We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular view, amazing place but ....”
Review of Casa Iguana

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Little Corn Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Iguana
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We spend 6 nights in Deluxe Casita at Casa Iguana. The Casita wasn´t definitely deluxe, the bed was relatively comfortable, but the floor hasn´t been cleaned for ages. We loved the spectacular view from our terrace, privacy and very well maintained roads (trails) and garden. The place is really the best one on the island, it´s not too far from village and it has beautiful surroundings and views!
It seems that once it had to be great accomodation, but now it looks like nobody manages it and that Casa Iguana just lives its own life. When I booked my accomodation, I was in contact with Mary. She promised that someone will be waiting for us on the pier. Our ferry arrived with a delay and after dark, but nobody waited for us. So we had to find a way to accommodation on our own. Luckily we had a map and a headlamp.
The whole property belonging to the Casa Iguana is huge and beautiful, including several private beaches and probably the former pineapple plantation.
I am afraid if the owner doesn´t quickly begin to take care of his property, he will discourage soon many visitors.
Restaurant and bar more or less work, dinner is served in family style and is really tasty. Try the Casa Iguana´s cocktail Basilito! It´s made from fresh basil and Flor de Cana ron!
Perfect is the possibility of supplementing drinking water from private wells!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Z29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (359)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 359 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed four nights at Casa Iguana in a "Deluxe Casita". We have rated it above average based on the spectacular setting with lovely grounds and trails, great views and privacy. However we would have to rate it below average based on the condition of our Casita and the poor management experienced. When we arrived a window had been left open and our bedding was soaking wet. Abner, the manager, said he would have someone change the bedding. This didn't happen. Luckily we had some clothes pins and hung it all out to dry ourselves. Likewise, we patched the broken screens with duct tape and mended the many holes in the mosquito netting with needle and thread. Come prepared.... We also had to wait an hour and a half to check out as the manager was nowhere to be found.
The restaurant had no ice one day, no limes for drinks the next, and no fruit the day after that.
On the other hand, reading in a hammock with a fresh breeze blowing, while looking out over the coral sea, was fabulous. The snorkelling off the beach was also pretty good, although it was rough when we were there.
It must have been a terrific place when it first opened twenty years ago, but it has been allowed to slide ever since. It begs for better hands-on management by different owners who care.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lawrie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Spent a week at Casa Iguana and loved it. We stayed in the economy cabin and although not too big it suited us perfectly. On Little Corn you barely spend anytime inside so it wasnt a problem. At $35|night it was great value. Bathroom was shared but we never had a wait, it was rustic but that is in keeping with the whole island. If you are an all inclusive resort type person you may not enjoy Little Corn. We went and looked at other places and one of the best things about C.I was the size of the property and the bit of space between the cabins. Being well treed and on the windy side of the island kept it more cool than the other side. Agree with some of the comments that state its time for some money or elbow grease but that didnt deter our enjoyment.Only complaint is the bed, time for new mattresses!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Young_alan5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Casa Iguana was great! We got off to a rocky start. We got there after dark and were given a cabana off the beach. They called the manager, Abner, who soon helped us get a beach front room. They by far have the best location on the island. The cabins are very rustic, but that is what we expected. We stayed in an economy cabana and thought the shared bathrooms were very clean. We never had any issues running into people at the bathrooms/showers. The view from our cabin was the best part of our trip. The breeze off the ocean provided plenty of cool air. The food at the lodge was very good and so was the service. It was a short 5 minute walk to the "main" strip. We took a two and a half hour snorkeling trip. The snorkeling was great. We saw some sharks, rays... Expect very basic and you will have a great stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Theresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

A great guy trip. The four of us stayed in Grand Casita for five nights. It was adequate for us. Got to know folks at restaurant and bar. Very sweet folks. Excellent view of sea and the wind is comforting.

My wife and I would Love to buy Casa Iguana. We would live there and provide some much needed elbow grease to spruce place up to what it's past grander once was. Plus we would live there to take care of clusters comments/concerns/complaints/requests 24/7. I've got some great ideas on how to make place better and to further utilize the property. I have talked my wife into coming down and staying there with me next spring. Not interested in her dive shop. I figure just be good at one thing and that would be running a small hotel.

Even though I gave four stars, place does need some elbow grease and a good scrubbing, I'll definitely stay there again.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank LoveHonduras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We stayed in a cabana for 8 days in December 2013. We had a dive package, so the cabana was very cheap. It was very clean and cleaned every day, surprisingly there were no cockroaches of other bugs at all. The shared bathrooms were located just a few steps away and were also very clean (although they could change the trash every day). The view from the cabana was great and the wind kept it cool and comfortable (sometimes even too cool). We also appreciated the privacy of the cabanas and casitas, they were situated far away from each other (especially compared to the other places on the beach). I think the cabanas with shared bathrooms were excellent value, especially with the price we got.

The food in the restaurant was good and the view of course awesome. In the breakfast the service was very slow and we usually had to wait for the coffee for a long time. The staff could also be a bit more friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kipperi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Three years ago, my husband and I had a wonderful experience at Casa Iguana and we were so excited to return--total disappointment! Casa Iguana is in complete disrepair. When we first checked in (after waiting 15 minutes to find someone to check us in), there were dead cockroaches littered all over the floor of our casista. The electricity continued to go out because the generator does not work. We spent the last three days of our stay with absolutely no electricity. Both my husband and I were more than willing to pay $90 a night for minimal accommodations because we remembered the staff and facilities were so pleasant--three years ago. However, three years later, we could not find a staff member, the lodge was not open for coffee in the morning, and the rooms were never cleaned.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Denise3002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Corn Island
0.6 mi away
Little Corn Beach and Bungalow
Little Corn Beach and Bungalow
#1 of 7 in Little Corn Island
508 reviews
0.8 mi away
Las Palmeras Beachfront Hotel
Las Palmeras Beachfront Hotel
#4 of 7 in Little Corn Island
104 reviews
1.6 mi away
Yemaya Island Hideaway & Spa
Yemaya Island Hideaway & Spa
#2 of 7 in Little Corn Island
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sunshine Hotel
Sunshine Hotel
#3 of 7 in Little Corn Island
103 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Los Delfines
Hotel Los Delfines
#5 of 7 in Little Corn Island
115 reviews
10 mi away
Hotel Bellavista
Hotel Bellavista
#5 of 7 in Big Corn Island
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Iguana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Iguana

Address: East Side, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Southern Atlantic Autonomous Region > Corn Islands > Little Corn Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Little Corn Island
Price Range: £14 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribbean as it used to be: An island, a culture, and a way of life that hasn't yet felt the impact of the 20th century. Opening its doors in 1994, CI became Nicaragua's first eco-lodge. Relax on its 40 acre reserve and explore its secret coves, jungle and farm. Whether or not you are a guest at Casa Iguana, we invite you to join us for our famous breakfast, lunch or dinner and enjoy cocktails and lounging in our lodge to take in the best view on the island and meet interesting people! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Iguana Hotel Little Corn Island
Casa Iguana Little Corn Island, Corn Islands, Nicaragua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing