We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best time!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Princesa de la Isla
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Big Corn Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We had the best time spending six nights at princesa de la isla! We felt it was a warm and family like environment with Costanza and Ale always with a smile and always so helpful with everything. The bungalow was clean and it was a great spot to relax and enjoy the calm of big corn island. If i could i would go back in a heart beat!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2013

We stayed at La Princesa de la Isla for four nights. It's located on the southern tip of Brig Bay, Waula Point. It's owned by a lovely italian family who make you feel very welcome. They make delicious Italian dinners (breakfast too), so even if you don't stay here definitely book a dinner with them. The accommodations are very rustic but comfortable. If you don't like rustic you should stay at Casa Canada.  La Princesa is a beautiful location and a short walk to Picnic and Arenas beaches.  We enjoyed our stay - it was very relaxing. But be warned that it is surrounded by "slums" as another reviewer pointed out. You can't walk around at night and you will need to take a taxi. One north coast local taxi driver told us that he will never pick up any locals in that area because it is not safe to do so.

Here is my overall review of Big Corn:

If you are looking for a very relaxing stay, with a lazy pace of activity and plenty of sunshine, the sound of ocean waves breaking on the shore, and plenty of book reading, this is the place for you.  The island is beautiful and and it feels like there are no tourists, which is nice.  Picnic Beach and Arenas Beach are very picturesque and excellent for swimming, sun bathing, and grabbing an ice cold cerveza with fresh ceviche. The north coast is very pretty with palm tree lined beaches and good spots for snorkeling.  There seemed to be more tourists there and the locals are friendlier.

It is worth noting that the people of this island are extremely poor and the tourism infrastructure isn't here yet. There are very few restaurants on the island with the exception of the hotels. There is nothing to do nightlife wise. There is Nico's where the locals hang out, but the locals are not friendly so you may not want to go there necessarily. Depends on your comfort level. There is nothing in Brig Bay town except the panga to Little Corn (a must do). We stayed on Big Corn for four nights total, which was enough time. In hindsight we would have rather stayed on Little Corn: better vibe, more tourists, more of an atmosphere overall.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kelnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2013

La Princesa is the most lovely, civilized, romantic spot you can find anywhere. Less than 10 guests. The Italian hospitality and gourmet dinners, wine and camaraderie are unmatched.
Two generations who lived their prior lives in Rome own and manage it as their own home. They are so nice. The place is laid-back and beautiful. Walking distance to the best spots on the island or a 75-cent taxi to anywhere. If you're looking for quiet without glitz, check it out. I will go back for sure!!

Room Tip: There are private bungalows and three lodge-type rooms for less $. Each has its advantages. Go see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fitvtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

A friend and I stayed at this secluded hotel for six nights. The property is located on the far side of the island in a more remote area. The rooms are rustic, spotelss clean and very spacious. Each room faces the sea and each night you can sleep listening to the surf. Our bedroom door was barely 30 feet from the water. The rooms have either a private porch or a shared veranda where you can sit and relax in front of the sea, otherwise there are recliners strategically located in front of the water. The best beach in the island, Picnic Beach is 15 minutes walk away where there are three eating establishments.

Our hosts were most gracious and accomodated all our needs. Alessandro and Costanza run the restaurant where they serve breakfast and dinner. The breakfast cappuccino is the best I have had this side of the Atlantic. Dinner typically consists of a first course of pasta and a second course of fish, shrimp or locally harvested lobster (in season) absolutely fresh and artfully prepared. Every night a different preparation showcasing the local produtcs. All followed by a dessert prepared by Catarina and a small shot of local rum. Absolutely delicious! Costanza´s service is impeccable.

This is a place to relax, do very little and let go of the stress of life. Highly recommended!

We came for a vacation and left with new friends.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Corina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

We had an excellent time here. The owners were very nice and everything is a short walk. We checked out Little Corn Island for the day (awesome). We went to picnic beach which is a can't miss. We will be back some day. Thanks for everything.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chadphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

I love staying here, the rooms are large and clean, and I love the shower with the water coming from the conch shell. I love the sound of the waves and the view. I was worried about staying here because I love air conditioning, but the breeze made it comfortable to sleep at night. Picnic beach is a short walk with chairs, umbrella's and cabana's to enjoy.
Alessandro is a wonderful cook and Costanza is always smiling. Alessandro cooked something special for us every night and it was just amazing. Alessandro cut down a coconut everyday so I could have coconut water with my rum drink, it was so good. Alessandro & Costanza are the absolute best hosts you could want to be around. They make everything wonderful. Costanza helped set up a snorkeling tour for us with Dorsey Campbell and he only charged us $20 each to take us thru the coral reef and back. We saw so many fish and an eagle ray.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good and basically the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ecoastgail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

I agree that the Italian family owners are out of this world hospitable, and that the accommodations are clean and basic. I have to be honest, however. Princesa is basically surrounded by a "slum. " If you go here you have to be the kind of traveler who is not bothered by living it up while immediately surrounded by desparately poor people. If you can't handle this dichotomy, don't go here. Also, if you are the kind of traveler who wants to actually "do" something while traveling, I do not reccommend Big Corn. We arrived and were so very warmly welcomed by the owners. We asked what we could do during our short stay, and were told, "nothing." There is nothing to do here other than hang out on the beach in some intense sun and heat. If this does not describe the kind of vacation you are looking for, then skip Big Corn. The snorkeling and diving is better on Little Corn, there are more varied dining options, you can hike around the island and within it, and it is safer. Though bigger than Little Corn, there is actually less to do on Big Corn. We asked about going hiking on Big Corn and were told it was not a good idea and there are basically no trails. We could not walk to town at night to eat because the owners told us it was not safe. When we did walk around the Island, my daughter practically got run over by a car who was deliberately trying to scare her. And we almost got attacked by a dog walking on the beach from Princesa. Also, while the artisitc flair of Princesa is fantastic, the general grounds are fairly shabby. There are debri piles all about. The incredible Italian food was so salty we could not eat our $18 dollar meal. Lunch is $18 and dinner is $22. (more than double what you pay elsewhere). The only reason we ate there was because otherwise you have to take a cab to and from your meal elsewhere. I hate to submit this review because the family is so wonderful, friendly, accommodating, and open their entire home to you. But I wish I knew this before arriving. And we were not the only dissapointed guests. We shared notes with another family staying there who felt the reviews on TripAdvisor had misled them.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank burgluroonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Corn Island
10.2 mi away
Las Palmeras Beachfront Hotel
Las Palmeras Beachfront Hotel
#4 of 7 in Little Corn Island
79 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bellavista
Hotel Bellavista
#5 of 7 in Big Corn Island
52 reviews
10.6 mi away
Little Corn Beach and Bungalow
Little Corn Beach and Bungalow
#1 of 7 in Little Corn Island
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Yemaya Island Hideaway & Spa
Yemaya Island Hideaway & Spa
#2 of 7 in Little Corn Island
253 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arenas Beach Hotel
Arenas Beach Hotel
#2 of 7 in Big Corn Island
230 reviews
10.2 mi away
Sunshine Hotel
Sunshine Hotel
#3 of 7 in Little Corn Island
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Princesa de la Isla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Princesa de la Isla

Address: Woula Point, 9340394, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Southern Atlantic Autonomous Region > Corn Islands > Big Corn Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Big Corn Island
Price Range: £44 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Princesa de la Isla is located in one of the most picturesque point of the Big Corn island and it includes wooden bungalows and three rooms made with coral, stones and wood.All the accommodations have private bathroom, matrimonial bed (queen size)with its mosquito net, fan and porch with chairs (bungalows have a private porch).They are just ten steps to the shore and they are all ocean view and they overlook on a garden with palms and hammocks.The restaurant serves authentic italian cuisine with a list of italianwines and in the bar you can enjoy real italian coffee and cappuccino. People who are not guests of the hotel can enjoy our restaurant and barreserving a lunch or a dinner just in front of the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Princesa de la Isla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Princesa De La Isla Corn Islands, Nicaragua - Big Corn Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing