We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best option on Little Corn, but it ain't cheap”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Little Corn Beach and Bungalow
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Melbourne
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best option on Little Corn, but it ain't cheap”
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Really liked this place. From the first person we met (Bobby?) to the amiable guests, it had a very nice feel.

The food is excellent.

The rooms are great.

The location is good, with a nice beach but it's a 15 min walk to the main bars/restaurants.

I work in travel and stay in a LOT of places and these guys certainly have their act together.

It's a little pricey but there you go - you get what you pay for I guess. It's all relative.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldwidewroey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
noplansnoreserve, Manager at Little Corn Beach and Bungalow, responded to this review, 26 August 2012
We want to thank "worldwidewroey" for his generous praise of our little hotel. We have passed on his kind comments to "Bobby" and the rest of our hard working staff.

We realize that "cheap" is a relative term so we thought we might share with everyone where our prices are so that you can decide "cheaps" personal relevance for you.

Our cabin prices start at $30us. Breakfast prices $2.99, lunch $4.00 and our generous 4 course dinners that include appetizer, soup or salad, veggies with the main course and dessert start at only $9. Our food while relatively "cheap" typically gets very good reviews from patrons and guests (witness this reviewers comments about our food).

Relative for us is that all of our food, beverages, cabin conveniences and comforts are either brought all the way from Managua via truck, boat and a one week journey, or our imported by us direct from the United States which entails a 2 to 3 month process and a ton of import taxes and shipping costs.

We hope this information sheds a little light on what things actually cost at our hotel and on Little Corn in general so that you can decide for yourself the relevance of "cheap".

Safe travels to all!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    405
    59
    8
    5
    7
See reviews for
75
277
31
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galena, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We spent ten days at LCBB in July 2012 to celebrate our 20th anniversary and had a wonderful time.

THE GROUNDS: The bungalows are on a white sand beach, very close to the water, and tucked under trees including palms with coconuts and other leafy varieties that provide some protection from the sun. All of the sand on the property is kept extremely clean and well-groomed--tended daily. The place is really pretty. There are plenty of comfortable hammocks, seats, and covered tables where you can relax and have food or a drink. Going swimming is a pleasure. When you walk into the water it gets gradually deeper and the sand is clean with very few weeds.

THE BUNGALOWS: The bungalows are close together, but they are staggered so you don't feel crowded. We stayed in the largest style bungalow which has a king-sized bed and a loft with another bed, that we didn't use. The bungalows are extremely clean and very attractive. They each have large french doors at the entryway which we kept open most of the time to let in the breeze. The bathroom was large and comfortable with a nice open shower. The floor of the bungalow was made of large wooden planks that had a space between them so you could see the sand below. I really liked that. The three windows have some sort of wire over them so that no one can come through. They also can be closed completely if it is raining.

THE RESTAURANT: We had elected to take the Dining and Activity package so ate a lot of meals at the Turned Turtle Restaurant. It is a small place in the center of the 7 or so bungalows they have. It has 5 tables in the immediate area or you can eat at tables on the beach. The food was fantastic with very generous portions. The menu has a lot of choices for each meal. At the end of our ten day stay some of the appetizers, salads and desserts were feeling a bit repetitive as they seem to have three choices that they cycle through. All were very good, though. We tried all of their fancier drinks and really enjoyed them, especially the pina colada. We also drank a lot of fruit juices since they were included in our dining package. They were canned but very tasty.

THE SERVICE: The restaurant/bar also serves as command central so we would go there to get beach towels, ask a question, and check in or out. The staff was always friendly and helpful. We spoke several times with the owners, who were also warm and welcoming.

I had done a lot of research on the island and this resort and read all the warnings about the primitive nature of the place and had some concerns going in.

WOULD I BE TOSSING AND TURNING ALL NIGHT WITH NO A/C? This turned out to be a complete non-issue. The east side of the island has a constant breeze--more like a stiff wind the whole time we were there--and inside and out of the bungalow was perfect, temperature-wise. We slept with the windows open and a fan on and never felt too warm. However, if you leave the east side of the island and venture into the jungle or to the village side of the island, that breeze disappears and the humidity sets in.

I WILL BE EATEN ALIVE BY BUGS! Again a non-issue.The bed has mosquito netting over it and we were careful about keeping it tucked in, but it seemed like it wouldn't have mattered if it wasn't there. During our ten days in the cabin we saw little in the way of bug-life. There was a tiny spider in the bathroom one day. Another day, there was a very large beetle thing walking up toward the ceiling and then it disappeared. If a bit of food was left on the table, it would soon be swarming with teeny little speck-like bugs. They also seemed to be attracted to the bathroom sink. They were more interesting than gross. We also saw a couple of lizard things in the room, but they were cute. Walking through the jungle there were more mosquitoes but even there they weren't that bad. There were biting ants that got on my feet if I stood too long in the wrong spot in sandles. Also in the jungle there were some really big spiders that I could have done without seeing.

THERE IS NO ELECTRICITY DURING THE DAY AND THAT WILL BE A PAIN! Not an issue.We charged up whatever needed charging during the night. Didn't need any lights during the day. There were no issues with spotty electricity when we were there.

THE INTERNET AT LCBB MIGHT BE SPOTTY MAKING IT REALLY HARD TO CHECK IN WITH MY CHILDREN. This turned out to be a huge problem as there was no internet at LCBB while we were there--some problem with their provider. Internet was something we had really been counting on, even if it is was slow and spotty--and not having it was a big disappointment, but not the end of the world. It meant we had to walk to the village and spend money at a different restaurant and use their internet.

It is clear that the folks at LCBB are trying to provide an extremely high level of service, comfort and cleanliness in a very challenging setting. In our opinion, they are succeeding. We felt pampered and cared for during our stay and definitely recommend LCBB. Hope to return soon!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tracy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2012

The view (and location) are certainly worth the trek. The bungalow - which was right on the beach - was spacious and clean. The staff was extremely friendly and attentive. And the food was decent, considering the nearest supplies are a boat ride away at Big Corn.

If you're looking to enjoy a good book, spend some alone time with whoever you make it out with, all while having an incredible view. I really recommend LCBB. Otherwise, there's not much to do on the island aside from diving and some (deep water) snorkeling.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank au30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Couldn't have asked for a more perfect 10 days. Great place, beautiful location, attentive staff, and overall friendly environment. I definitely recommend the 'dining and activity' package - ended up being a really good deal (>$100). We just got home and are already planning our next trip to LCBB!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JanL582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salmon Arm, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

LCBB is beautiful, no doubt about it.

We were there for a friends wedding on big corn and our party took up the whole place. They were great at accommodating everyone and the spot is spectacular! Actually the entire island is spectacular! Rooms are nicely laid out and it was great to have a resort of this standing as an option. Food is top notch and same with service, the gals who work in the restaurant always serve you with a smile which makes the experience just that much better. Yes power goes out every now and then, it adds to the experience in my opinion. Also found that a/c was not needed at all!

Little Corn is a pretty amazing island, glad to have experienced it!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aroundtheworld181773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We stayed at LCBB this July, and for us it seemed to be the best choice on the island when it came to accommodation, however a bit pricy. The place is really nice set out with lots of palms, hammocks, chairs etc, and the bungalows are nice.

With regards to the bungalows, we were satisfied with the standard, but ours were really dark both at daytime and in the evening. Would have preferred better lighting. Neither did we get any of the promised hot water (did not complain though, as it is not a huge problem, especially as you are recommended to take quick showers to preserve the fresh water), and the WIFI was not working for the 5 days we stayed (worked fine on the other side of the island).

The food at the restaurant was really great and the staff wonderful. Considering the reastaurant's location we found the prices reasonable. In particular we loved the 4 course dinners with changing apitizers, desserts etc., and found the selection and quality of main courses to be good.

My biggest "dissapointment" with this place was the beach by LCBB, it is nice, but to narrow to find a good, comfortable spot to sunbathe. Also, unless you are really comfortable with the dark (walking through the forrest) and bugs it is not really an option to have dinner anywhere else, as LCBB is not close to any other places.

LCBB is a great place, where you can really relax, eat great food, and get a taste of the caribbean, however if you want lots of action, lots of eating options, the perfect beach and access to WIFI (can be down for months) and cellphone (did not have a signal), this (and may be Little Corn at all) is not the place for you!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank samo82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
noplansnoreserve, Manager at Little Corn Beach and Bungalow, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at LCBB. We appreciate your kind comments about our staff, our tasty food and our hotel.

We are listening too to the feedback in regard to the cabins and their lighting. We have recently added reading lights to all the cabins (including this one) and because of this reviewers insight are adding "polycarbonate" sky lights to the cabin they stayed in and the one next door. These cabins are nicely shaded by a canopy of almond tree branches. Makes it cool during the day but a bit dark. The addition of the skylights and the additional lighting should help solve this problem.

We surely wish this kind guest had let us know about their shower. If we tell our guest we have it, we want to do all we can to keep our promise. There are two issues with the hot showers here. The first is that they are instant on "electric" shower heads. Without electricity you will only get an ambient air tempurature shower. LCI only has electricity from around 2pm to about 4am. So if these guest tried to shower outside of that time range they would not have had hot showers.

The other potential problem is that the salt air from the sea breeze eroded their heating element and caused it to not function. We have replacement parts and would have immedeately taken care of this problem had we been made aware of it.

While Cocal Beach where we are located has been rated by some as one of the best in the Caribbean, there are constantly changing dynamics that can minimize the size of the actual beach in front of our hotel. Things like high tides, high breezes, shifting sands or a combination of any or all. To counter these somewhat rare occurences we do have beach cleaned twice per day that is steps from the sea.

We are actively seeking internet service alternatives so that we can resume offering free wi-fi throughout our resort. We feel like we are on the verge of solving this little problem.

Safe travels to all and we hope to see you on LCI.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, Va
Level Contributor
97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

In April 2012 I traveled to Little Corn Island with my wife and our 11 year old daughter... after much debate we decided on LCBB for our lodging, maybe our best decision during this trip...
We slept well, ate well and drank well.
LCBB is on the windward side of the island a 10 minute walk away from main resturants and tiny town, it is on a perfect carribean blue, picture perfect beach that offered gentle winds everyday we were there.
The lodging was great, mattress comfortable and the fan and bed netting working properly making each night completly restful. We stayed in the Wilson cabin and our daughter used the loft bedroom, she loved it.
The Turned Turtle resturant was good, the drinks the best on the island and the beer was cold, and all this just steps away from the beach. We had 1 or 2 meals at the Turned Turtle everyday but always found good food whenever we ate someplace else on the island.
The staff was friendly and helpful and always had an answer to any questions we had.
Scott and his wife were perfect host, providing us with a beautiful place with many comforts while never invading our space. We loved it so much we stayed a couple extra days.
My advise is simple, if you read their website and the tropical island disclaimer they have and and still feel this is the place for you.... you can not go wrong.
It is what they claim it to be...A island getaway, a place with no cars or roads and island where the jungle meets the ocean.....
For us, we will return to Little Corn Island and our nights will be spent at Little Corn Beach and Bungalow

Room Tip: We had the Wilson, Great for a family.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amosapparel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Corn Island
1.1 mi away
Yemaya Island Hideaway & Spa
Yemaya Island Hideaway & Spa
#2 of 7 in Little Corn Island
240 reviews
0.5 mi away
Las Palmeras Beachfront Boutique Hotel
Las Palmeras Beachfront Boutique...
#4 of 7 in Little Corn Island
66 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunshine Hotel
Sunshine Hotel
#3 of 7 in Little Corn Island
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Arenas Beach Hotel
Arenas Beach Hotel
#4 of 7 in Big Corn Island
221 reviews
10.6 mi away
La Princesa de la Isla
La Princesa de la Isla
#3 of 7 in Big Corn Island
155 reviews
10.3 mi away
Hotel Bellavista
Hotel Bellavista
#5 of 7 in Big Corn Island
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Corn Beach and Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Corn Beach and Bungalow

Property: Little Corn Beach and Bungalow
Address: | Cocal Beach, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Southern Atlantic Autonomous Region > Corn Islands > Little Corn Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Little Corn Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Little Corn Beach and Bungalow 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Both Little Corn Beach and Bungalow (LCBB) and Little Corn Island were recently listed in the New York Times #1 Best Selling Travel book, "1000 Places to See Before You Die." Recently, the Travel and Leisure website listed LCBB as 1 of 27 "Best Affordable Island Hotels" in the world. Come and join us on this beautiful remote tropical island. Experience an extraordinarily scenic and unique Caribbean world while stepping back in time. We offer relative comfort while respecting the island's delicate eco system. No cars, motorcycles, golf carts or airport disguise the fact that it is relatively easy to find this paradise. Come and see Little Corn Island before it becomes just another Caribbean island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Little Corn Beach and Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Corn Beach And Bungalow Hotel Little Corn Island
Little Corn Beach And Bungalow Little Corn Island, Corn Islands, Nicaragua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing