We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good in a pinch”

Bruno's Hotel and Marina
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fronteras
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bruno's Hotel and Marina
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fronteras
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good in a pinch”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

After our bus from Flores to Rio Dulce was extremely delayed, we arrive in Rio Dulce at 9:15pm. We could no longer reach our intended place to stay, so we decided to stay in the dorm at Bruno
s. We were allowed to still order dinner even though the restaurant had closed. The dorm was Q50, and the room was simple. The shower didn't have hot water, which was okay since it was so hot in Rio Dulce. The windows had screens (with some holes large enough for bugs to get in). It's also fairly noisy. Like I said, good in a pinch. The restaurant is decent enough.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maggle_rock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    9
    15
    12
    22
See reviews for
4
25
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here because Lonely Planet said it was one of the cleanest polices in Rio Dulce. If that is the case, then skip Rio Dulce. Unfriendly service and a room that was not very clean. The handle fell off in the shower and the bed linens felt old and musty. My daughter slept fully clothed even though it was warm out. Unpleasant and a hard way to start our trip in Guatemala!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fronteras hotels

Riverside, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Stayed for two nights during the crowded Easter holiday weekend. While this property has great potential, the owners seem to go out of their way to provide an inferior product. This place may meet the standards for budget minded travellers but is still overpriced at that.

Our room was the one seen in the photo provided (two queen sized beds). All that was provided were two sheets: that's it! No blankets, comforters, or matress covers. We used one of the sheets to sleep on and rolled the other around the two pillows as there were no pillow cases. Limited hot water made for quick showers. The windows are covered with screens/shutters, no windows or glass whatsoever, thus there is no way to drown out the loud music that pours into the room into the wee hours of the morning. Noise from the tent city that sprung up in front of the room didn't help either.

After coming back from a busy day of sightseeing, the room was the same: no maid service. My wife went to ask why and was told that we had to request maid service: she did manage to secure two additional sheets for our bed.

The real money to be made at this place is in the restaurant and if by chance you need a load of laundry done (about $8.50/Q65 for one load washed/dried) and could be why the owners don't care about the accomodations.

The pool is cold as ice and over chlorinated and evidenced in the constant haze......eyes burned after going under water just a few times.

The food at the restaurant is good and reasonably priced but the service is horrible. Two younger women behind the bar, perhaps in their late twenies, never smile and make you feel like you are inconveniencing them. Whether you try to speak English or Spanish their mood dictates what you may be served. No matter what my wife asked for (in Guatemalan Spanish), she was ignored, told we don't have it, it's too late, etc.... there seemed to be an excuse for everything.

On our last night, I ordered a fruit smoothie (through my wife). After hissing that each fruit cost Q2 additional, my smoothie was processed by one of these indifferent young ladies. About every 20-30 seconds, she stopped the blender, and poured some of the smoothie on her wrist to taste. After doing this three times, and apparently perfecting the recipe, she sneezed into the palm of her hand and used the same hand to finish the processing. Paid for the smoothie but didn't drink it.

The owners were seen on multiple occasions loudly conversing in French, but seem to be oblivious/ignorant, and care only about the long-term boaters moored at the hotel.

This place makes Motel 6 seem like the Ritz Carlton.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 5 February 2014

I stayed at Bruno's for a couple of nights in January. Rooms are decent and clean, location is great and the price Q200 is right.
It is convenient to have a restaurant on premises which is opened all day. Food was very good.
The owner is hands on and being able to talk to expat sailors and hear some of their amazing stories was an added bonus.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RyszardSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonoma, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Do Not spend your money here. We arrived in Rio Dulce and on guidebook recommendations had a late lunch here. We decided to get a room for one night because we were heading to Livingston the next day. Room was ok. Not great. After checking in and unpacking started noticing some maintenance issues with the room and discovered that the maintenance guy had taken off at 1530. Not pleased. We had a quick late dinner in the bar. A lot of cruisers (yachters) here. Service was surly. Anytime we ordered she would act like she didnt understand, either in spanish or english. Then go up to the bar and put her head down. Impossible to get another drink or ask where our food was. The best part was when we went to go to sleep. The deadbolt would not latch and i noticed the door lock didnt work.

Maybe I should have noticed something was wrong with this place when none of the second floor rooms were available. Like they didn't have doors....

The next morning we went to Hotel Vista Rio for breakfast and stayed for 3 nights. Great place

Room Tip: Don't waste your money
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sully738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Polson, Montana
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I arrived on the Rio Dulce on June 15, 2013. Last month I stayed at Bruno's for 5 days while I was having work done on my boat. I stayed in room 14 which was on the third floor. The room was basic but very clean. It had two queen beds, air conditioner, ceiling fan and a portable fan which made the room very comfortable. Bruno's has a great location because you are on the river but in town. Unlike most hotels where you need a boat to get to town or leave the premises. The downside is that you do get truck noise from the bridge over the river but with the air conditioner and ceiling fan going it covers most of the traffic noise.

Bruno's has a extensive menu and the food is good. Plentiful portions and reasonably priced. You will not find a better happy hour on the Rio than at Bruno's. 4 pm to 7 pm everyday. If you need anything special just talk to Jane the manager. She is down every morning and afternoons when she is not working in the office. She is a very nice person and a good resource. Thank you Jane. We will miss you.

I would definitely stay there again and someday I will visit Bruno's again. John & Diane

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jafa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night and enjoyed the restaurant/bar as the rains fell. The retirees living on their sailboats at the marina are a hoot. My husband and I enjoyed our room with a porch hammock and the live music at the bar.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shayes1376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fronteras
0.0 mi away
Hotel Finca Tatin
Hotel Finca Tatin
#2 of 9 in Livingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
Hotel Salvador Gaviota
#7 of 9 in Livingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.0 mi away
Posada El Delfin
Posada El Delfin
#4 of 9 in Livingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Catamaran Island Hotel
Catamaran Island Hotel
#5 of 9 in Livingston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Caribe
Hotel Villa Caribe
#1 of 9 in Livingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mansion del Rio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bruno's Hotel and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bruno's Hotel and Marina

Property: Bruno's Hotel and Marina
Address: Rio Dulce area, Fronteras, Rio Dulce 18021, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Izabal Department > Rio Dulce > Fronteras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fronteras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Also Known As:
Brunos Hotel Fronteras
Bruno's Hotel And Marina Rio Dulce, Guatemala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing