We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice but needs to be more aware of what is going on - on site” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Derek's Place

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Little Corn Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Derek's Place
Granada, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“nice but needs to be more aware of what is going on - on site”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2011

This is a nice place for what is available on Little Corn - very expensive for what you get. We were robbed and the owners made us feel like we were the perpetrators not the victims. Seemed to want to sweep it under the "grass" shall we say.

a little guest orientation would be in order - what is all charged for, where the safest and best trails into town are, bathroom useage, meals and what to expect on site.

Power is very hit an miss when you most need it. highly recommend having head lamps and led battery operated lites if you dont want to be in the dark when you least expect it.

the island life is awesome.................. enjoy

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank onholidays088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    31
    16
    8
    11
See reviews for
22
75
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
142 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2011

I agree with all the other posters this is a really relaxed and beautiful place to stay and Anna and Derek are great hosts.
Only issue for us was that the lunches and especially the dinners are scheduled very late, 13.30 for lunch and 2030 for dinner and are often later than this.(Anna is frm Barcelona!)
Dinner so late when it gets dark around 18.30 makes for too much time before dinner! May be OK for Europeans but too late for Americans!
However meals were delicious and lots of food.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lizianp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2010

seemingly self-sufficient and focused on the visitor taking their own initiate to not depend on the staff to cater to your every need. They are hiring if youre honest it seems, as I stayed for a week for free (i worked/remodeled a bathroom)only the most beautiful island ever. of course its a small island town, far from civilization so travel with some big strong friends ;)

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank letsworkunlimited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kangiqsujuaq, Quebec
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2010

The cabins cost 35 dollars a night. The place is great. Anna and Derek took us in and let our puking son sleep in a cabin without expecting us to stay. Worth the money. But anyone who thinks they can get one of these cabins for $10 has been smoking something.

Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank qallunaat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2010

My husband and I stayed at Derek's place for 4 nights in Feb of 2010. We found this place thanks to a friends recommendation. It was so magical and beautiful! We unfortunately never meet Derek as he was very ill but Anna was a wonderful hostess and her children were such sweet little angles. You could tell Anna and Derek put all there love and creativity into making the wonderful cabanas, there attention to detail is mesmerizing. Their use of nature and found objects to create enchanting pieces of art everywhere, blew away myself and my husband. We were unfortunately not blessed with perfect weather while there but lounging around reading in hammocks while the rain came down was so tranquil. I have to be a little honest and say my husband and I are not always keen on hanging out with kids but their two kids were so sweet, we found ourselves digging holes in the sand with them and chilling in the hammocks with them also. There had been some recent robberies in the north side of the island while we were there and Anna was very straightforward and honest with us telling us precautions to take. Nothing ever happened to us and Anna just emailed us also the police have been patrolling more regularly as well as have arrested the thieves. If you want a piece of paradise that is off the beaten path you need to stay at Derek's Place!

Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Drerae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lopez Island, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2010

We've traveled much of the tropical globe, lived abroad, seen the spectrum of available small places. Derek's is now at the top of our list. Derek and Anna (and their two young children) are consummate hosts, the cabins are creative and comfortable, the food spectacular, the prices reasonable, and the setting can only be imagined. Security issues are minor (this is the 3rd world after all), and Anna has installed locks on the doors and put a safe in each room. If you're looking for drinks served by a poolside and easy access to nightlife, go elsewhere. But the 20 minute walk to and from town is interesting, and everyone was friendly.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mudskipper46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2010

Little Corn Island is a little rustic gem in the middle of the Caribbean Ocean, and Derek's Place is the island's own little rustic gem. What could be better than open air rooms (lovingly and beautifully built by Derek himself from tree trunks and recycled materials) on a secluded nook on the island with no luxuries except the luxury of a clean, beautiful ocean and plenty of time to enjoy it!

Reviewers have complained that it's far from town. If you want convenience, yeah maybe this place isn't for you. It's about a half hour walk through the beautiful jungle to get to the dive shop, the general store, or the amazing Cuban restaurant or little beachfront mojito bar in the island's little village. I personally love the walk, it's an adventure every time. (Casa Iguana is a little closer to town, so if you want quicker access, stay there. There is also a little more of a social, party vibe at Iguana.) You definitely need to be in that "chilled out" mindset to stay on Derek's side of the island.

Derek's cooking is wonderful, he serves it up family style and sits back as everyone gets to know each other.
The snorkeling is great, just pull on your fins and take off right from the beach. You'll see plenty of freaky eagle rays within minutes!
I'd recommend Derek's to anyone with a sense of adventure who wants a secluded little hideaway.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elisedara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Corn Island
1.3 mi away
Yemaya Island Hideaway & Spa
Yemaya Island Hideaway & Spa
#2 of 7 in Little Corn Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Princesa de la Isla
La Princesa de la Isla
#3 of 7 in Big Corn Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Bellavista
Hotel Bellavista
#4 of 7 in Big Corn Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Arenas Beach Hotel
Arenas Beach Hotel
#5 of 7 in Big Corn Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Los Delfines
Hotel Los Delfines
#6 of 7 in Little Corn Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
1.0 mi away
Paraiso Beach Hotel
Paraiso Beach Hotel
#1 of 7 in Big Corn Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derek's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derek's Place

Property: Derek's Place
Address: 54214, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Southern Atlantic Autonomous Region > Corn Islands > Little Corn Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Little Corn Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly eco-oriented hotel. Solar panels and windmills. Right on the beach, 15 minute walk through the beautiful tropical foliage. For those seeking quiet and tranquility at an affordable price. Welcome, one and all! Snorkeling, restaurant with wood-fire oven baked food, and nearby horse-back riding. Have a good day and a wonderful stay! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Derek`s Place Hotel Little Corn Island
Derek's Place Little Corn Island, Corn Islands, Nicaragua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing