We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Corn Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Yemaya Island Hideaway & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Little Corn Honeymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We got some funny looks when we told people were were going to Little Corn Island for our honeymoon, but I am happy to say we really knocked it out of the park with that decision. Quite a trek to get there as we had to spend a night in Managua in order to catch the early morning flight to Big Corn, and then the cab ride and panga to Little Corn was pretty wild. The boat from Yemaya was waiting for us at the dock and whisked us away to the north side of the island. Someone was there on the beach to greet us, take our luggage and give us a rundown of the property- what a welcome.
The bungalows are spacious and stylish. Huge beds. A tropical garden in the shower. A good sized day bed. Deck feels completely private. The restaurant/reception building is right in the middle of the resort. The view from the giant open windows in there is a stunner. The buildings blend in naturally right into the jungle and beach surroundings. Very impressive.
Even more impressive is the property itself. I could not stop taking pictures. Most beautiful beach and water I've ever seen. Although the resort was probably full the week we were there, you have so much space to yourself it is ridiculous. In fact, almost every beach pic I took does not have one person in it! Hammocks all over the place- spent a lot of time in those. The snorkeling is pretty nice off the beach, but you really have to go out with a snorkeling tour to see some pristine reef.
The staff seems much improved from some of the earlier reviews of this place. They are such a sweet and friendly group- we were on first name basis with just about all of them. We enjoyed every meal- the fish tacos for lunch and the pad thai at dinner were the biggest standouts for me, although it was all excellent. The beach bar is quite a hotspot for happy hour.
I do suggest taking the 20-30 minute walk to check out the village and some of the restaurants. If you're a little weary of the walk, don't be- the locals can look pretty serious, but make eye contact and say hello and their faces light up. Very nice people. The journey at night was quite an adventure- don't forget a flashlight.
This place seems like a well kept secret but trust me it will blow up soon. I will definitely be back!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Will C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia B, Manager at Yemaya Island Hideaway & Spa, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Hi Will!

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review! We are so honored that you chose Yemaya for your honeymoon! We all enjoyed getting to know you and your beautiful wife. It is so nice to read how you enjoyed every aspect that makes Yemaya and Little Corn so special! We hope you are able to visit us again soon!

All the best,

Julia & Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    18
    8
    5
    0
See reviews for
43
101
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We really enjoyed 4 nights at Yemaya as part of our getaway during spring break. We've travelled to several Central American countries and Yemaya/Little Corn is among the top places to visit. The resort is pristine and in an awesome location. Yoga, snorkeling and diving were great. Dining and juice bar were very good. Every meal was diverse and enjoyed even by our young teenagers. Service was excellent.

Room Tip: all the rooms are on the water/beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WaltDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia B, Manager at Yemaya Island Hideaway & Spa, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Walt,

We appreciate you taking time to write a review! We really enjoyed having you and your family stay with us! It was so wonderful to hear that you found it to be one of the top places to visit out of your Central American tour. We were thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed the food and found the service to be excellent! Glad you enjoyed the yoga, snorkeling and diving too-those are some of the most fun activities on the island! We hope you are able to return and see us again soon!

All the best,

Julia, Michael & the Yemaya Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranbrook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

We spent 4 nights here after a few days in Granada. The cabins are all virtually on the beach, large and very comfortable with verandas over looking the ocean. The beach is beautifully groomed each day.The communal facilities are good and the staff very helpful and friendly but the service can be a little haphazard and slow. (50 minutes for an omelette to appear one day and bar service is slow). It has recently opened and staff training is clearly an issue. It takes about 30 minutes to walk on the jungle path to the local village which has a lot of life and one or two good restaurants, particularly the Cuban one as you arrive in the village. The path is difficult at night though even with a torch as it is without any lighting at all. Unfortunately the regular chef wasn't there so although the food quality was excellent, the replacement chef had a very limited (mainly Thai) repertoire which was very repetitive. Diner was relatively expensive given the very limited choice of only 2 starters or mains (around $135 for two with wine). This will be a perfect place once the young American managers get a grip of the staff issues. We wish them luck!

Room Tip: Cabin 6 is ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterJ H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia B, Manager at Yemaya Island Hideaway & Spa, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Peter,

Thank you so much for your feedback! We were happy to read how much you enjoyed your cabaña, the beach and the communal areas. We were also very happy to hear that you found our staff to be very helpful and friendly. We are very proud of our local staff and the way that they have all grown and developed over the past six months since our opening. We are committed to hiring people from the island, so that as Yemaya succeeds, the island and its people will flourish with it. It is our desire to share the spirit and culture of the island with all of our guests, so that you leave with a genuine experience, not something manufactured. We hope you and Gillian are able to visit us again in the future!

Warm Regards,

Julia & Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
211 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We finished off our 3 week holiday with a relaxing 4 night stop at Yemaya. Have to admit I didn't enjoy the boat trip from Big Corn much but it was worth it to stay on this paradise island. We were picked up from the jetty on Little Corn and taken by boat to the hotel. All the rooms are virtually on the beach which is cleared of sea weed every morning. Sea is very clear and you can borrow snorkels etc. free of charge from the beachside bar. Our room was large with great shower. Only complaint was that there is no hair dryer anywhere so I had bad hair days every day! Food was excellent and the staff friendly and helpful.
Hotel is about 20 minute walk from the village and it's worth making the effort and seeing how this small island population live and work. We spent a memorable Sunday watching the local baseball teams play with the locals!
I loved this hotel and would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GillyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia B, Manager at Yemaya Island Hideaway & Spa, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Gillian,

Thank you so much for recommending Yemaya to your fellow travelers! We loved getting to know you and Peter and were so happy to hear how much you loved Yemaya and Little Corn. I promise if you come back, I will have a hair dryer for you. ;) Hope to see you again soon!

All the best,

Julia & Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Yemaya is a beautiful hideaway that brings luxury to its guests in a way that does not contrast with the simple tranquility of Little Corn Island. The cabañas are enclosed, but beautifully depict the surrounding landscape so you feel as though you were sleeping on the beach. There is no A/C but the ceiling fans are very powerful and the temperature was comfortable throughout all hours of the day and night. The free yoga classes in the studio within the jungle were a fantastic way to start the morning. The food was great, particularly the wide-variety of smoothies. Lunch and dinner are a tad expensive though, so I'd recommend venturing off into town to try some of the other great places nearby.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia B, Manager at Yemaya Island Hideaway & Spa, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Hannah,

We were so happy to hear how much you enjoyed the luxury and simplicity that is Yemaya! It's so great to hear how much you enjoyed the food, smoothies, the yoga and the cabañas. We really enjoyed having you stay with us and hope you can visit again soon!

All the best,

Julia, Michael and the Yemaya Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

A dream come true! My husband and I visited LCI about 2 years ago and fell in love on the island which is absolutely paradise. Ever since, we dreamed about returning and getting married on the island. When we heard about Yemaya opening, our dream became a reality and we began planning with Julia and Michael. They were beyond helpful, generous and fun when it came to the planning and the event. Our wedding was beyond magical and we had four days at the resort with 34 guest, all of which went without a flaw. They coordinated boats, dinners, brunch, snorkel tour, music, yoga, everything we needed! For the ceremony and reception they coordinated to have an amazing band, Carribean Taste, play, made us an alter, bouquet, cocktails, EVERYTHING you could ever ask for. I could go on for hours with all the beautiful ideas and ways they helped to make our dream wedding! The resort is so perfect, the rooms are beautiful, the beach and reef is breathtaking..... We couldn't have asked for anything to go better. The staff is so helpful, kind and a lot of fun... all of them!! The food is AMAZING! The chef makes a special menu for lunch and dinner, not to mention lobster for our wedding reception and a spectacular cake! The yoga deck is beautiful and the instructors Lani and Rebecca are incredible!! Every aspect was high quality, clean, comfortable, delicious and world class. I hope to return very soon and I am sure all 34 of our guest would say the same! We cant thank Julia, Michael and the Staff enough for all their hard work and making this a trip of a lifetime and our absolute perfect dream wedding!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaniGirl1918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia B, Manager at Yemaya Island Hideaway & Spa, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Danielle,

Wow! We can't thank you enough for choosing Yemaya for such a special occassion!!! We loved hosting you, Brandon and all of your friends and family here! Your group was so much fun and super sweet! We really appreciate you sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community. It was so fun to help plan your special day with you and see it all come together! Yemaya is a very romantic place, so it was amazing to see it transform into a dream wedding location. We also hope you are able to visit us again soon, or at least in a year to celebrate a special anniversary!! :)

Much love,

Julia & Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed here for three nights and the beach is the best on the island! Room was spacious (could fit four) and comfortable with a great ocean view, cocktails and food was delicious with many Thai flavors which worked well. Staff was lovely and Julia organized a fishing trip for us with Alfonso which was amazing! You really feel like you are on your own hideaway, the downside to that is that the town is about 20 to 30 min walk which is not easy to do at night (bring a good flashlight!!). Definitely good value for money, def would go back to this little piece of paradise in a heartbeat!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trippy8283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia B, Manager at Yemaya Island Hideaway & Spa, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
We really appreciate you taking time to share your experience with TripAdvisor! We were happy to hear you enjoyed your fishing trip and our beautiful location! We enjoyed getting to know you and hope you are able to visit us again soon!

Take Care,

Julia & Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Corn Island
1.1 mi away
Little Corn Beach and Bungalow
Little Corn Beach and Bungalow
#1 of 7 in Little Corn Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sunshine Hotel
Sunshine Hotel
#3 of 7 in Little Corn Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
1.0 mi away
Las Palmeras Beachfront Boutique Hotel
Las Palmeras Beachfront Boutique...
#4 of 7 in Little Corn Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Arenas Beach Hotel
Arenas Beach Hotel
#4 of 7 in Big Corn Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
10.9 mi away
La Princesa de la Isla
La Princesa de la Isla
#3 of 7 in Big Corn Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
10.7 mi away
Hotel Bellavista
Hotel Bellavista
#5 of 7 in Big Corn Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yemaya Island Hideaway & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yemaya Island Hideaway & Spa

Property: Yemaya Island Hideaway & Spa
Address: | Northern End, Nicaragua (Formerly Yemaya Colibri Boutique Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Southern Atlantic Autonomous Region > Corn Islands > Little Corn Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Little Corn Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Yemaya Island Hideaway & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yemaya, island Hideaway and Spa is a new boutique, eco-luxury hotel on mystical Little Corn Island, Nicaragua. The island is 70 miles off the east coast of Nicaragua, surrounded by pristine Caribbean waters and beautiful fringe reefs teeming with colorful tropical fish. All of our 16 luxury cabanas face directly onto the sea, a few steps away from some of the best snorkeling you will ever see. Our restaurant and bar features a fusion of local island cuisine with Asian flavors, featuring produce grown in our own organic garden, and seafood straight from the sea that surrounds us. We have a beautiful yoga pavilion and spa rooms nestled back in the lush jungle, ready to help wash away the stresses and strains of everyday life. Sway to the rhythm of the coco palms in a big comfy hammock, head out in one of our sea kayaks to explore the reef, or step off you private terrace into the reefs for some amazing snorkeling. Whatever you choose to do, your time at Yemaya will be unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HRS and Agoda so you can book your Yemaya Island Hideaway & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yemaya Island Hideaway & Spa Little Corn Island, Corn Islands, Nicaragua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing