We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly a little peice of hevan”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ThaiLife Homestay Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Truly a little peice of hevan”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

After viewing Thailife in Jan 2012 we booked immediately for Jan 2013 as we were swept off our feet with the natural beauty and the friendliness and personal touch even from the owners themselves. This is a place that you truly can take the way of Thai Life to heart with all the comforts of the west, other than the Thai beds ( a little hard for me ) but you can acquire bed toppers Everything here is what I look for in a holiday and I will go further and say a place where I could stay long term. Finally I would like to repeat to you A little piece of heaven Hope you enjoy

Room Tip: Any of the properties are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyNeilloo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    35
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
23
54
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, Queensland, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Myself and two friends of mine had a wonderful stay at Thailife. We spent three nights during low season so were practically the only people there! We felt like rock stars who had rented the whole place for ourselves. We had cocktails on the beach in the afternoon and watched the sunset, (I can highly recommend the Pina Coladas). We indulged in lots of massages and other beauty treatments, always finishing with some sweet ginger tea on the balcony overlooking the lake. We asked for lobster and fresh green coconuts and we were granted every wish.

It was so peaceful and serene. I could lie in my bed and watch the sunrise over the lake, beautiful. The beds at ThaiLife are firm but comfortable. The grounds are flat and you can expect to walk a few minutes to everything, i.e. reception, meditation hall, restaurant etc. To go the beach you can use the bicycles provided or tuk tuk. The beach looked a bit too dangerous for swimming when I was there, but is still nice and you can go for long walks on the narrow stretch of sand, with no-one else in sight. There can be a bit of rubbish washed up overnight but the staff do clean it up everyday.

Thailand’s climate is tropical so be prepared for temperatures up to 36c and high humidity. There can also be some rain at this time of year. The swimming pool and air-conditioning help with this :)

The staff and owners were exceptionally helpful, we found everyone's English to be satisfactory and when we wanted to go out this was arranged easily. We loved that this resort supports the local community in many ways but namely by employing staff from the local village. So when you are here remember that these people are not hospitality trained, not that we would have known that, because their eagerness to help was so earnest, it was just wonderful.

This is an area still recovering form the 2004 Tsunami and all of the people here were affected, it's good to be sensitive about this when travelling to this area. The tuk tuk driver will take you to the memorial and large Buddha if you ask, it's about a 15 minute drive.

This is the place if you are seeking total relaxation.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tammie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Positive:
Very friendly staff and tasty food at the restaurant - the cashew-nut and banana shake is really good :)
Peaceful nice nature around on and around the hotel grounds.
Staff is generally pleasant.
Rooms are interesting and nicely decorated.
Pool is salt water with no chlorine and pleasant, but quite small.

Negative:
Big gaps everywhere in the buildings, like actual holes in the doors, so there are insects and small creatures everywhere. Our room was sprayed every day, which I would like to avoid in the first place, and just keep them outside with decent buildings, but there were still tons of insects.

Taxi prices for tourists are controlled here, and very expensive, and you are far away from anything else than the hotel itsself.

The reception seems friendly and we followed their recommendations right off the bat, because of the reviews, but the elephant place they recommended us was the worst we saw on the whole trip. It was really really depressing to visit these elephants, like we were actually sad when we left.

We tried to ask more about the next recommendations and were just met with irritation and got repeatedly shrugged off with litterally the sentences: 'it's low season - I don't know anything better for you to do' and 'you don't want to do that anyway'

There were plenty of things to do in the area, like a great hike in Lam Ru National park (there is a short 3km hike and a long hike there, bring boots). We also visited two great markets full of locals to name a few things.

Bottom line: Zero useful recommendations by the hotel.

For me it's a no brainer, stay somewhere else when visiting this area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Evan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thailife_patty, Manager at ThaiLife Homestay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 June 2013
ThaiLife Homestay Resort and Spa would like to Thank you very much for your kind comments.

ThaiLife Homestay Resort and Spa is located in the pure green tropical nature, Cashew Nut and Coconut plantation where a lot of smaller wild creatures still choose this area to habitate. We are a so-called ' Peaceful Hideaway" relaxation and ideal for people who would like to seek for quietness and rejuvinate, as well as to learn a little and see the Thai Way of living in the urban area.

Regarding the Villas, it is all equipped with Mosquito nets to prevent the insects into the room, where we also provide Mosquito repellent spray for our valued guests at the restaurant. Eventhough, it can be very difficult for our property, which is located amidst the pure nature to avoid any creatures( such as Ants, frogs, birds, geckos, lizards, birds etc) and insects which may disturb us human sometimes. We have got the tip to provide pricky heat powder ( menthol) which is very good to chase away the ants without killing them. ( an experience gained from camping out at the natural and national parks)

Our 20 meters long, salt-chlorinated pool suitable for a small 22 Villas resort such as our small scale. It is often that the Pool guests can enjoy the pool quietly and privately by their own, where it is very seldom fully crowded with over 4-5 guests will be there around the pool.

Further for activities around ThaiLife Homestay - For a good sunny day, guests could have more options to enjoy their day at ThaiLife such as jogging, biking around the premises, motorcycling, beach activities at the Beach with Sand, Sea and Sun. In rainy season, when the outdoor activities are limited our guests may choose the Spa treatment, cooking class, and body and spiritual activities like yoga and meditation ( breathing techniques) at our DhammLife Home. For the Excursions around ThaiLife, our resort is located 25 minutes away from Main Khao Lak Tourist center. We are in a hideaway touristy locationarea, where guests can really experience a Thai- way of life, seeing the local temple, local market, and a lot of simple pure nature life in the Urban area.Other Destinateions such as Khao Sok National Park with beautiful waterfall, some guests rent the mountain bike and explore the area everyday as a morning excercise to get to know how the Thai Fisherman and local life are like. For guests who would like to experience some night life action or tourist shopping area, we also provide taxis going to Khao lak area.
Some choose to stay in a peaceful place and just go to enjoy the lively tourist attractions only sometimes.
Most of the hotel and resorts in Khao Lak area would take mostly the same standard taxi rates. ThaiLife Homestay's taxi rates are based on a bit lower than the airport limousine rate. We have to apologise for this inconveniences, as this rate is affected by the gasoline price which is effecting the economy all over the world.

For the elephant trekking camp as a tourist attraction , we have had many discussions and issues among the tourist industry against the tourist attraction using animal ( such as elephant). ThaiLife Homestay are supporting to prevent all animal crueilty done to them. Guests may experiences our 'thailife residences' with happy buffaloes, happy ducks, happy dogs, happy cats, happy chicken and many of the smaller wild life living in our property. It can be a big issue among all of us.

We thank you once again and hopefully we can make your stay a better one next time.
With Best Regards,

ThaiLife Homestay Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surat Thani, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

As a Resort owner and as a consultant working for international hotel chains for the last 10 years, I’m not easily impresses, however the Thai Life Homestay Resort and Spa really got it right and is a perfect example of sustainability.
The Thai Life Resort and Spa, to me was a perfect retreat, green loans, private beach, quiet and peaceful with charming locally hired staff and excellent food.
Not talking about the Resort architecture which makes you really feel like being in a small Thai village from the Sukothai era.
It is a perfect place if you wish to escape the crowed, but the same time it is at a reasonable distance from Khao Lak beaches and restaurants and a not well known,but very enjoyable town, Takuapa.
The villas are very comfortable, and offer the same amenities you would find in a Phuket 5 star resort,
The resort also has an amazing pool treated with salt and not with chlorine as it often is the case in Thailand, and I must say it really makes a big difference.
Multiple tours can be directly arranged by the Resort Manager, snorkeling on the Similan islands, game fishing, the visit of the Old Takuapa town, elephant trekking etc….
Some of those tours and excursions are even free, the staff for example offered me to go on a wildlife observation trip with my entire family to spot rare birds and water buffalos and all that free of charge.
I only had the Chance to stay in this beautiful property for two nights but seriously wish I could have stayed longer.
Thanks to the Tai Life team for amazing stay.
I really hope I will have the opportunity to come back one day

Room Tip: Go for the Spa villa especially if you come with you family
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We stayed 12 days at a Sukothai Villa and enjoyed every hour! The villas are spacious and nicely decorated, the surrounding is beautiful and very quiet, the private beach just a ten minutes walk away and the various services the spa offers are excellent!
The staff is fluent in English and more than helpful, plenty of food are offered (buffet or a la carte) - in other words: Thai Life Homestay Resort is a beautiful place if you want to relax and enjoy the serenity and tranquilty of Thailand's South without missing the comfort of a luxurious and comfortable 4 star hotel with a personal touch.

Room Tip: Both types of villas - Sukothai and Dusita - are recommendable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank joergwischermann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thailife_patty, Manager at ThaiLife Homestay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Dear Dr. Wischermann,

Thank you very much for your kind review on ThaiLife Homestay Resort and Spa!

We are glad we have made your stay an enjoyable and relaxing one and hope that we will be able to welcome you again in the future, and your kind feedback will be a great motivation for our staff to improve their service and an encouragement for them to service our guests.

Thank you once again for your kind review.
Yours truely,
Best Regards,
ThaiLife Homestay Resort and Spa Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Excellent and wonderful stay in Thailife Homestay Resort and Spa. It's our wind down stay after a live aboard diving trip. We were greeted by the staff the moment we reached. After a breeze checked in, we were led to our villa and the room is ready with the AC being switched on. A short briefing was given on the room, the pantry and the bathroom. Love the bathroom with outdoor concept and rain shower. The villa is facing the lake. We had our dinner by the lake. It was nice and peaceful.

The villas are surrounded by greens and fruit trees. You will be delighted to be woken up by birds chirping in the morning. You may rent a bicycle for free and cycle around the compound and to the private beach. If you do not fancy cycling, hotel tuk tuk can send you to and from the beach. The tuk tuk also goes to the market nearby but is on a schedule.

The staffs were attentive to our request. We rented a motorcycle with them and been guided to visit Baan Nam Kem Tsunami memorial park and few temples around. We also booked a tour to Khao Sok National Park and been treated to a wonderful tour including elephant trekking, canoeing on Khao Sok river and a visit to Takuapa old market.

Do try out the massage service from the spa center, it is excellent and the charges are so reasonable. One hour Thai Massage only costs THB300. You can also have the massage by the beach.

The staffs in Thailife have done an excellent job including the housekeeper whom kept our room clean. We feel like at home and would visit them again.

Room Tip: All rooms are facing the lake. It doens't matter which you choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PeggW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thailife_patty, Manager at ThaiLife Homestay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 7 April 2013
Dear PeggyW,

First of all Thank you very much for your kind review and a great feedback!!
We are so happy to received your Review, which is also a great motivation to all our staff to work even harder to create a cozy and peaceful stay for all our valued guests. I will pass on your compliments to our dear staff for their readings.

On behalf of ThaiLife Homestay Management Team, Thank you once again from the bottom of our heart for your kind review, and we hope we can be at your service again in the future.

Sincerely yours ,

ThaiLife Homestay Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vienna
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

we drove around in this area and visited the thailife homestay coffe shop. all the people there where so lovely, the coffe was really fine. had a look on the menu, the choice was fine and prices are really ok for a resort. we decided to walk through the grounds, this place is marvellous. the garden is made with so much love, the bungalows look nice & spacious, there is a lake and the bunglows are built around that lake. a walk to the quiet & lovely beach takes about 10mins, there is a little bar there and massage facilities.
nearby you have the little town of nam khen and approx. 10kms further you have takua pa, so you can also eat at the small food stalls there and stroll around. but you need a motorbike,, car or taxi.
we plan to go to thailand again in december and for sure we will stay at the thailife for some days. i you want to get away from everything - this is the place for you.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jewel031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Takua Pa
5.4 mi away
MANATHAI Khao Lak
MANATHAI Khao Lak
#9 of 69 in Khao Lak
791 reviews
3.0 mi away
SENTIDO Graceland Khao Lak Resort & Spa
5.1 mi away
Bangsak Village
Bangsak Village
#7 of 69 in Khao Lak
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
7.8 mi away
Kantary Beach Hotel Villas & Suites Khao Lak
6.6 mi away
Beyond Resort Khaolak
Beyond Resort Khaolak
#10 of 69 in Khao Lak
1,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ThaiLife Homestay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ThaiLife Homestay Resort & Spa

Property: ThaiLife Homestay Resort & Spa
Address: 1/5 Moo 2, Bang Muang, Takua Pa 82190, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Takua Pa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Takua Pa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — ThaiLife Homestay Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your ThaiLife Homestay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
ThaiLife Homestay Resort & Spa Thailand/Takua Pa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing