We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice for the budget traveler”
Review of Hotel El Castillo

Hotel El Castillo
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel El Castillo
Ranked #21 of 26 Matagalpa B&B and Inns
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent choice for the budget traveler”
Reviewed 8 March 2013

I recently stayed at El Castillo Hotel for two weeks. The rooms are small and simple, but clean, and they have everything you need for a comfortable and enjoyable visit to Matagalpa and the surrounding area. The staff at this family-run hotel is friendly and helpful. The location of the hotel is close enough to walk to the center of the city in five minutes, but far enough away to avoid the noise. I had no security concerns while staying there. On a hillside, the view from the balcony of my room was wonderful. The wi-fi was reliable and free. The hot shower was a much appreciated change from many other accomodations in Nicaragua. The mattress was quite comfortable.

I save my highest praise for the breakfast and highly recommend you take advantage of it while staying there. For an extra $2/day, breakfast is offered from about 7AM to 10AM. Breakfast included eggs, fried plantains (maduro), gallo pinto, cheese (cuajada) and coffee. It was so good that I never left any and so filling that most days I skipped on lunch and never felt hungry.

No, this is not a Five-star hotel, but for the same or less cost, it is definitely a step up from most hostels.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a balcony if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tucson_Leftfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    23
    15
    5
    6
See reviews for
1
32
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
central america
Level Contributor
77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

The rooms are very clean but the beds tend to be a little on the small side. At about $17 per night this is one of the best values in Matagalpa. It is located a short distance on a easterly hillside and offers only a partial view of Matagalpa and the western hills. The biggest drawback is that the sun beats on it all afternoon which overheats the rooms.

Room Tip: If you can stand the heat,,,get a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CentralAmericaRover2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel El Castillo for a week. Our room was great: bright and spotlessly clean, with hot water and a private balcony, and the included breakfasts were excellent. The hotel is quiet and secure, everyone is really friendly - and the location couldn't be better. We are a retired couple, traveling on a budget, and we found it to be excellent value.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spacevoyager100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Friendly people. The breakfast was quite sufficient, the room was small but clean. The bed was fine.
The only thing missing was one or two chairs on the balcony, and ask for fresh towels. If you put them on the floor, they will hang them up for you. The hotel was located nearby the centre, but at night it was quite

Room Tip: The rooms with the balcony have a great view over the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johanna_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
101 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

I guess I expected more, because I was disappointed when I arrived. The room is plain and simple (nothing on the walls, no reading lamp, etc.) and has scuff marks on the painted white walls and marks on the white tiles. Also, noise from the street and from the other guests meant that earplugs were required. Those problems were offset by nice hot water in the shower, a strong wifi signal, and a good breakfast (rice & beans, egg, fried plantains, a slice of salty goat cheese, and coffee). Another advantage was that the woman working there did my private laundry at only 5 Cordobas (20 cents US) per shirt. If TripAdvisor allowed half ratings, I would give the place an overall rating of 3 1/2 out of 5.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dansktex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Matagalpa is a unique spot to visit. I only spent one night in tow and pick this hotel based on other reviews. I would rate it very average. Rooms were relatively small, but clean. The bathroom had a very strange smell. Perhaps mildew? One thing this spot has going for it is the view. Three of the rooms have small balconies that offer a lovely view of the two, particularly at night. I have nothing else in Matagalpa to compare it to, but for Nicaragua I'd call it average. The room was about $25 to $30 a night and included breakfast but we didn't stay for it as we wanted to catch an early bus. I found the hotel to be safe, it was set back slightly off the main drag so it was quiet, although it was a little hard to find. We asked many cab drivers and no one had ever heard of it (I think it's relatively new).

Room Tip: Definitely get a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nica_tinita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Salvador, El Salvador
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2012

I was at this hotel with a few colleagues for a pit stop from work. We were all really glad we stayed here. The rooms are quite simple, a bed and a fan thats pretty much it. But if you get the rooms with the balcony you get the best view of Matagalpa from there. There is hot water, free wifi and breakfast included at a very good price. We paid twice as much in other hotels in Matagalpa for the same services. The staff is really really nice, they go out of their way to accomodate you. They even offered to do our laundry at 5 cordobas a piece. Great stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theworldcalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Matagalpa hotels
0.0 mi away
La Buena Onda
La Buena Onda
#1 of 6 in Matagalpa
219 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Roca de la Cumbre
Hotel Roca de la Cumbre
#3 of 6 in Matagalpa
38 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mana del Cielo
Hotel Mana del Cielo
#10 of 26 in Matagalpa
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hostal Martina's Place
Hostal Martina's Place
#1 of 17 in Matagalpa
136 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Hermosa
Hotel Villa Hermosa
#3 of 26 in Matagalpa
35 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa Celebertti
Hotel Casa Celebertti
#13 of 26 in Matagalpa
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Castillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Castillo

Property: Hotel El Castillo
Address: Pescamar 1 cuadra al sur, Matagalpa | Iglesia Catedral 3 cuadras al este, Matagalpa 050-088-4, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Matagalpa Department > Matagalpa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Matagalpa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Every guest of Hotel El Castillo will enjoy the cool climate and a panoramic view of the surrounding mountains in Matagalpa. The hotel is conveniently located a few blocks from Central Park.All rooms have private bath, hot water, cable TV, WiFi and most has private balconyHotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel El Castillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing