We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“came for 4 days and stayed for two weeks” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Iguana

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Little Corn Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Iguana
calgary
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“came for 4 days and stayed for two weeks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

We loved our pink Casita overlooking the beach! Deck with hammock and chairs, large bed with mosi net, fouton couch, small bathroom and a great little outdoor shower. Welcome to bohemian paradise.

We only ate breakfast in the Lodge; pricey but delicious -- try the coconut french toast -- yummy. We purchased great patties from the Island Pattie man, Robert, to sustain us the rest of the time and ate at the local Lobster house/restaurant when we splurged.

This is not the Hilton, and the more basic cabins set farther back do not look as inviting as the casitas. But, if you like a lovely cabin on the beach, cooled by the ocean breeze, a beautiful view for breakfast at the lodge, and a wonderful welcoming group of young travellers, this is the place for you.

Can't wait to go back again -- by the way -- Little Corn Diving = excellent service and diving :)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank canadianfamily007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    98
    55
    30
    27
See reviews for
41
178
30
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

We stayed 4 nights at Casa Iguana during our trip to NIcaragua staying in a wonderful casita (wooden house ocean view!!) both romantic and with privacy.

We were delighted with the local staff (as well as of course with the very nice Emma and Doug) always kind and helpful, the services of the hotel and the delicious restaurant.

If you are on an island as such Little Corn, you cannot expect (nor you want) services varying from TV to air conditioning and the casitas have everything you need in a very basic shape. We only had two concerns, (i) the bed is way too small for 2 person and (ii) the sofa is totally useless and should be switched for a bigger bed.

Everything else at casa Iguana was simply perfect and we still miss our time there !

As to diving, we highly recommend the Dolphin Dive rather the main and most popular one where staff is not so kind and smiley like at Casa Iguana.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keiciro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

We enjoyed our stay at Little Corn Island and Casa Iguana.
The location had a wonderful views, great snorkeling and a good breeze.
The care from the staff, great food, free internet, we had a great time exploring.
The managed Juan Carlos was very informative and helpful.
The dive shop and it's instructors where one of the most informative and inspired I have experienced.
We look forward to going again.

Room Tip: all seem to have great views, just look for a breezy location
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kandthughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

Never have my wife or myself felt so comfortable,from arrival to the departure. We stayed in casita #4 located next to the jungle, it felt completely secluded from the rest of the world. The only sound we would hear at night was the pounding surf and wrestling palm tree's. The porch over looked the beautiful Caribbean sea, with two hammocks to relax in. The guest house was a convenient walk and always offered a cold drink and incredible authentic island cuisine, every meal be it breakfast, lunch or dinner was terrific. The staff is the most accommodating and fun group we could have encountered, from a rocking game of volleyball to just hanging out they are great. And just because you are on and island doesn't mean there is nothing to do from snorkeling right out front to long walks on the beach your time will fly by. LOOSE THE WATCH AND CELL PHONE AND ENJOY LIFE AS IT WAS INTENDED.. Dave and Julie

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dcarroll1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

If you read the history of reviews here on trip advisor you will note that this property has a reputation for inconsistent service. The staff generally is there to party and you as a guest are an intrusion into their scene. The cabanas and casitas are not much more than camping. The owner lives in Chicago and only makes short, infrequent trips to monitor things. The food is sometimes good but most times bad and expensive. I agree with other reviewers here that the location is beautiful and the property itself is well manicured but that doesn't justify being treated like an intruder into a private party.
Little Corn Beach and Bungalow is by far your best option for this side of the island but even some of the other options would be more welcoming than this place.
What. Shame such a beautiful place is so poorly run.

Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank ticotrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

Location was close enough to town and other restaurants.
Is exactly as described from web site.
Staff was wonderful!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank juliefahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

We stayed there for 5 nights, and generally the cabañas are ok to the price (but I think this varies from cabaña to cabaña) and the location is really good. However the staff here seemed to be more concerned about their own life that to service the customer. Often it felt like the staff only was there to go to the beach... etc.

One day with 10 minutes notice we were told that we had to change cabaña - not very serviceminded, at least the could have told us earlier. On top of that, the beds in the new cabaña were filled with ants, and the cabaña was also smaller, but still to the same price.

Our general review is that it's an okay place to stay, because there aren't that many choices on Little Corn Island, but we heard from many that Beach and Bungalow is better (plus they also give their local staff a higher salary than Casa Iguana).

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gitte_reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Corn Island
10.4 mi away
Yemaya Island Hideaway & Spa
Yemaya Island Hideaway & Spa
#2 of 7 in Little Corn Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Los Delfines
Hotel Los Delfines
#6 of 7 in Little Corn Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
10.0 mi away
Hotel Bellavista
Hotel Bellavista
#4 of 7 in Big Corn Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Arenas Beach Hotel
Arenas Beach Hotel
#5 of 7 in Big Corn Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
10.3 mi away
La Princesa de la Isla
La Princesa de la Isla
#3 of 7 in Big Corn Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Morgan
Hotel Morgan
#7 of 7 in Big Corn Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Iguana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Iguana

Property: Casa Iguana
Address: East Side, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Southern Atlantic Autonomous Region > Corn Islands > Little Corn Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Little Corn Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribbean as it used to be: An island, a culture, and a way of life that hasn't yet felt the impact of the 20th century. Opening its doors in 1994, CI became Nicaragua's first eco-lodge. Relax on its 40 acre reserve and explore its secret coves, jungle and farm. Whether or not you are a guest at Casa Iguana, we invite you to join us for our famous breakfast, lunch or dinner and enjoy cocktails and lounging in our lodge to take in the best view on the island and meet interesting people! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Iguana Hotel Little Corn Island
Casa Iguana Little Corn Island, Corn Islands, Nicaragua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing