advice concerning the lighting at the beach front during the dinner time and the shuttle bus schedule which both departments responsible have been informed.

We do hope to welcome you back to Sunset Park Resort & Spa in the nearest future.



Best Wishes,

Vinit C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed at this resort with the entire family (incl. in-laws) for two nights in the off-season and had a good time. The resort is located out of town (next is Ban Amphoe or Ban Amphur, Pattaya is about 15 min off by car) and therefore quiet and nicely laid out, consisting of a row of beach bungalows of various sizes and two rows of bungalows along a stream that flows into the sea. The bungalows are wood-built with Thai-style wet bathrooms and outdoor bath/showers. The bedrooms are air-conditioned, clean, functional and nice.

Being off the party zone, the resort is well equipped for a family, with two pool areas surrounding the restaurant/reception/ pool bar, a playground (never made it there as the kids loved the pool), some fitness facilities, bicycle rental, spa (did not make it to either) and direct access to two beach segments surrounding the stream delta. There is no written information in the room regarding existing facilities, so you need to ask the staff if you have any special needs or interests, but their English is generally pretty good. However due to this lack of available information, we did not manage to catch the spa during its fairly limited opening hours and I assumed that the hotel does not provide activities for children (but would be happy to stand corrected).

The restaurant can cater for functions and offers a very nice breakfast buffet with Asian and European style breakfast and a European/Thai a-la-carte menu. We had dinner there once, which was alright on the European side and good on the Thai side.

Service from check-in to room service and restaurant staff was good. They are offering a golf cart service to take you around the resort and a transport to the main road, from where you can catch a public transport to Ban Amphoe or Pattaya, if you do not have a car.

Addressing some issues mentioned in earlier review, apparently they have given some items incl. the spanking new pool decking a makeover, so that the run-down point did not catch my normally rather wakeful eye. Having seen a wedding ceremony on the beach with dinner in the restaurant, I could imagine that that would keep the staff busy enough to give other guests lesser priority. Regarding the price, we got an off-season rate, which I felt was not extraordinarily expensive, but also not dirt cheap.

Room Tip: Room 511 is a "garden" bungalow that has awesome beach view. Otherwise beach view will cos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ernst S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinit C, General Manager at Sunset Park Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Fartraveller2001,

Thank you for staying at the Sunset Park Resort & Spa and for your kind words about our resort on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to read you had such a wonderful time during your short stay with us and we hope you will be able to visit again in the future.

Thank you also for the very kind recommendation.

Best Wishes

Vinit C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

This hotel is located right on the beach. so it has some great views but its a long, long drive from the main road. Its also a long, long drive to Sattahip and to Pattaya. The food and the drinks are expensive so unless you have a car and want to drive, eating there will add a lot to your bills.

Room Tip: Try the ones overlooking the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 664Luap664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinit C, General Manager at Sunset Park Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear 664Luap664,

Thank you for staying at the Sunset Park Resort & Spa and for your kind words about our resort on Trip Advisor.
The concept of Sunset Park Resort & Spa location is to be away from the hustle bustle city of Pattaya but not far away to get into town. We also provided 5 times shuttle bus starting in the morning and end in very late at night.

Your comments about the prices of the food were passed to the department concerned.

Best regards,

Vinit C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sattahip hotels
2.5 mi away
Ravindra Beach Resort & Spa
2.7 mi away
Dor-Shada Resort by The Sea
Dor-Shada Resort by The Sea
#10 of 22 in Sattahip
96 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sea Sand Sun Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Sunset Village Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
The Palm Grove Resort
The Palm Grove Resort
#20 of 22 in Sattahip
48 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ban Nam Mao Resort
Ban Nam Mao Resort
#16 of 22 in Sattahip
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Park Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Park Resort & Spa

Property: Sunset Park Resort & Spa
Address: 99/19 Sunset Beach Soi Najomtien 48 | Km 161.5 Sukumvit Rd. Najomtien, Sattahip 20250, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chonburi Province > Sattahip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Sattahip
#7 Spa Hotel in Sattahip
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sattahip
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Park Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising from the pristine 206 meters private beach, Sunset Park Resort & Spa combines indigenous architecture with casual luxury and gracious service set in a tropical paradise of lush foliage and 100 year old woodland, creating a resort experience unmatched in Pattaya. The Resort features 53 cottages and villas offering a choice of beach or brook settings, as well as its own spa and health club, set in the midst of woodland enclosed by a stream and waterfall, offering a complete range of massages and spa treatments designed to relax, rejuvenate, enrich and heal the body and soul. Other amenities include 2 free-form pools (one is an infinity-edge pool), separate men and women saunas, ocean vistas from the beach restaurant, beach bar, after dinner music lounge, meeting room, fitness room, and Internet services. Some of the recreational activities at the Resort include golf putting green, children playground, boat rowing in the canal, cycling, jogging and Thai-food cooking class. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sunset Park Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Park Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing