We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Jungle Love”
Review of Hotel Kangaroo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fronteras
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Kangaroo
Ranked #1 of 1 Fronteras B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Medellin, Colombia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Jungle Love”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I stayed in their fabulous dormitory upstairs in a comfortable bed that also sported a mossie net.
The Hostel itself is a gorgeous large jungle style bungalow with outside areas where one can relax with a drink, socialise or read a book. Imagine my surprise when I ordered from their Restaurant a bowl of spaghetti bolognaise that even an Italian Restaurant could not match. (Thank you Graciela). Gary, the owner does everything for his guests and makes sure you are well taken care of. I highly recommend this Hostel, not need to look further.

Room Tip: Try and book ahead for the Doubles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manuelav l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    51
    16
    11
    5
See reviews for
13
57
35
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atchison KS
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I originally want to stay here but my wife was concerned when the said the had no window glass. She had a paradigm about flying insects. We noticed in Lonely Planet you call and the would pick you up for lunch. So we called and went for lunch. We toured the facility and meet the Australian owner and his Mexican wife. We were surprised at quality of the facility. It is in a remote area off the river and beautiful. Then the lunch. We wanted to order more than we could eat because we were so hungry. We really wanted to share the Aussie burger and a Mexican meal. We decided to order one at a time. We order the mixed Mexican plate. We were so full we decided we would come back next year to stay and enjoy the Aussie burger. We were disappointed that the charged us 80 Q to pick us up at Brunos and return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arhusker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, Oregon
Level Contributor
117 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We had a bungalow with our grandson comfortable beds friendly people GREAT Food. The owners really go out of their way to help you see the local sights. I would love to visit again. Our grandson was happy swimming in the river in front and we could sit right there drinking beer and watching, perfect!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeliaLop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Kangaroo is in a fantastic location but can feel a bit isolated. As there were no bungalows available with twin beds we stayed in the main building in a room with shared bathroom facilities. The room was huge but very dark, if you like to read you will need to take a torch, furnishings are basic and due to subdued light it was difficult to see if the room was clean or dirty, but going on the bathroom facility i would suggest the latter. The hosts are extremely helpful and helped us organise our trips. In my view the food was expensive and average, a small cup of unpleasant coffee costs Q10, all extras are charged for including water bottle refills.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Libby1609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights in March 2012 and would love to visit again.

We arrived to Rio Dulce by bus in the middle of the night and were picked by by Gary at the harbor by torch light (the hotel can only be accessed by boat). Waking up in the morning to see the beautiful setting of the hotel was really special.

its really great to sleep with the sound of the wildlife around about, 2 of our bedroom walls were netted which gives the impression of sleeping under the stars while keeping the bugs out!

Decent food, a lovely setting perfect to just relax on the river side. Good location to kayak around and see the surrounding area by boat at your own pace.

Well worth a stay in when in Rio Dulce!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emlux89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

It's an amazing place to relax after travelling for a few months. Gary and his wife will make you feel at home right away. The food at the restaurant is simply fantastic! You must try the Aussie burger! I would definitely stay there again. The only bad thing is the mattresses in the dorm, they need to replace them ASAP because some of them are brutally uncomfortable!
But all In all it's a great place with great host where you can decompress in a jungle settings by the river.

Mike

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Divetiludie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed there 4 nights, 2 in the dorms and 2 more in a private room w/ shared bathroom. The hotel is located in a beautiful place on the riverside, close to San Felipe Castillo and Finca Paraiso. They will come and pick you up from Rio Dulce even late in the evening. The dorms are really nice and worth the price, and Gary is very nice and helpful. However, the private room is expensive for what you get, the restaurant is poorly managed and the food is very expensive for small portions. In general, it feels like they're taking advantage of their remote location and charge you for every small thing (refill of water, a boat to Rio Dulce is 20Q, regardless to the number of passengers etc.). Bottom line, worth one night there, more than that - look for somewhere else...

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Noa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fronteras
0.0 mi away
Hotel Finca Tatin
Hotel Finca Tatin
#2 of 9 in Livingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
#7 of 9 in Livingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.0 mi away
Posada El Delfin
Posada El Delfin
#4 of 9 in Livingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Round House Hostel
The Round House Hostel
#2 of 13 in Livingston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.0 mi away
El Hotelito Perdido
El Hotelito Perdido
#1 of 18 in Rio Dulce
5.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa Perico
Hotel Casa Perico
#6 of 18 in Rio Dulce
3.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kangaroo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kangaroo

Property: Hotel Kangaroo
Address: Fronteras, Rio Dulce, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Izabal Department > Rio Dulce > Fronteras
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Fronteras
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Hotel Kangaroo Rio Dulce, Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing