We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thankful They Had A Room”
Review of Hotel Los Delfines

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Los Delfines
Reviewed 20 March 2014

After staying one night (with 13 booked) at Derek's Place we walked into town the next morning and started talking to some of the locals and they suggested Hotel Los Delfines. We checked to see if they had availability and what their prices were. Being Christmas Holidays we were lucky they had something and the price of 60.00 a night for 4 of us that included AC was great. The owner that checked us in was very friendly and the ladies that clean were there everyday with clean towels and washed the floors as we ended up being on the Island in a complete three day downpour. The rooms we had was very spacious and our kids didn't have to share a bed as it had a double bed and two singles. They also had the Disney Channel in English as we were stuck in our room for a couple of days due to the weather. There are beach towels available at the front desk as they have beach chairs to hang out on. Great location with a two minute walk to Tranquilo (wifi) and Café Desideres (fabulous Lobster Dishes) as well as the Shack by the Sea. Rosa's was a quick five minute walk in the other direction and had excellent breakfasts for a great price. The hotel is also in a good location to take the Panga back to Big Corn first thing in the morning.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allison T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Los Delfines
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2014

Hotel Los Delfines has an arrangement with the dive center next door. You get a discount on both the room and the diving. I had a nice pleasant bungalow with a queen size and a single bed (although traveling alone) for only $40 a night. One advantage to Delfines is that it has air-conditioning. If you stay on the eastern side of the island, the strong breeze keeps you cool but it's hotter on the action-packed western side of the island so I liked the AC. The cost of beers in the hotel bar is cheap compared to some of the bars/restaurants but the service in the hotel bar and restaurant is horrendous and hardly anyone eats there. The staff of the hotel were kind and friendly and this hotel does take credit cards without a surcharge which helped on the cash flow (no ATMs on Little Corn). Oh, and don't forget that the electricity on LIttle Corn is turned off from about 5 AM to noon everyday. Delfines does not use a generator so when the AC goes off, you know it's time to get up.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NKyAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

This hotel saved our butts. We arrived on little corn on afternoon panga without a reservation. Walked around for 3 hours with our backpacks hotel to hotel looking for a room, thought we would end up sleeping under the stars. Los dolfines cost a little more then we had hoped to pay. The room was clean and cool. The hotel is across the path from the beach. Not the best beach but the water was calmer due to less wind on that side of the island. 2 min walk to all the restaurants, bars, stores and ferry.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank bailey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Stayed there in April 2013 for 7 days and dove with Dolphin dive which is connected to the hotel right out front. The dive staff were awesome (Brenden) and I completed my Advanced open water certification with them. The prices for the room is little more than most other places on the island but it has air conditioning, which you definitely will be glad you had because it is very hot and humid. The rooms are clean, roomy and well maintained. While I was there I never had hot water in the shower, it was always cold, but no big deal for me. If you plan on diving this is the place to stay there is a discount provided if you stay and dive with them. Oh one other thing, they were very good at responding to my email questions before booking and arriving, oftentimes within minutes. Also they sent someone to meet me at the dock to escort me to the hotel which as it turns out is right down the path.
Would definitely stay with them again and in fact plan on returning in 2014.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robi314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

The hotel is just minutes down the path from the public dock. It was a nice location with several units and associated dive shop and restaurant. The reason I selected the hotel was the air conditioning; Only place on the island.

Our ride over from Corn Island was on the ferry "yacht" in 4-6 ft rollers waves. Needless too say there several seasick people. We arrived and checked in at reception. Don't expect a warm welcome, "glad you're here", or a run down on the resort. I had read this in other reviews and being British has nothing to do with it, I've been to several British-managed resorts that are not that way. I wasn't expecting a warm welcome so I wasn't disappointed.

The community generator shuts down at 5 am so be prepared. The resort has its own generator that will run if necessary. While we were there, the community generator ran out of fuel for two days so the resort's filled in. The staff was friendly and Adam was actually talkative when you got him one on one.

The rooms were clean. Since we had three different rooms for our group, we found there were two types of beds: Comfortable or firm, beware. There were tvs and air conditioning in the rooms. As typical in Nicaragua, there is no hot water so don't be shocked or expect a warm shower. There were rocking chairs on the porch of each room that were nice.

The grounds were kept immaculate with banana plants towering over the pathways. Don't forget to check out the monster poinsettia outside reception.

Overall our stay of four nights was nice and I would recommend to my friends to stay here. The value was very good.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room on the bottom floor and a bed of your liking, medium or extra firm.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldTrvlr13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Spend Christmas of 2013 there. Was one of the few places still available at last minute (they dont have much presence), and by far better than anything else available. Overall, has great location (in the main village, right on the beach & 1 min walk to 2 key hand out spots... people going to Yolanda or Derek's, as nice as those places are, dont appreciate they'll end up coming to the village anyway, and 30min -brisk- walk through jungle in the dark is not that much fun after a few nicalibres...). Very nice garden, pretty decent rooms (for the price). Much better than the (way overhyped and WAY overpriced) Iguana...

Room Tip: ground floor is better. Bring a mosquito repellent (same anywhere on the island - there are not too...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaxSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

The hotel has a good location, and the rooms have A/C.
The staff was almost never available, we had one rooms with the bathroom's light borked which they took two days to fix.
They A/C works only until 5 am so after that we were inevitably woken by the heat.
The restaurant didn't have even half of the food they offered.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank JIPVI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Corn Island
0.0 mi away
Las Palmeras Beachfront Hotel
Las Palmeras Beachfront Hotel
#4 of 7 in Little Corn Island
77 reviews
0.0 mi away
Little Corn Beach and Bungalow
Little Corn Beach and Bungalow
#1 of 7 in Little Corn Island
496 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sunshine Hotel
Sunshine Hotel
#3 of 7 in Little Corn Island
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Yemaya Island Hideaway & Spa
Yemaya Island Hideaway & Spa
#2 of 7 in Little Corn Island
252 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bellavista
Hotel Bellavista
#5 of 7 in Big Corn Island
52 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Princesa de la Isla
La Princesa de la Isla
#3 of 7 in Big Corn Island
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Los Delfines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Delfines

Address: 100m S From Municipal Warf, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Southern Atlantic Autonomous Region > Corn Islands > Little Corn Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Little Corn Island
Price Range: £56 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Los Delfines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Delfines Hotel
Hotel Los Delfines Little Corn Island, Corn Islands, Nicaragua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing