We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All about the Location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Little Corn Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Carlito's Sunrise Paradise
Reviewed 11 September 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Carlito's in February during a 5 week trip through Central America. This place is ALL ABOUT LOCATION. Honestly, it was amazing. The Island is divided basically into 2 sides, with Carlito's being on the more secluded, beachy, windy side. During the day, all you have to do is walk out of your bungalow and you are on the beach, sharing it with maybe a few others. A couple days we had the beach to ourselves for most of the day. Doens't get much better than that. If you are into diving or want to go to restaurants or the busier other side, its an easy, safe 15 minute beautiful walk. Even at night we felt completely safe walking to dinner on the other side. Bring a flashlight though, there is no light. There is a restaurant at Carlito's which is pretty good, a little pricey. There are also a couple others, but the really yummy ones were one the other side. The bungalows are ok. They have tin roofs, which kept us up a lot at night because of rain or wind, but I felt it added to the experience of where we were. If you need certain amenities (normal bathroom, constant electricity), this is not your place. They are nothing glamorous but again, it's about the location and the price are pretty good.

Room Tip: Try to get beach front, if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geagag4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2013

We had a really pleasant stay here in early July 2013. We were a bit apprehensive about staying here because we were coming to Little Corn to splash out a bit for my birthday and there were some mixed reviews about the place but it ended up to be perfect! They were really quick with emailing us back and confirming our reservation. We we quoted $20 or $25 a night (I can't quite remember) for a bungalow with shared bathroom which was a good deal for Little Corn (as everything is a tad more expensive than mainland nicaragua). A guy from the place met us at the boat and took our bags in a wheel barrow which was a nice touch. Our bungalow was right on the water - however, it could get a little cramped in the high season I could imagine as some of the other bungalows are quite near each other. The room was basic but all you need on the beach. Open windows to let the breeze in at night - this is also the breezy side of the island which means cooler at night and less mosquitos! - a comfy bed and a mosquito net which works. It is so nice waking up to the beach every day and relaxing in the hammock on the balcony of the bungalow. The bathroom was also all you need at the beach - toilet that worked and good pressure cold shower. I think this is also a really good location. We walked down the beach to LCBB for a nice lobster dinner for my birthday. I would totally advise saving on the price of the room there (which are really overpriced) and staying here and walking down the beach if you want a nice meal or some wine / cocktails etc. You could also go next door to Grace's which was a little more social and party-y which is a good option too. Perfect to be in the middle. And of course it is an easy walk to the other side of the island too for everything else. There has been some complaints about the service. To be honest we really didn't see any of the staff that much but they were generally friendly and this suited us just fine as we aren't that fussy and wanted a quiet beach holiday. All-in-all perfect for what we wanted and a low key relaxing stay on the beach.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heidiledwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed 5 instead of 6 nights at this place. To begin, the location is just wonderful. It's right on the beach. Second, the food is the best. Really really good.

However: our roof had a leak and during the rain season you can imagine how that feels (sleeping with poncho). Also the toilet didn't work. The rooms don't get cleaned during your stay. And apparently there's a rat problem (we didn't see any), but the hosts gave us rat poison to put in our room. When we wanted to change cabins the service was really bad. We haven't seen Carlito once, two young girls were in charge and they don't speak English and just don't know how to manage a hotel. After a lot of compaining we changed cabins and eventually had a nice stay. But with the storms and rain it sometimes feels like the cabin will blow away.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beatzzzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

This is the perfect place if you want to stay right on the beach (a stone's throw from the water), to stay on one of the cleanest and nicest beaches on the island, to have breeze mollify the heat, be within walking distance from the amenities of the village and other restaurants, have privacy and quiet, and adept more to island life and conditions than other places. This being said, if you need pristine cleanliness, 24 hour electricity, a staff that pampers your first world whims, and fancy furniture then this is not the place for you. I feel like Carlitos captures and preserves the spirit of the island...a close integration with the beach in a stress-free low maintenance envrironment. Many Americans and Europeans come to places such as little corn with their First World sentimentalities-- stress, need for everything to work/function always, constant access to the internet or a glowing screen of some sort, people to cater to their needs...if this is what appeals to you then there are alot of places on the island that you can stay at (Litte Corn B/B, Farm Peace Love). But if you want to feel the island for what it is and help to preserve the stress free, low maintenance rustic lifestyle of the island then stay at Carlitos. I stayed there for 9 days and found it to be absolutely perfect in every way. So the hotel ran out of drinking water...just walk next door and refill your bottle. So termites built a nest in my bed...get a new sheet. There are fancy places to cater to First Worlders all over the world. Carlitos is special because it caters to the island (I sound like John Locke from Lost)...I will be back, many times again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ForrestnOdin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

The good:
The casita I had was right on the beach.
Towel and clean bedding
This island is expensive for what you get. Carlitos is the only place that is on the east side of the island that charges less the $45 a day without being in a hovel.
Although the staff are not up to standards set by others in the area, they none the less are kind and try to help.

The Bad:
It is rustic enough that is could see the beach beneath the casita because of 1 1/2 " gaps between the boards.
Ask for bottled water. Not! They will give you someone else's used empty bottle and fill it up with filtered water. Don't use me to recycle your products.
Kitchen/restaurant did not look clean. I did not eat there so I can not tell you one way or the other if it was "good" or "bad."

Room Tip: Spring for a casita on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SingleNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

The best and most important part about Carlito's is that it's right on the beach. It was such a privilege and a delight to be able to wake up each morning and be only metres from the waters edge, a privilege usually reserved for the very rich! Carlito's had hammocks and deck chairs and each cabana has a terrific shady deck to appreciate the views from. The grounds are well kept and if you book ahead you will be met on the dock by a man with a wheelbarrow who takes your bags to Carlito's which is a really nice touch. While mozzies can be a problem on the island Carlito's had an excellent bed net which was completely inpenitrable for bugs! The other great thing about it is it has a good generator which means Carlito's often has power when nearby places don't.

Sadly it's cleanliness and value for money which lets this place down. We paid $50 a night for a room with a kitchen. Unfortunately the kitchen wasn't usable. There were mouse droppings all over it, dirty dishes left in the sink and on the benches and no cleaning products. Honestly we didn't need a kitchen anyway (food on the island is awesome - although we didn't eat at Carlito's) but felt we certainly weren't getting what we paid for.There were also dead bugs everywhere. I understand thats just a part of Central America but its easier to accpt when youre paying $20 a night not $50. A shower curtain acts as the bathroom door, which could be awkward if sharing the cabin with a few people.

Give Carlito's a go, but be aware that on the island you can pay a bit less to get similar accommodation or a little more for much better.

Room Tip: Don't get a room with a kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

On arrival we wee met by a guy that helped with our luggage, which was nice. The location is right by the beach, which is fantastic. On this side of the island there's always a nice breeze, so its never too warm in the cabins and we slept well. The cabins are nice and the bathroom fine too. unfortunately no door between room and bathroom. Nice place but could be managed a lot better - hardly any of the staff speak english and don't seem overly encouraged. The one bed in our cabana was broken but of course nobody checked on it even after mentioning it to the staff. Food is more expensive than elsewhere and we never ate there apart form some breakfast. Other side of island is better for food. Nice stay and would have liked to stay longer.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mohnblumenblatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Corn Island
0.4 mi away
Las Palmeras Beachfront Hotel
Las Palmeras Beachfront Hotel
#4 of 7 in Little Corn Island
84 reviews
0.4 mi away
Little Corn Beach and Bungalow
Little Corn Beach and Bungalow
#1 of 7 in Little Corn Island
497 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunshine Hotel
Sunshine Hotel
#3 of 7 in Little Corn Island
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Yemaya Island Hideaway & Spa
Yemaya Island Hideaway & Spa
#2 of 7 in Little Corn Island
253 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Los Delfines
Hotel Los Delfines
#5 of 7 in Little Corn Island
114 reviews
10.4 mi away
Arenas Beach Hotel
Arenas Beach Hotel
#3 of 7 in Big Corn Island
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlito's Sunrise Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlito's Sunrise Paradise

Address: Little Corn Island, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Southern Atlantic Autonomous Region > Corn Islands > Little Corn Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Little Corn Island
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Carlito`s Sunrise Paradise Hotel Little Corn Island
Carlito's Sunrise Paradise Little Corn Island, Corn Islands, Nicaragua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing