We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wicked stay didn't wanna leave”
Review of 3 Brothers

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Little Corn Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
3 Brothers
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wicked stay didn't wanna leave”
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here, 4 of us then 6. It was top notch. Randy the owner is a lovely jolly geezer with much advice and generosity. Great big kitchen and eating area, close to the coconut bread and fresh fish that you can buy and cook yourself. Seek out the bread and fish, it's close.

The room was lovely, clean sheets and towels whenever you want, lovely free drinkable water.

Close to everything but in a nice quiet setting.

Really enjoyed our time on Little Corn and at Tree Brothers.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Joeyknows1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    24
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
1
13
13
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Well ok, it's not just right at the beach.
But it's clean, cheap ($5USD pp for a room we shared with 4 friends) and has a good kitchen! The owner is super nice, we had a very nice week there.

The only thing is that there is no electricity from 6 am to midday, which means that it gets really hot in the rooms in the morning, because the fans don't work any more.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

We were three people sharing a room for $20 (if you stay for a while, normal is $25) which we thought was a good island price. The room was large enough and even had two rocking chairs. We had in-suite shower (with great water pressure) and a toilet. The only thing we wished for is that our room would have been cleaned once during our week stay and our trash taken out.

The hostel has a kitchen, which was our main factor booking this place. It's hard to find a hostel with the kitchen on the island. Cleanliness of the kitchen is great, every morning they would thoroughly clean it. In general the common areas were clean. Also 3 brothers have a weld, which will totally safe to drink and will save you lots of money.

Best thing about 3 brothers? The family! They are so helpful and awesome, hearts of good and joy. They really care about guests having good time and make you feel like part of the family.

So, if you have been traveling for a while and feel a bit homesick - go to 3 brothers and become part of the family! Save money by cooking your own meals and drinking weld water - great backpacker deal.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rejsefugl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night at three brothers as our place of choice was booked.
Upon arrival Randy showed us our small room but didn't show us the kitchen or mentioned that they had a well with potable water but was happy to sell us water from his shop.
Beds were concrete blocks with sorry excuses for mattresses on them. My side had virtually no springs whereas my girlfriend was poked in her back all the time.
As all over the village the hostel was frequented by mosquitos due to the lack of wind.
Happy to leave for Carlito's the next day :-)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MX-ontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
119 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

I arrived in Little Corn after a rather traumatic and stormy boat ride. I was exhausted and flustered and saw a sign pointing to 3 brothers - a hostel I remembered being recommended by other travelers. I made the 3 minute walk down the sidewalk (there are no cars on Little corn) from the lively part of the island and was greeted by the very friendly owner.

The hostel is clean, has an outdoor patio, indoor dining area, and I believe the only communal kitchen on the island (food is not cheap in little corn), in a pretty convienant location (perfect for, if anything, catching the 6:30 AM boat back to Big Corn)

This along with The Cool Spot is the type of place that's friendly for solo travelers-- cheap single rooms and environment condusive to meeting other people.

My first night I stayed in a clean & comfortable private room with a very nice bathroom for $12 (originally $15, but kindly lowered when I expressed concern about prices) My next 3 night nights were in a private with shard bathroom for $10. This is on par with the cheapest prices on both Big and Little Corn. But the kitchen makes 3 brothers the easiest way to stay on budget while visiting a place with no cash machines. I nearly left to seek out a place closer to the sea-- but found that nowhere else displayed a better value for the money. Pretty much anywhere on Little Corn is within a short walk to the beach anyway.

Also worth mentioning- all dive shops offer a 5% discount for guests at 3 Brothers.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lwjubeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leon, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

This is a family-run hostel with clean rooms and a very helpful couple that do everything they can to make you feel at home. They have rooms with our without private bath, we paid 15 dollars for a room with two beds, a small porch and private bath. It was clean and well equipped but with no air coming through so it was a bit dark and hot. There is a shared kitchen, a big dining hall and hammocks. Two minutes from the beach.
The hotel is in the village which is god, that means you don't have to hike through pitch-black jungle in the evening after dinner. Also you meet nice people because all the backpackers stay here.

Room Tip: They have lots of rooms, ask to see a couple before you decide. One even has private kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emballage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medellin, Colombia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Best budget spot on the island! Incredibly friendly and helpful owners, Randy and Lucilla, who made me feel at home immediately. Very safe spot with a kitchen(difficult to find on the island) and clean rooms with fans. Loved my stay here, highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Little Corn Island hotels
0.0 mi away
Las Palmeras Beachfront Boutique Hotel
Las Palmeras Beachfront Boutique...
#4 of 7 in Little Corn Island
66 reviews
0.0 mi away
Little Corn Beach and Bungalow
Little Corn Beach and Bungalow
#1 of 7 in Little Corn Island
484 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sunshine Hotel
Sunshine Hotel
#3 of 7 in Little Corn Island
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Yemaya Island Hideaway & Spa
Yemaya Island Hideaway & Spa
#2 of 7 in Little Corn Island
240 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Los Delfines
Hotel Los Delfines
#5 of 7 in Little Corn Island
114 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ensuenos
Ensuenos
#3 of 11 in Little Corn Island
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 3 Brothers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 3 Brothers

Property: 3 Brothers
Address: Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Southern Atlantic Autonomous Region > Corn Islands > Little Corn Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Little Corn Island
Also Known As:
3 Brothers Little Corn Island, Corn Islands, Nicaragua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing