We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantstic beach location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Little Corn Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Carlito's Sunrise Paradise
London
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“fantstic beach location”
Reviewed 21 April 2013

On arrival we wee met by a guy that helped with our luggage, which was nice. The location is right by the beach, which is fantastic. On this side of the island there's always a nice breeze, so its never too warm in the cabins and we slept well. The cabins are nice and the bathroom fine too. unfortunately no door between room and bathroom. Nice place but could be managed a lot better - hardly any of the staff speak english and don't seem overly encouraged. The one bed in our cabana was broken but of course nobody checked on it even after mentioning it to the staff. Food is more expensive than elsewhere and we never ate there apart form some breakfast. Other side of island is better for food. Nice stay and would have liked to stay longer.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mohnblumenblatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    42
    27
    6
    4
See reviews for
9
52
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Davis, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Carlito's offers basic accomodations at a reasonable price. The beach is beautiful, and there are numerous restaurants in short walking distance. The snorkeling boat picked us up just steps from our cabin. Carlito's is a quiet spot, which we appreciated (although no one would call Little Corn Island a party kind of place). We spoke with Carlito himself to make the reservation. The cabin he promised was not available when we arrived, but the subsitute was acceptable and the rate was less than originally quoted. We had a two "room" cabin with 4 beds (one double and one single in each room). Beds were reasonable comfortable and had good mosquito nets. Not recommended for anyone who requires privacy--the bathroom 'door' is a shower curtain that blows in the breeze. There's no hot water and infrequent electricity. When we arrived, there was one towel for 4 of us, and none were available until the second day of our stay. Carlitos is one step above camping, but it is far from luxurious. As long as your expectations are modest, you'll enjoy staying here. One of us on this trip had been to Little Corn before, and reports that Carlitos is not as nice as other properties, but still the same price. I'll also say that I was told that English is the dominant language on Little Corn, but no staff I talked with at Carlitos spoke a word of it.

Room Tip: Some cabins are not right on the beach, although everything is quite close to the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seepipe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Carlito's was our first accommodations during a month long visit to Nicaragua. From start to finish our experience was fantastic.

Our casita was just a few feet from the water and well equipped with a comfortable bed with a mosquito net and bathroom facilities. The casita's are not fancy but they are ideal for the surroundings. On Little Corn you don't need fancy accommodations, the sea is there for daily rinses and the breeze is all you need for comfortable sleeping.

The beach at Carlito's is the best on the island, it is also kept clean and raked every day. While there are a lot of options for food on the island, make sure you eat at Carlito's, the fried chicken is amazing. Also next door, Grace's has a great seafood barbecue.

While there too, don't miss visiting Leo for a massage. The best massage we've ever had!

Carlito's is great value for seaside accommodations that are locally owned and operated.

It is important to recognize that Little Corn has a delicate ecosystem, its aquifer provides the island's fresh water and it is replenished when it rains. Be conscious of your water consumption. If you are looking for hot showers and luxury this may not be the vacation spot for you.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julienne_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bourne, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I was able to spend 3 nights here thanks to Brandon at Fly Fish Little Corn Islands. I got the 40$ a night room, 2 double beds, private bath and shower, fan, and broom to clean out the sand... This place is close to nature...close to the waves, close to the birds, close to the fish, close to the quick short rain storms that fly in over the carribean at night...close to the beer cooler

Simple and basic...but thats why you want to come here... dont expect things... adapt to the situation and learn the island and people... a nice chat with carlito is a nice way to learn about the island

PS order off the menu...the kitchen girls get confused easily...whats sushi?

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank capeChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jerónimo, Masaya, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

I thought I had made a reservation with Carlitos - we emailed two weeks prior to my arrival twice, then two days before my arrival we emailed back and forth three times about the room - thought this meant I had confirmed my reservation, but when we got there we were told they had lost the reservation.

Other than that, the place is beautiful. The cabins are the nicest on the beach and its a little farther down from the chaos of the other places.

I definitely love staying here, but it can be difficult to book!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013 via mobile

We probably got the best cabin, located less than 10 meters from the sea. Nice, spacious and with a good mosquito net. Not that we needed one as the wind kept the mosquitos away.
A 15 minute walk from the village along the beach and a paved path, but there were plenty of options for food around at this side of the island.
We didn't see much of the staff but when we had questions they were helpful.
Carlito's property felt less cramped than neighbouring Graces and Elsas but for more money there are definitely wider spaced options on the island.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MX-ontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Spring Island, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2012

We stayed at Carlitos for 6 nights the cabins were clean and riht great neeting to keep the bugs at bay and actually we hardly saw any the nice breeze off the water was great. Two steps from our cabin was the beach! The the littles resturant was handy the staff were very friendly. The island is quite and easy to get around walk the island in one hour . Carlito also had nice hammocks in the shade very comfortable.
We really enjoyed ourselves and you can't beat the price!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mahoog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Corn Island
0.4 mi away
Little Corn Beach and Bungalow
Little Corn Beach and Bungalow
#1 of 7 in Little Corn Island
484 reviews
0.4 mi away
Las Palmeras Beachfront Boutique Hotel
Las Palmeras Beachfront Boutique...
#4 of 7 in Little Corn Island
66 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunshine Hotel
Sunshine Hotel
#3 of 7 in Little Corn Island
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Yemaya Island Hideaway & Spa
Yemaya Island Hideaway & Spa
#2 of 7 in Little Corn Island
240 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Los Delfines
Hotel Los Delfines
#5 of 7 in Little Corn Island
114 reviews
10.4 mi away
Arenas Beach Hotel
Arenas Beach Hotel
#4 of 7 in Big Corn Island
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlito's Sunrise Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlito's Sunrise Paradise

Property: Carlito's Sunrise Paradise
Address: Little Corn Island, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Southern Atlantic Autonomous Region > Corn Islands > Little Corn Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Little Corn Island
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Carlito`s Sunrise Paradise Hotel Little Corn Island
Carlito's Sunrise Paradise Little Corn Island, Corn Islands, Nicaragua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing