We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall a great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Little Corn Beach and Bungalow
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed here 5 nights and overall I would highly recommend it. The prices are a bit higher, but it is worth it. The cabin was beautiful. The location is a bit out of the way, but not too much trouble to walk into town. The food is one of the highlights...excellent dinners with lots of food. Be sure to use the lock boxes available in the room, we did have $100 stolen by one of the cleaners out of a wallet...but partially our fault for not locking it up (though it was stashed in a zipped up suitcase). The owners handled it very well though and we have no complaints overall.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NateVan111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
noplansnoreserve, General Manager at Little Corn Beach and Bungalow, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

We are very glad your overall experience was satisfying. We are sorry about the loss from your room. Even though over the 5 years we have been open we have had very little (2 instances including this one) theft from inside cabins we still provide in cabin lock boxes and recommend at check in and in our in cabin information guide that the boxes be utilized. We do clearly state that we are not responsible for lost or stolen items but we did happily help mitigate the loss for our valued guest. It is unfortunate that the possibility of one of our trusted employees violating that trust deterred from what sounds like an overall great experience. Again, please accept our apology and we hope to see you again on LCI.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (497)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 497 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

The atmosphere is great because you get to experience the Caribbean life from dusk to dawn. You literally live on the beach in a fancy yet cozy bungalow. The owners are very responsive and helpful. The food in their restaurant is awesome. You couldn't ask for more. Thank you.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dagmara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
noplansnoreserve, General Manager at Little Corn Beach and Bungalow, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Visiting Little Corn Island is like stepping back in time to the 1950's in the Caribbean. We are so glad that you enjoyed LCBB, the food and our staff. The owners live and work "right here" and participate daily in the running of LCBB. Thank you for sharing your experience here with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This is by far the best place to stay on the island, but you better make reservation as it is booked out 6 months and for good reason. Well appointed cabins, coffee delivered to your bungalow at 6:30AM and the best breakfast on the island. We stayed at a couple other places on the island and they are all very basic but this place is a step above and for just a few bucks more don't waste your time anywhere else. Great setting lots of shade and they can set up reliable activities and guides. Nice chairs, hammocks & seating areas, perfect beach and swimming. These owners care and they are on site to make sure you are taken care of. I read a review that said don't go anywhere else, but I did to save a few bucks, big mistake. This place will make a big difference in your vacation, ENJOY!

Room Tip: All rooms are good just depends on how big you need and how many beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
noplansnoreserve, General Manager at Little Corn Beach and Bungalow, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you for your generous review! Our team really enjoys being such a good part of our guests holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We had a great time staying here. We spent a long time deciding where to stay and contacted quite a few places before making our decision. We stayed for 5 nights here and then at Derek's place for 2 nights. It was really nice to get the mix of the 2 very different places. Little Corn B&B is very nicely done with lots of options for chilling out in the shade in hammocks and nice chairs (which several of the places further along the beach don't have very much of) and the stretch of beach is gorgeous (although there are better and more isolated beaches at the north of the island). The rooms are lovely, spacious and nicely put together, with comfortable beds, nice bathroom and a seating area outside looking out to sea. We were very glad to be on this side of the island too as we were there at the hottest time of year, and over the other side of the island the heat is stifling, so the breeze here is really appreciated. The food is excellent - if anything we found there was a little too much of it and we ended up feeling far too full a lot of the time, so even though it offered the best value for meals a few times we went to other places just to eat a bit less! Their Pina Coladas have to be tried! The service was first rate and really made this place. The only possible negative comment I would say is it is the only place we stayed in Nicaragua which charged for water. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keith_A72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
noplansnoreserve, General Manager at Little Corn Beach and Bungalow, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for the wonderful comments about Little Corn Beach and Bungalow (LCBB), The Turned Turtle Restaurant and our hard working all Nicaraguan staff.

We are sorry that you were not made aware of all your options in regard to potable water here at LCBB. Our staff during your brief introduction should have and our in cabin information guide does describe how our unique "Water Bottle Refill" program works.

Our hotel guests that don't desire to drink purified water can get all of the free village water they desire by asking for it in the restaurant/bar. For those that are more concerned about the quality of water they consume, we offer the "Water Bottle Refill" program.

Here is how it works.

Most purified water on the island and elsewhere is served in individual serving sized plastic bottles at meal time or larger 2 liter plastic bottles for daily consumption. We are not aware of any businesses on LCI that give those purified water bottles away at no charge. The typical charge on the island for the 12oz. bottle is about $1 and for the 2 liter it is around $2.

After the consumer drinks the water a plastic bottle is left behind in the form of trash and the island has to some how deal with it. The plastic water bottles left behind might be called the "gifts that keep on giving" and not in a very fun, Christmas morning sort of way :)

Using our program, a dining or hotel guest can ask for purified water at a meal and a 12oz glass of purified water is provided at the cost of 25 cents (about a 1/4 of the cost of a 12oz. bottle). For anyone on the island that desires purified water to drink daily, they can bring any container to our restaurant and receive a 2 liter refill of purified water for only a $1 (about 1/2 the price of buying a new bottle of purified water).

Our refill program "saves the traveler some cash and the island some trash". As a matter of fact, when MIT (Massachusetts Institute of Technology) team was here on the island trying to help mitigate the problem of properly disposing of trash they found that the number one cause of plastic bottle trash on LCI was water bottles.

When the surveyed LCBB's trash they found that there were 70% less water bottles in our trash then they had found at other island businesses they had surveyed. They were impressed that our modest little program had made such a difference. They want to use our model as an example for use in other communities.

More good news too about our "water bottle refill" program. ALL proceeds from the program (the money the guests spends on purified water) are reinvested here in the community in one of our many island projects. These projects range from our free animal treatment and surgery clinics to weekly beach clean up and shipping of trash to mainland landfills for proper disposal to construction of the island reading house.

In sum, while we may have been the only place in our nice guests travels that charged for purified water that was not in a plastic bottle, we were actually saving them some money (if they preferred purified water) and helping the community with the proceeds.

Thank you for allowing us the time to explain our program and if you are on the island and need some purified water at a low cost both economically and environmentally be sure to drop by as often as you would like to "fill 'er up". Safe travels, LCBB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Please don't ever come here! The location is terribly perfect, the grounds are horribly beautiful, and the people are awfully wonderful. We just wanted it for ourselves, so my suggestion is to never come here and just leave it for us! Wife and I came down from the never ending winter of Colorado and spent 6 days on LCI at LCBBB and the experience was without a doubt the best Caribbean island vacation we have ever had. We came for the diving, but honestly we could have just enjoyed all that Little Corn Beach & Bungalow had to offer. Diving into their hammocks and enjoying their Turned Turtle restaurant would have been great enough. The folks running the joint and all of the staff were just genuinely good-natured souls and they left my wife and I wanting to continue our friendship with each and every person there. The perfection of Beach & Bungalow relies in the simplicity that they offer their guests; just pure, honest relaxation. That simplicity comes at a great cost I'm sure to the folks operating the place considering that you are on a very remote island with limited resources on hand, but make no mistake they have created a little slice of heaven. The rooms, food, drinks, and people were all exceptional. If you need to de-tune from the rat race, book a cabana and let the good times roll. Beach & Bungalow does not disappoint.

Room Tip: Pricier bungalows nearer to the beach offer the best breezes; we didn't need the fans. We staye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheMadMotoCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
noplansnoreserve, General Manager at Little Corn Beach and Bungalow, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

We love the way this review was written, super clever :)
Our goal at LCBB, from yard maintenance guys to our cabin cleaning gals is to somehow put together the best possible experience for our guests. We are so glad all of their hard work pays off! Please come see us again as we are continuously trying to improve the experience for our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

This place was one of my favorite beach vacations anywhere in the world….It is all about the details that the owners work so hard at achieving. This place was immaculate, I even saw the staff washing the shells used as decoration. The staff even combs the sand to perfection around the resort every day, I have never seen this anywhere!! Every detail is PEFECT and beautifully executed in a tasteful, creative and eco way…I don't want to go on and on because I will never be able to get back in, as the world will want to come. Yet, I need to compliment the friendliest staff, they were always smiling and trying to please, in fact when I wanted Coconut water, is was offered that someone would climb the tree to retrieve it for me, NOW THAT IS SERVICE and with A BIG SMILE…and THE FOOD was so FANTASTIC, one meal better than the next. I was there for 5 nights and only ate dinner off site one night just to venture out, it was the BEST on the island and there was a variety to choose from, all yummy. AND the BEST FISH TACOS on the island, as I ate them at 3 different places….AND this side of the island is the coolest, as the breeze really helps...

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melissa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
noplansnoreserve, General Manager at Little Corn Beach and Bungalow, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Probably the biggest challenge we face (this might go for every restaurant on the island) is serving consistently delicious food. Sometimes it seems that everything is stacked against that happening. No power, supply problems, staffing issues, on and on, etc. etc.. So when we get it right, we are very excited about it!
Thank you so much for giving our Turned Turtle Restaurant a try and for keep coming back. We are so glad you stayed and dined with us. Please hurry back to LCI!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The rooms are spectacular, and the food and drinks are the best I've ever had. You can walk 10 minutes down the beach and find some of the best secluded beaches in the world. Amazing overall experience

Room Tip: Closer to the beach are cooler
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DenverTravelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
noplansnoreserve, General Manager at Little Corn Beach and Bungalow, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

We are glad you loved it! Our RADDeal (semi all inclusive, Room, Activities, Drinks, Dining deal) just got better too! Cabin discounts and more value added. Thank you for the nice review. LCBB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Corn Island
1.1 mi away
Yemaya Island Hideaway & Spa
Yemaya Island Hideaway & Spa
#2 of 7 in Little Corn Island
253 reviews
0.5 mi away
Las Palmeras Beachfront Hotel
Las Palmeras Beachfront Hotel
#4 of 7 in Little Corn Island
79 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunshine Hotel
Sunshine Hotel
#3 of 7 in Little Corn Island
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Hotel Bellavista
Hotel Bellavista
#5 of 7 in Big Corn Island
52 reviews
10.8 mi away
Arenas Beach Hotel
Arenas Beach Hotel
#2 of 7 in Big Corn Island
230 reviews
10.6 mi away
La Princesa de la Isla
La Princesa de la Isla
#3 of 7 in Big Corn Island
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Corn Beach and Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Corn Beach and Bungalow

Address: | Cocal Beach, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Southern Atlantic Autonomous Region > Corn Islands > Little Corn Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Little Corn Island
Price Range: £84 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Little Corn Beach and Bungalow 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Both Little Corn Beach and Bungalow (LCBB) and Little Corn Island were recently listed in the New York Times #1 Best Selling Travel book, "1000 Places to See Before You Die." Recently, the Travel and Leisure website listed LCBB as 1 of 27 "Best Affordable Island Hotels" in the world. Come and join us on this beautiful remote tropical island. Experience an extraordinarily scenic and unique Caribbean world while stepping back in time. We offer relative comfort while respecting the island's delicate eco system. No cars, motorcycles, golf carts or airport disguise the fact that it is relatively easy to find this paradise. Come and see Little Corn Island before it becomes just another Caribbean island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Little Corn Beach and Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Corn Beach And Bungalow Hotel Little Corn Island
Little Corn Beach And Bungalow Little Corn Island, Corn Islands, Nicaragua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing