We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Big fish BBQ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Big Fish Cafe and Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Big Fish Cafe and Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Blackwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Big fish BBQ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Our last nite on big corn was spent at an exciting baseball game with a finish at Big Fish BBQ!
Lobster kabobs..tender barbeque chicken and pork with cole slaw, tortillas and of course red beans and rice. Right on the beautiful beach at the north end! A must for all visitors!

Room Tip: Great area to snorkle and a great meal after!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaddieLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    17
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
27
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cranbrook, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We absolutely loved our time on Big Corn in large part because of our stay at Mary and Shawn's place. You are immediately made to feel at home and welcome. Mary gave us a great tour of the island and an education on the island's history. We traveled Nicaragua and Costa Rica for a month and The Big Fish was the highlight. If you have time, ask Mary to arrange a guided hike with Jessie (tour guide extraordinaire). This exceptional young man took us on a two hour hike that was unforgettable . If you are going to the corn islands, do not miss this place. Shawn's nightly bbq on the beach capped off each day on a high note. Be sure to order sweet coconut french toast . Huge thankyou to Shawn and Mary for a great experience
ken ,erika and parker

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erika T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, Montana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Very nice people own and run this place. Clean rooms, air conditioning. Quiet, safe part of the island. Only stayed one night but would have gladly stayed longer had we been in the area. Wonderful service well worth the cost.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Montanajrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granada, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Big Fish guesthouse is a beautiful place. it has 3 bedrooms that you can choose from (the prices varies between 25 and 40 dollars).
its located on a quiet part of the island, the beach is just in front of it. nice place for walks aswell !you can also rent bicycles to go around the island.
Its a very a clean, confortable and cosy place, with AC in the rooms !
Mary, was the most helpful. the food was also great.

you should definitly go there !

Room Tip: you should book if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CindyBlondy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matagalpa, Matagalpa, Nicaragua
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

Decided to go here for dinner one night and we were blown away by the food, the price and the customer service! After that one dinner we ended up eating there for lunch and dinner the next day and the next! We just always had a good time there and it was very relaxing! the owners were very happy cheerful people and had connections for just about anything you wanna do on the island!! IF YOU GO TO THE BIG CORN ISLAND STOP HERE! I promise you wont regret it! :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Ok easy choice here 35 dollars you get a big super clean room with ac tv big shower and bathroom,
Free good coffee not instan :) the service was out of this world. They made our room every day and change our linen every day you sleep in clean sheet. Its was the cheapest room of our trip and by far the cleanest. Me and my girlfriend were threathed like kings and queen ;) they come and get you at the airport they greated you with a complimentary cocktail when you arrive. The food was really good and cheap for a restaurant in an island. They made food for us whenever we were hungry at anytime. They made laundry for us. And your right in front of the sea for you breakfast cuz they have a terrasse with an incredible ocean view. So seriously for 35 it was perfect and left us a lot of cash to do some fun stuff on the island. So the choice of the big fish café is a no brainer in my humble opinion

Room Tip: We had the room and the back and it was really big and we slepted really well
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doumdd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

Our great stay started right at the airport when we were met by Monica who was waiting for us there. Then we arrived at the guesthouse and were given complimentary coconut water. The room was big and clean and every issue/ question was handled straight away. Staff is very friendly and helpful and food just delicious!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joannemcgavin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Corn Island
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bellavista
Hotel Bellavista
#4 of 7 in Big Corn Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.0 mi away
Little Corn Beach and Bungalow
Little Corn Beach and Bungalow
#2 of 7 in Little Corn Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.0 mi away
Yemaya Colibri Boutique Hotel
Yemaya Colibri Boutique Hotel
#1 of 7 in Little Corn Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Morgan
Hotel Morgan
#7 of 7 in Big Corn Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Princesa de la Isla
La Princesa de la Isla
#3 of 7 in Big Corn Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sunshine Hotel
Sunshine Hotel
#3 of 7 in Little Corn Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Fish Cafe and Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Fish Cafe and Guesthouse

Property: Big Fish Cafe and Guesthouse
Address: North End, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Southern Atlantic Autonomous Region > Corn Islands > Big Corn Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Big Corn Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Big Fish Cafe and Guesthouse is located on the quiet, serene North End of Corn Island which is also vagrant free. You will experience fresh ocean breeze on a white sandy beach with crystal clear ocean to swim in. There are coral reefs near by for those who enjoy snorkeling and diving. Restaurant and Bar is onsite and open daily and offers a varied menu. As the island is prone to losing electricity for some short periods of time, we have a power generator onsite so that our guests don't have to be inconvenienced by the loss of electricity. Friendly and helpful property manager available for your needs. We offer bicycle and motorcycle rental and snorkel rental. There are other water activities and rentals available near by that we can assist with directing you to. Getting around is easy. Take a taxi, bus, bicycle, motorbike or just use your two feet! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Big Fish Cafe and Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Fish Cafe And Guesthouse Corn Islands, Nicaragua - Big Corn Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing