We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I Did Not Want to Leave!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Canada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Canada
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Big Corn Island
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“I Did Not Want to Leave!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

After taking a cargo boat from Bluefield,(which was supposed to take 5 Hrs., but took 12!) arriving at Casa Canada on Corn Island was a welcoming sight. We had the most wonderful 5 day stay. The staff was extremely accommodating and the young attendant, Romeo, was delightful. Daily breakfast was adequate, but we looked forward to an afternoon snack of their wings, which were delish! I was traveling with two other friends and the hotel front desk made arrangements for us to rent the car of a local for the day, which we thoroughly enjoyed so we could do things on our own including going to the beach. The sea view just outside the rooms was spectacular and the infinity pool was magnificent. I would go back in a heartbeat, but skip the cargo boat next time!

Room Tip: I believe I had Room No.7 which was an awesome location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OneLoveAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    71
    45
    9
    8
See reviews for
57
114
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
canada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

We went here due to the reviews I have read on Trip Advisor. The hotel attendant was very reluctant to show us the rooms. Seemed like we were putting her out of her office chair. I had asked about things I had read about Casa Canada on Trip Advisor and she just kept saying NO NO NO.. not on our web site.. OK then.. so the place was empty? 10:20 am and not a sole in the restaurant. No one around the pool at all. I found it strange and we left with no intention to return. Also heard from other Canadians about the unfriendliness of the staff. Nice enough place with a big price for Nicaragua. Not proud they are Canadian. Rude.

Room Tip: Beware booking on line. So many other place on Big Corn without the Big Corn Prices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rosieakalynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

My husband Eric and I stayed at Casa Canada 2/17/14 - 2/24/14 along with two other couples. We were very happy with the room, views, service, and value. There is no better on Big Corn. If I had to pick a bad thing the only thing I mean only thing I could come up with is don't get the pizza lol. It's just was not to my liking. But that's all I can think of. Great people work there and the owners thought of everything to make people's stay comfortable. Thank you for a great vacation!!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beergirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Corn Island, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

We just got back from Corn island and our stay at Casa Canada. Don and Ebony booked our puddle jumper from Managua to Corn Island. In Miami our plane had a bad tire and had to be delayed getting to Corn. I called Don and he and Ebony were able to pull some strings and buy us the extra 20 minutes we needed to make the puddle jumper flight to the island.

When we got there we were greated by Ebony who manages the place and does a damn god job of it. The night crew in the bar/food area are excellent hosts. Kenny The bartender is right on top of things and always does his best to accomodate. If you stray from the bar to the deck or pool area Elgin and "B" (Bileka) are always checking to see if you need a refill so that you don't have to get up and go get it. They all have great personalities and if you get to know them they will take and give a good friendly ribbing. The day crew is a bit more reserved but every bit as professional, as it probably should be. Since the alcohol flows more at night so should the positive outgoing personalities.

As far as the food goes. Since it's constantly talked about on here. Breakfast is fine especially the french Toast. Lunch is good if you stick with the local basic foods as is dinner. We found the best option was to go out each night and try a new place for dinner. If nothing else just to get out and see new things other than the resort. There are some fantastic places to eat on the island. Especially some of the bed and breakfasts. But if you have dinner at Casa Canada, a bed and breakfast, or any other food place. keep this in mind. Dinner here is an event. Nothing is fast when it comes to the evening meal. Everything is made from scratch. Nothing is prepped and places don't store a lot of things there like in the states. So be prepared for some things on the menu to not be available and go with the flow.

When you think you're getting the slightest bit hungry head out to eat right then. Get to the place and order then enjoy several drinks as you wait for your food. While doing this get to know the people working there as well as the other patrons. There's a ton to learn when you do this and it helped us greatly for the rest of our stay.

Room Tip: There's good and bad with every room at CAsa Canada. It's all about your preference. Examp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

This is our 6th visit to Casa Canada on Big Corn Island, and I wish we could say that things have been steadily improving, but that is not the case. I am unhappy to report that the state of the hotel has deteriorated in so many small ways, but in the big ways they cannot change, that is the ocean still crashes outside our door, and the sunrises and sunsets are still so beautiful. However, with the prices increasing slightly since our first visit, there should really be some minimal effort to improve the quality of the stay. The food is the same, unimaginative with the exact same menu as when we first came to this island. The biggest difference between now and our first stay is the staff, where there was a once very happy atmosphere, there is now a sort of dour feel to those who are working there. At one point our housekeeping didn't come by, so we had to go to the nearby pulperia and pick up some coffee, sugar and milk so that we would have morning coffee to accompany the sunrise.

The overall upkeep of the place has slipped, where our towel rack was hanging by a screw, many areas could use a coat of paint. and the hot water wasn't very reliable. It is also important to note that there were several nights where sleep was challenged by the noise from other guests in the pool.

Perhaps I'm being a little hard on the place, because it was clean and comfortable, but there is more to a stay than that. It is also comparing it to when we first found it 7 years ago.

Room Tip: If you have a room that's close to the pool, which is a few rooms, be prepared that there may be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Innomen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twin Bridges, Montana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

We stayed here for 10 days. We grandparents in one cabana/room, and our family "next door." Children were treated with great attention! Loved the service, the cleaning, food, and pool. A great place to stay.

Room Tip: Great to stay in room 20! view of iguanas, and waves right there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

such a great introduction to this beautiful island
the rooms, food, staff & service were all 5 stars
such beautiful people to accompany a beautiful place
Ms Ebony was very accomodating & helped me get a cake for my cousins birthday on the day of our arrival
Kendy the bartender & Vielka the waitress were so nice & helpful in giving us tips on where to go on the island
we wished we could stay there for longer...we just returned & are already looking to book the next trip
the food was also great...i dont know why everyone is complaining about it
there are tons of great places to eat on the island including Casa Canada

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cecilia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Corn Island
9.5 mi away
Little Corn Beach and Bungalow
Little Corn Beach and Bungalow
#1 of 7 in Little Corn Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
10.0 mi away
Yemaya Island Hideaway & Spa
Yemaya Island Hideaway & Spa
#2 of 7 in Little Corn Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
1.9 mi away
La Princesa de la Isla
La Princesa de la Isla
#3 of 7 in Big Corn Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Arenas Beach Hotel
Arenas Beach Hotel
#4 of 7 in Big Corn Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Bellavista
Hotel Bellavista
#5 of 7 in Big Corn Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
9.2 mi away
Sunshine Hotel
Sunshine Hotel
#3 of 7 in Little Corn Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Canada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Canada

Property: Casa Canada
Address: Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Southern Atlantic Autonomous Region > Corn Islands > Big Corn Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Big Corn Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Canada 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa Canada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Canada Hotel Big Corn Island
Casa Canada Big Corn Island
Casa Canada Corn Islands, Nicaragua - Big Corn Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing