We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Honeymoon”
Review of Arenas Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arenas Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Big Corn Island
Certificate of Excellence
Managua, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Honeymoon”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Corn Island is beautiful, and was the best choice when deciding to go there for our honeymoon. It can be relaxing and romantic but also fun. We rented a bike and went around the island and got to know different beaches and local restaurants with great food, specially seafood. The hotel is excellent very confortable and the bugalows are great, the way they are decorated is nice. We also tried to do snorkeling and fishing but there werent too many instructions so we werent able to really enjoy it. Overall we had an excellent experience, beatiful beach,excellent food, hotel was excellent. Would definetly recommend it. Great place in Nicaragua

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maryeli_bonilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    84
    31
    14
    5
See reviews for
47
91
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

$6 US for a bowl of cornflakes. Are you serious?

Otherwise great hotel with amazing location. Right on the white sandy beach with crystal clear water. Staff really helpful and friendly but food generally not brilliant. Be sure to try the delicious oatmeal at breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Niamhandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
84 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

This is a modern, imposing hotel, with some rooms in bungalows on one side of the main building. We had a room in the front of one of the bungalows, which has an open balcony at the front.(The rooms at the rear are less pleasant). It was a good room, well furnished, with air-con and a very good bathroom. The only problem was that it took about 5 minutes running the shower for hot water to arrive.(Very wasteful on water and heat)

The open dining area at the front of the hotel was pleasant, and service was good. The food was quite good, but portions were smaller than normal, and prices were quite high. Breakfast was included, but it was not clear what you could order, and we were charged extra for having more than one course, which seems mean for an expensive hotel.

There is a beautiful beach at the front of the hotel, but they are separated by a road, albeit quiet. The beach is wide and sandy and you can wade out into the sea on the sand. The sea was calm when we were there and good for swimming. The only problem on the beach is that at times, perhaps when the sun is in, or late in the day, very small sand flies attack. You very soon feel them on your body, and if they bite, you can get red itchy sores that last for some days.

Room Tip: Try to get a front room in a bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank assheton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
847 reviews
183 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 908 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

This hotel was very comfortable for a weekend. To stay longer than that? You will have to dish out quite a bit of money, and I have the feeling that you can find better deals elsewhere on the island. We did not do a lot of research and all in all, we had a good stay here.
The features we liked:
Great service from the very friendly, smiling staff! They all speak good English too. The hotel is very well kept, rooms are very clean and beds are comfortable. There is hot water (some times in the afternoon you have to wait up to 6 minutes for the water to get hot, and then it comes with revenge!). Rooms are located in log bungalows, four in each and are pretty quiet except for occasional heavy footsteps on the wooden floor at night possibly from a heavy neighbor. Only two rooms were full in our bungalow, so I do not know what it will be like in full season. There are two comfortable hammocks on the terrace for the front rooms.
Features we were not too excited about:
Illuminated booths on the beach: The booth have comfortable cushioned white seats and white cloth for screening the sun out, but at night they are so brightly illuminated, that it is not conducive sitting with a glass of wine with your man/woman! You cannot dim the lights or turn them off. They come automatically on when the sun sets. There must be a good reason for this, like security, but we felt more like being filmed. I probably have not written this had I come by myself and wanted to read a book sitting there at night.
Food! It was not bad, but all other restaurants we tried on the island had better food and each dish was $2-5 cheaper. I am sure the hotel has good dishes too, but we missed those when we had dinner.
We also thought the hotel was overpriced. But the beach was nice with white sand and we felt very safe.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunnyW358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We stayed in Arenas with our children in December 2012. The hotel was very nice, our room was big and clean. There was a TV with kids programmes which was great for our kids during the rainy moments.

Although the price of the room included "continental breakfast" (a toast, jam and a coffee would not be enough for us), we always ordered breakfast from the menu.The food was very good.

The service in the hotel restaurant was good whereas the receptionists were not very competent. They could not answer any questions and always referred us to the manager. But we did not mind as everything is rather slow in the Corn Island:)

The beach in front of the hotel is beautiful, with white sand. There are enough beach beds with umbrellas and a few cabanas.

I agree with previous reviews that this hotel has a lot of potential and that the service could be better. However, it is so far the best beach hotel in the Corn Island and I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Myska74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
90 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

The room is really nice with a Caribbean style. There are two types of room: the one with a nice window and a nice amaca in front, and the other one that has an horrible view on the back of the hotel. We got the nice one luckily :)

We ate at the hotel restaurant for two nights. The food was good, but a bit pricey.

Be prepare to fight against the sand flies.. they are not always there, but when they are, they will eat you alive.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 December 2012 via mobile

Excellent all around. Most professional on the island. Highly recommend. We visited several other properties and are certain we made the right choice. See picture I posted of the beach...awesome! Restaurant is excellent as well.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marthenomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Corn Island
10.8 mi away
Little Corn Beach and Bungalow
Little Corn Beach and Bungalow
#1 of 7 in Little Corn Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
11.2 mi away
Yemaya Island Hideaway & Spa
Yemaya Island Hideaway & Spa
#2 of 7 in Little Corn Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Princesa de la Isla
La Princesa de la Isla
#3 of 7 in Big Corn Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bellavista
Hotel Bellavista
#5 of 7 in Big Corn Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
10.4 mi away
Las Palmeras Beachfront Boutique Hotel
Las Palmeras Beachfront Boutique...
#4 of 7 in Little Corn Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
10.4 mi away
Sunshine Hotel
Sunshine Hotel
#3 of 7 in Little Corn Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenas Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenas Beach Hotel

Property: Arenas Beach Hotel
Address: Southwest of Corn Island, Nicaragua (Formerly Cesar Beach Hotel)
Region: Nicaragua > Southern Atlantic Autonomous Region > Corn Islands > Big Corn Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Big Corn Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Arenas Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Arenas Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenas Beach Hotel Corn Islands, Nicaragua - Big Corn Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing