We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Princesa de la Isla
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Big Corn Island
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“very nice place”
Reviewed 20 April 2009

La Princesa is really charming place. Room was basic, but you cannot beat the location! It is a bit remote, and Alessandro can always arrange car for your needs. Alessandro and Catarina great hosts. Food was fantastic! Missing them already and hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qwerty09876xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    39
    9
    2
    3
See reviews for
25
78
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2008

the owners are super nice and friendly....so helpful and accommodating. the italian food they cook is out of this world! but you have to order several hours in advance. it was so good we ate there every night...the service is awesome and we were able to really relax.
the only thing that wasn't so great is the rooms have a little deferred maintenance.....our roof leaked a little......
and there's no hot water and lots of mosquitoes....they've got mosquito coils and nets on the bed...but bring your bug spray!
and the nearby beaches more litter than i expected which could easily be taken care of with a daily clean up....
but the food made it worth it all! and if you go fishing they'll even cook up your catch for you!

  • Liked — the food
  • Disliked — it was inconvenient to get to after dark....only a few taxis can handle the dirt road
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank yehsharona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2008

Whatever one might quibble about needs to be placed against a few major points: 1) They have the BEST FOOD I ate in Nicaragua: incredible fish, just-caught barracuda ceviche, homemade fettucine, etc...2) (Well, this should really be #1) They have a CORAL REEF right in front; you can wake up at 6 AM and jump in with your snorkel and fins and rock out. 3) Costanza is the sweetest hostess, and will do everything possible to make you feel at home. Drawbacks? Mosquitos. But I'm sure this would be the same anywhere on the island, and they do have netting and coils here. But I still have to mention them, because they never bothered me in either Belize or Costa Rica, or elsewhere in Nicaragua. So you might want to keep that in mind. The grounds are a fanciful combination of an Italian aesthetic confronting this unique island dream. I loved all of the crazy little details: piles of dried - out white sand dollars, primitive paintings, the stone bathroom, etc. And I loved how Costanza kept referring to the "matrimonial bed" in her description of my room. Well...not this time. But I wouldn't marry ANYONE who wouldn't appreciate this place and this island!

  • Liked — EVERYTHING...except the following
  • Disliked — mosquitoes
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank colonyantman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gardendale, Alabama
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2008

We spent two nights at La Princesa. Costanza was a very gracious hostess who willingly answered all of our questions and arranged for transportation from the airport and around the island for us. While we were there, we had running cold water and electricity the entire time. The showers, rooms, and other faciliities are very complementary to the island environment. Linens and mosquito nets are provided. The beds were firm, the rooms were clean, and the food was delicious. Be sure to give them several hours notice if you plan to eat dinner there so that they can prepare. There is Internet access available at the hotel. Although La Princesa is walking distance to town and 3 beaches (in addition to the one in front of the property), it is still a very quiet and relaxing environment.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank AlaGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles Ca
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2008

La Princesa is a beautiful, warm and welcoming retreat by the sea. Alesandro and his lovely wife have provided for a fully peacefull location built of natural materials and providing only the sounds of nature. The ocean breeze blows through the well appointed bungalows, lulling you to sleep safe from the mosquitos. The food is fantastic. Truely the best Italian cooking We've had outside of Italy...ok...we've never been to Italy but the food was better than any of the many Italian restaurants we enjoy in New York, Los Angels, Tokyo, Hong Kong, and San Francisco.

And they make a fine capuccino in the morning!

This is a truely magical spot. A place to wash away your cares and worries and relax with a good book, scratch a sweet puppy or two, take a dip in the warm waters, and give a big sigh of relief. Bliss. Peter and Alexandra will definitly be returning again and again.

  • Liked — The warm and welcoming atmosphere, and the beatutifully appointed bungalows
  • Disliked — Access is a little tricky...but it's just a drive down a dirt road and a walk accross a beach...not so bad.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anrubins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2008

We stayed in the lovely rustic rooms at the
end of our trip in Nicaragua. The sound of the
waves as I slept beneath the lovely mosquito net
was fantastic and so peaceful. I will never forget it.
The shower is made of shell and stone with the
warm water dispensed from a shell above your head.
The Italian couple that own this place in paradise
are so kind and helpful. Don't miss having at least
one dinner at this lovely spot. It was absolutely
excellent.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank zoey55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2008

Outstanding location on its own spit of land south of Big Corn Island's main town, the Princesa is a real get-away-from-it-all place. Very quiet, beach and hammocks right outside your room, the perfect place to gaze into the sunet and remind yourself why you travel. The Italian owner is very helpful and accomodating and will often prepare the meals himself. The rooms are variable, however, and do not think in terms of luxury. Our room could have used some brightening up, and the front porch was still under construction, while other rooms are located in newer, free-standing and raised wood cabins. Electricty 24 hours but the shower was cold water only. Also, no on-site internet service.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — darkish room and cold water
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank peterwhite12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Corn Island
10.6 mi away
Little Corn Beach and Bungalow
Little Corn Beach and Bungalow
#1 of 7 in Little Corn Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
10.9 mi away
Yemaya Island Hideaway & Spa
Yemaya Island Hideaway & Spa
#2 of 7 in Little Corn Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bellavista
Hotel Bellavista
#5 of 7 in Big Corn Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Arenas Beach Hotel
Arenas Beach Hotel
#4 of 7 in Big Corn Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
10.2 mi away
Las Palmeras Beachfront Boutique Hotel
Las Palmeras Beachfront Boutique...
#4 of 7 in Little Corn Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
10.2 mi away
Sunshine Hotel
Sunshine Hotel
#3 of 7 in Little Corn Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Princesa de la Isla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Princesa de la Isla

Property: La Princesa de la Isla
Address: Woula Point, 9340394 , Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Southern Atlantic Autonomous Region > Corn Islands > Big Corn Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Big Corn Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Princesa de la Isla is located in one of the most picturesque point of the Big Corn island and it includes wooden bungalows and three rooms made with coral, stones and wood.All the accommodations have private bathroom, matrimonial bed (queen size)with its mosquito net, fan and porch with chairs (bungalows have a private porch).They are just ten steps to the shore and they are all ocean view and they overlook on a garden with palms and hammocks.The restaurant serves authentic italian cuisine with a list of italianwines and in the bar you can enjoy real italian coffee and cappuccino. People who are not guests of the hotel can enjoy our restaurant and barreserving a lunch or a dinner just in front of the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your La Princesa de la Isla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Princesa De La Isla Corn Islands, Nicaragua - Big Corn Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing