We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious local fare”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Desideri

Cafe Desideri
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Central American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, View, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Delicious local fare”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We came here four times during our stay on the island. Each dish incorporates local ingredients and is very flavorful. It's a pleasure to sit on the porch, feel the breeze, and take in the ocean.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Meredith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    80
    15
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food and location, a little pricey.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

We ate here twice on our last trip to little corn, the food is delicious and the location is so convenient, right on the main strip of the island. While this isn't exactly typical Nicaraguan fare, it can be a welcome change if you've been doing a bit of central american travel. It was nice to have some vegetarian options, which isn't something you find too frequently on the island- and my vegetarian husband was very grateful for. He ordered the chickpea burger, and loved it so much that he ordered the same thing the next day! I drank several fresh passion fruit (also called callala) juices and just loved them. While the food wasn't inexpensive, we liked it enough to go back- and that I would definitely recommend it for anyone travelling to little corn.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jenclearbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanwood, Washington
Level Contributor
85 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“eat where the locals eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Good Nica food and bargained priced!
On the main strip by the dock set back a bit, ENJOY!
The trail next to this goes to the other side of the island

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
121 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“If Music Be The Food Of Love, Play On”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

To sit and watch the idyllic aquamarine waters whilst eating a beautiful tortilla pizza washed down with a French Coffee press and listening to Nina Simone turns the best of days into an even better experience as the sun sets off to the right and Coffee turns to Tona or Victoria Beer.

I would recommend coming to Desideri and meeting Coconut the puppy and kicking back doing some emails and chatting to the staff. A superb location and a cafe bar run with attention to detail, a smile and an ever friendly approach.

Surely on of the top 4 places on the island to eat, drink and be merry at.

Mai Lynn & Umberto the owners are always on hand to chill and chat to about island life and where is best to go.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lazyblueskies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beach front perfection.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

I am not sure if the place could possibly get any better. We recently had our wedding on the island and held our reception at Cafe Desideri’s. Words cannot express how happy we were with the food, staff, decor, and the thought staff put into this very special night. The owner, Mai-Lynn knows how to host a good party and has an incredible eye for detail. We had visited Cafe Desideri on a previous trip to Little Corn and admired this setting, and knew that they would do a great job on making the night perfect. We are still hearing stories form our guests how much they enjoyed the food and atmosphere here! The service was spectacular and the food was absolutely delicious. Our guests were in shock when they tasted the goods Mai-Lynn and her staff cooked up and are still raving about the food!
After the wedding, we came in often for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and again our meals were always excellent. Perfection. We also admired how Cafe Desidiri supports the local community by hosting a number of events to donate to locals causes.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Desideri also viewed

 
Little Corn Island, Corn Islands
Little Corn Island, Corn Islands
 

Been to Cafe Desideri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing