We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, wonderful grounds, ok rooms”
Review of Casa Iguana

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Little Corn Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Iguana
Reviewed 22 December 2011

You must go into this hotel realizing it's rustic. The showers are outside, the rooms are pretty basic--mosquito nets over the bed, tin roofs, small rooms, twin-size beds. Once you accept what it is you are getting into, you will appreciate the wonderful things about it. The grounds are wonderful. The picture posted for the hotel (above) is the view from the restaurant. you can reach the beach in a minute. The restaurant (especially breakfast) is delicious. The staff (hippie tree hugger ex-pats) are very friendly and helpful. This hotel also runs a scuba store "downtown," which is very convenient. bring a flashlight, however, because you have to do a short, 5-10 minute walk through the woods to get to the hotel. it's safe, but can be a little unnerving in the dark!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anontrav09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (359)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 359 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2011

Little Corn in general has prices that are (much) higher than the rest of Nicaragua, so if you're coming here from the mainland you may encounter some sticker shock. Casa Iguana is one of the more expensive places on the island for sure -- but you'll be rewarded with great rooms, beautiful views, free satellite internet in the main lodge, and a fun (yet laidback) bar for the evenings.
We left Casa Iguana with wonderful new friendships forged over wine and the nightly dinners. As others have mentioned, there is also a discounted rate on diving at Little Corn dive shop if you stay at Casa Iguana -- though when we were there (August) they were having problems with their compressor.

Room Tip: Go for the Casistas that overlook the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennalice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2011

I stayed in Casa Iguana for a week with a friend. Our plan was to go to a remote island somewhere in the Caribbean, relax, hammock and maybe do a little scuba diving. Well thanks to LCI's hook up with one of the dive center's on the island, and all the incredible staff that felt more like long lost friends meant to find each other on this little island, we did way more scuba diving than we'd planned to do and way more singing, bon firing, hammocking, story telling and laughing than we had planned on. There was some relaxing and professional hammocking done as well (thanks to the two hammocks per cabana and the dozens scattered across the island). Almost every night we had dinner at the main lodge with the other guests and all the staff and besides the food being awesome the company was unbeatable.

I'd definitely recommend to any group (families, couples and friends) to stay at Casa Iguana. Loads of friendly people, friendly animals, great diving at it's partner dive shop (Dive Little Corn) and if you know the right places to look, you may even find a penguin or two on this remote island east of Nicaragua.

Room Tip: Go for the Cabanas, more expensive but nothing beats waking up to your balcony over looking the beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank E M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

Casa Iguana is well landscaped on a lovely quite stretch of the island, it's easy (and safe) to walk to the bars and restaurants in the town and the casitas are comfortable with good sea views.

It was a shame that the beach casitas aren't really on the beach, they are set back, which would be fine except that there is a rather unattractive bank leading to a fence before you reach the beach itself. None of the beach casitas have direct access to the beach, you have to walk a small distance out of your front door to reach the path down to the beach.

We were unlucky with the weather when we were there, as it rained a lot and was too rough to snorkel off the Casa Iguana beach. We were also extremely unlucky that we were there during the 2 weeks of the year that Little Corn receives a large amount of broken up plastic in the sea. This meant that it was not possible to sit and enjoy the beach and very unpleasant to swim. We were told that this happens every year and it is due to tides bringing in one of the plastic accumulations that occur in the oceans. It's obviously not Casa Iguana's fault, but it did pretty much ruin our experience. I should also note that the "Beach and Bungalows" beach was cleared by the owners, but despite the large number of staff at Casa Iguana, they gave up cleaning the beach after the first day, which was a real shame as it meant that it wasn't very pleasant to look out at the view from our balcony.

A note on the running of the place is that it is probably a lot better in peak season. The management is not local, generally students or graduates from the USA. This made us feel like we were intruding on their party a little, although I think this was accentuated because we were the only guests at Casa Iguana for pretty much our whole stay. We were made to feel welcome when we had dinner one night with them, but we got the feeling that they would have been having more fun without us. Also watch out for the casitas right next to lodge, if you don't want the noise from the lodge disturbing you. Our casita was lovely and quiet, but we were pleased we weren't closer to the lodge.

Overall we had a pleasant stay, but it certainly wasn't the idyllic location we had hoped for.

Room Tip: If you want peace and quite, don't have a casita near the lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GreenPanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

We stayed 5 days at the Casa and enjoyed every minute of our time there. It was a good place to use as a base to explore the island and despite the weather not being the best, the friendly staff (particularly Doug, hereafter referred to as Iguana Doug to avoid confusion with the dog Doug and another human Doug that lives on the otherside of the island) helped make it an enjoyable stay. Sure it is pricey and there are cheaper places, but you are on an island and it is good to have the little things like an awesome view, comfortable bed, wifi, consistant power, great food and well maintained grounds.

Just watch out for the dog who suffers kleptomania and likes to steal people's shoes.

Room Tip: The casita near reception has great views and wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank serhorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas J, Manager at Casa Iguana, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2011

Thank you so much for the great review. I enjoyed spending time with you guys as well. Sorry the weather wasn't the best, but you certainly did make the best out of it.

Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

My friends and I lived in Managua and decided to get away for a weekend. It's not very much money for the flight and the boat across to Little Corn Island - so was a nice treat. The food was DELICIOUS, at every meal. Friendly staff - very laid back environment. Do you're own thing, explore, etc. The rooms are simple but very clean and the bed was very comfortable.

We didn't go at the best time of year, weather wise -- but had a blast nonetheless.

I would definitely go back!

Room Tip: If you can get your porch facing the ocean, it's lovely! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bittenbytravelbugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

I like a good value. Casa Iguana is not it. The location is nice, but the rooms are so basic and are so expensive in high season, compared to pretty much everywhere else on the island, and the food is so overpriced, it just doesn't add up.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank euroUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas J, Manager at Casa Iguana, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2011

Thank you for your review.

We are working on renovating all the rooms to create a better atmosphere and value. Also, we have renovated the bar and front desk in the lodge to be more inviting. At the moment we are working on getting a new professional Chef to revamp the menu's so you can get a bigger bang for your buck.

Hopefully you will try Casa Iguana again and notice the changes that are being made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Corn Island
0.6 mi away
Little Corn Beach and Bungalow
Little Corn Beach and Bungalow
#1 of 7 in Little Corn Island
508 reviews
0.8 mi away
Las Palmeras Beachfront Hotel
Las Palmeras Beachfront Hotel
#4 of 7 in Little Corn Island
103 reviews
1.6 mi away
Yemaya Island Hideaway & Spa
Yemaya Island Hideaway & Spa
#2 of 7 in Little Corn Island
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sunshine Hotel
Sunshine Hotel
#3 of 7 in Little Corn Island
103 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Los Delfines
Hotel Los Delfines
#5 of 7 in Little Corn Island
115 reviews
10 mi away
Hotel Bellavista
Hotel Bellavista
#5 of 7 in Big Corn Island
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Iguana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Iguana

Address: East Side, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Southern Atlantic Autonomous Region > Corn Islands > Little Corn Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Little Corn Island
Price Range: £14 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribbean as it used to be: An island, a culture, and a way of life that hasn't yet felt the impact of the 20th century. Opening its doors in 1994, CI became Nicaragua's first eco-lodge. Relax on its 40 acre reserve and explore its secret coves, jungle and farm. Whether or not you are a guest at Casa Iguana, we invite you to join us for our famous breakfast, lunch or dinner and enjoy cocktails and lounging in our lodge to take in the best view on the island and meet interesting people! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Iguana Hotel Little Corn Island
Casa Iguana Little Corn Island, Corn Islands, Nicaragua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing