We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“heaven” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Little Corn Beach and Bungalow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Little Corn Beach and Bungalow
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

staying here was truly one of the best vacations ever. incredible food, amazing service, outstanding hosts and unbelievable location. the value is extraordinary too. counting down the days until i can go back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissKittyColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    384
    58
    8
    5
    7
See reviews for
73
266
29
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

We stayed at LCBB in fall of 2010 and it was by far the best few days of our trip in Nicaragua. The small cottages just steps from the quiet and beautiful beach are what this place is all about. The food at Turned Turtle is very good, although food and drinks here are a bit pricey - but it does take a lot to have a restaurant on this type of remote island. The resort is very clean and well manicured with eco-friendly foot washers so you don't track sand in your cabana, nicely placed hammocks, and of course the cool ocean breeze and sound of the waves from your bedroom. The island is amazing and I hope it keeps its remote charm as it likely gains popularity.

I do recommend keeping track of your tab closely as well as bringing cash. Also, fans stop working in the middle of the night due to the electricity schedule on the island so it can get muggy but if you open your windows you are typically fine.

Our absolute highlight was the local pup with an underbite, MySon, visiting us every day and exploring with us. We also ended up meeting some really great friends hanging out on Little Corn.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JAYME M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
noplansnoreserve, Manager at Little Corn Beach and Bungalow, responded to this review, 1 January 2012
Thank you Jayme for the kind words about LCBB. We have implemented changes big and small to our little resort based on the generous feedback from our guests.

Having occasionaly heard the "pricey" comments in the past we are trying to address this sentiment.

Keeping in mind that the type of food we serve at the Turned Turtle is not available on the island and either needs to be flown in or ordered 10 days in advance, we have made some changes to make things more affordable.

Our breakfast menu now starts as low as $3.50, lunch as low as $4.5 and our generously portioned four course dinners start as low as $9.00.

For guests that want to spend the majority of their time with us we have implemented our Dining and Activity package which experience is showing us is allowing around a 10% discount overall (depending on the guest of course) for those that choose this package.

So you know Jayme, My Son is doing great. Although, he now occasionaly does battle with a bee or something and his little face swells up like a puffer fish!

Hope to see you back on LCI.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managua, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

Just back from a fantastic weekend away at LCBB. After living and working in Nicaragua for over 6 months, I can confidently say this is one of the best places to stay in the entire country - the staff is warm and welcoming with an abundance of useful information, the food is the best I've had in the country (all served out of the wonderful turned turtle restaurant) and it is fairly priced considering what you get (4 course meals at dinner!) - from coconut crusted french toast at breakfast to delicious lobster or the best filet mignon I've had in years for dinner. The porker and fish tacos at lunch are truly fantastic as well.

The rooms are great - we stayed in Crusoe, which had two beds, a super clean bathroom (which is refreshing after traveling much of Latin America) and a great view of the ocean (which is literally just out the front door). Friends we met while staying at LCBB were just next door in one of the newer bungalows (Gulliver I think). They had a great setup with a bit more space in the main area and a loft with a bed upstairs - they also had great views of the ocean.

Any of the staff can help organize a trip snorkeling or spear fishing or you can take out the kayaks - there is tons to do or you can just sit in one of the many hammocks to catch some sun, sip on one of their delicious pina coladas or read a book.

We only had time to get away from work in Managua for two nights, but definitely plan to return sometime next year to enjoy some more time at LCBB.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kmmmdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

We recently spent the end of our Nicaragua vacation at LCBB, and it was a very relaxing way to end the trip. If you go to Little Corn and aren't a scuba diver, plan to spend a lot of time lazing away in a hammock reading a good book, and eating a lot of lobster. LCBB was the perfect spot to do this and after walking around the island a bit, it became clear that their beaches are the best kept beaches on the island, and that counts for a lot. When you go, know that there won't be power 24/7 and that there's no AC, but if you're OK with that, it's a wonderful place to visit. It's absolutely beautiful and the food is great too.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NYCtheWorld714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2011

The service there is unbelievable.. the employees are cheerful, mellow, never overbearing, always happy to help. The owners from Colorado are awesome, really accommodating. Our La Costena flight was pushed back a day (side note-- La Costena's quality has dropped since I was on Little Corn in 2008.. I highly recommend leaving a good sized time-buffer on both ways of the flight). They let us push our reservation back by a day, though we had to spend our last night in a Crusoe-level bungalow because the Gulliver we had was booked for someone else (that was totally fine with us, we were just glad they didn't charge us extra). The Gulliver bungalow is great! There are fans in the room, a mini fridge (it works when there's electricity on the island), a loft area, an inside table, and a good sized veranda. The main con to the Crusoe is that even though it's 20USD less, there are no fans inside! We had to sleep with the door open. If you let them know ahead of time, they can send someone to meet you at the panga with a wheelbarrow to transport your luggage during the 20-min walk on the trail (which gets really muddy and slippery when it rains).

Turned Turtle has great prices by American standards, but a little pricey by local standards. Their filet mignon, lobster tails and shrimp are all AMAZING, costs about 16-19USD for that plus an appetizer (usually chips/salsa), a salad and dessert. You MUST MUST MUST try their pina coladas and margaritas (6USD each).

There were lots of different types of travelers here during our stay. Solo backpackers on an extended trip, middle aged couples, Nicaraguans from the mainland, solo or paired female travelers, etc.

When we were there, we met a couple that were in the middle of packing up their things from a resort in Granada and transitioning to managing LCBB (I think to help out Scott & Christine). The wife Amanda is American and has traveled all over the world, very good natured and hilarious. Her Portuguese husband is more mellow, but also very friendly.

Room Tip: go for the gulliver or master suite gulliver
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leisurelif3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

We had no idea where we were going to stay when we got of the panga. Scot came up to us and asked if we wanted to come see Little Corn Beach and Bungalow, no pressure. After a quick 10 minute walk we arrived on the other side of the island. We knew we were staying immediately. Me and my friend are in college, but luckily they had a bunkhouse bungalow open, and we split it with a nice British guy we met on the panga.

Everything about this place is great. Great food and drinks at the restaurant, snorkeling gear, super comfortable hammocks, and they'll set you up with whatever you need. They know tons of great stuff to do on the island and can help you set it up. I also love the fact that they are really trying (and succeeding) at being as eco-conscious as possible. Hopefully I can make my way back to Little Corn Island again soon (I need my Flor de Caña fix), and I know exactly where I'll be staying!

Make sure to do some snorkeling or diving (charter someone to take you out the the good reefs), the water is so clear! I never got a chance to fish, but I hear it's amazing. Try the lobster while you are here too!

Room Tip: If you are on a budget, the bunkhouse bungalows are great, and they are probably only 20 feet farthe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ohsnapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

Loved the room, loved the restaurant, loved the location on the island, loved the staff, loved the owner's attention to detail. A must place to stay if you go to Little Corn Island!!!!!!!! If you want to get away to a quiet, beautiful place with your very own private white sand beach, this is it. You will love it too!
Scot and Kristine- Bravo!

Room Tip: The front cabins with an ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MelM641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Corn Island
10.8 mi away
Yemaya Island Hideaway & Spa
Yemaya Island Hideaway & Spa
#2 of 7 in Little Corn Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
10.3 mi away
Hotel Bellavista
Hotel Bellavista
#4 of 7 in Big Corn Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
10.6 mi away
La Princesa de la Isla
La Princesa de la Isla
#3 of 7 in Big Corn Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Arenas Beach Hotel
Arenas Beach Hotel
#5 of 7 in Big Corn Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Los Delfines
Hotel Los Delfines
#6 of 7 in Little Corn Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Morgan
Hotel Morgan
#7 of 7 in Big Corn Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Corn Beach and Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Corn Beach and Bungalow

Property: Little Corn Beach and Bungalow
Address: Cocal Beach, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Southern Atlantic Autonomous Region > Corn Islands > Little Corn Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Little Corn Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Little Corn Beach and Bungalow 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Both Little Corn Beach and Bungalow (LCBB) and Little Corn Island were recently listed in the New York Times #1 Best Selling Travel book, "1000 Places to See Before You Die". Recently, the Travel and Leisure website listed LCBB as 1 of 27 "Best Affordable Island Hotels" in the world. Come and join us on this beautiful remote tropical island. Experience an extraordinarily scenic and unique Caribbean world while stepping back in time. We offer relative comfort while respecting the islands delicate eco system. No cars, motorcycles, golf carts or airport disguise the fact that it is relatively easy to find this paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Little Corn Beach and Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Corn Beach And Bungalow Hotel Little Corn Island
Little Corn Beach And Bungalow Little Corn Island, Corn Islands, Nicaragua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing