We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Growing pains”
Review of Casa Canada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Canada
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Big Corn Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Casa Canada is the best hotel on Big Corn . It has a great pool . The beach is too rocky to swim , the staff could be more friendly . Bielka the waitress was great , talkative , friendly knowledgeable .
The island has not developed into a true tourist destination . The snorkeling was amazing . The reef across from Victorias has plenty of small fish on the inside, huge schools and the outside reef has bigger fish . If you are not a strong swimmer take a guide . He is at the pink house next to Victorias , I think he rents equipment . Another spot is by the Pariso has three shipwrecks and good food at the Bungalow . You can get anyplace on the island for a dollar .

Room Tip: The rooms on the pool are nice . Can get loud if the bar across the street is going or other guests...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 291 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

Amazing gem of a hotel. Wonderful cabinas.....well equipped with kingsize bed , modern leather couch/sleeper. TV , mini fridge etc. lovely furnished verandas for reading or relaxing. Beautiful infinity pool. Wifi in dining area....bar & gift shop. Great time with wonderful staff & guests.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Outstanding experience at Casa Canada on Big Corn Island, Nicaragua. What a great location overlooking the Caribbean Sea. All rooms have a view. You can hear the roar of the waves and enjoy the sea breeze. Ebony and Gena from the office took great care of us during our stay. Bartender Daniel and server Bielka did a great job serving lobster and cerveza. Merlin, the chef, created a special desert for us. Traveling to Big Corn Island was like going back in time 30 years to San Pedro (Belize) and Cozumel. Be sure to explore the local restaurants where you can get a beer for $1 and twin lobster tails for $10. I love Casa Canada and highly recommend.

Room Tip: Get a room directly in front of the infinity pool. All the rooms along the pool all have a great oce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terrybooth6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

we spent three nights at Casa Canada on the 14th March 2014. The hotel had a dream position on the sea front - what a setting ! Beautiful location compared with anywhere else on the island. The accommodation in bungalows was so very comfortable too, most of which had a brilliant position. Above all else was the attentiveness of Ebony and her colleague in the office reception who were anxious to give us the very best attention. We had the misfortune of noisy neighbours, and when this was raised to Ebony, immediately without hesitation offered another room of our choice. The only downside was the restaurant, which did not serve brilliant food, so we ate out most of the time. This was small price for us to pay however to stay in such a lovely setting. The hotel had the advantage of another business across the road who rented out small . motorbikes. The owners, Jennifer and Loell were the most charming and helpful people on the island ! A guest we met who regularly visited the island commented to us that this was indeed the best place to stay on Big Corn - totally agree !

Room Tip: The room closest to the waterfront was a fabulous position, where you could sleep to the sound of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

WOW! What a stunning location - makes you want to grab a chair and a Victoria beer and just feast your eyes on the turquoise water, the blue skies, the white fluffy clouds, and the swaying palms (which is exactly what we did on arriving). This small hotel consists of a series of cottages fronting the blue Caribbean waters looking south. The cottages have a small porch with rocking chairs, a comfortable king size bed, refrigerator, couch, chair, desk, and private bath. The rooms and grounds are kept impeccably clean. The restaurant serves delicious food - breakfast, lunch, and dinner - so we did not venture out except once (and were disappointed). The staff is friendly and helpful. It is a wonderful place to forget about the cares of the world and to return to a simpler life. We wished we could have stayed longer and can't wait to return. If you wish, the hotel will put together a package for you which includes airfare on La Costena, hotel accomodations in Managua, and, of course, your stay at Casa Canada.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank READYTOGO2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

After taking a cargo boat from Bluefield,(which was supposed to take 5 Hrs., but took 12!) arriving at Casa Canada on Corn Island was a welcoming sight. We had the most wonderful 5 day stay. The staff was extremely accommodating and the young attendant, Romeo, was delightful. Daily breakfast was adequate, but we looked forward to an afternoon snack of their wings, which were delish! I was traveling with two other friends and the hotel front desk made arrangements for us to rent the car of a local for the day, which we thoroughly enjoyed so we could do things on our own including going to the beach. The sea view just outside the rooms was spectacular and the infinity pool was magnificent. I would go back in a heartbeat, but skip the cargo boat next time!

Room Tip: I believe I had Room No.7 which was an awesome location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OneLoveAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We went here due to the reviews I have read on Trip Advisor. The hotel attendant was very reluctant to show us the rooms. Seemed like we were putting her out of her office chair. I had asked about things I had read about Casa Canada on Trip Advisor and she just kept saying NO NO NO.. not on our web site.. OK then.. so the place was empty? 10:20 am and not a sole in the restaurant. No one around the pool at all. I found it strange and we left with no intention to return. Also heard from other Canadians about the unfriendliness of the staff. Nice enough place with a big price for Nicaragua. Not proud they are Canadian. Rude.

Room Tip: Beware booking on line. So many other place on Big Corn without the Big Corn Prices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rosieakalynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Corn Island
9.2 mi away
Las Palmeras Beachfront Hotel
Las Palmeras Beachfront Hotel
#4 of 7 in Little Corn Island
79 reviews
9.5 mi away
Little Corn Beach and Bungalow
Little Corn Beach and Bungalow
#1 of 7 in Little Corn Island
497 reviews
1.9 mi away
La Princesa de la Isla
La Princesa de la Isla
#3 of 7 in Big Corn Island
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Bellavista
Hotel Bellavista
#5 of 7 in Big Corn Island
52 reviews
10.0 mi away
Yemaya Island Hideaway & Spa
Yemaya Island Hideaway & Spa
#2 of 7 in Little Corn Island
253 reviews
1.6 mi away
Arenas Beach Hotel
Arenas Beach Hotel
#2 of 7 in Big Corn Island
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Canada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Canada

Address: Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Southern Atlantic Autonomous Region > Corn Islands > Big Corn Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Big Corn Island
Price Range: £85 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Canada 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa Canada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Canada Hotel Big Corn Island
Casa Canada Big Corn Island
Casa Canada Corn Islands, Nicaragua - Big Corn Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing