We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place great food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Las Orquideas Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 2 Cerro Punta B&B and Inns
charlestown rhode island
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely place great food”
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We spent a night here recently and really loved it. We have visited this area many times in the past and have stayed in the very funky and cheap Hotel Cerro Punta. This is a much nicer option. There is a river running through the back and the yard is planted with lots of flowers.
It was a cold and rainy day but even so we got to see some great birds at the end of the road. Even a pair of Quetzals.
The real high point of the day ( better than quetzals if that is possible)was our dinner. We gorged ourselves on dumplings, hot noodle soup, and a huge plate of spicy pork.
Our room was very clean and the bed was warm and cozy. I would have liked the water in the shower to be a little hotter.
We will most certainly stay here from now on.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keenbirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
7
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
holland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2011

We just had a dinner at this place,and we regret that we had not chosen this place to stay. Good value for your money, located next to the river with nice gardens. And a very friendly young couple; they welcomed us very enthousiasticly . Mother Jenny cooked an uncredibly good chinese meal for us; the best meal we had during our trip in Panama.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HollandDuthie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2011

We had a wonderful time in Las Orquideas. Johanna and Jenny took very good care of us in this beautiful quite place. If you need anything, ask Johanna. If you want very nice food, ask Jenny. Thanks again for the good service!
Sandra & Louis

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SanLoutravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Rochelle, France
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2011

+ : hot shower (don't be afraid by single shower button), free wifi, good beds, silent, restaurant, breakfast : tell them what you like so they can change provided breakfast according to your wishes

Notice : restaurant is a Chinese restaurant

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UnusedUsername
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2010

This was a great place to stay. A wonderful combination of friendly people and excellent traditional food nestled in a truly spectacular part of the world. The couple running the B and B is very helpful and well connected to the area and can assist with anything you need. The Chinese food is of a quality you cannot get in America as I have tried for 35 years. In part because of the very fresh ingredients. grown within a mile from the property probably. I have been able to match the quality of this food 1 time and it was in a high end restaurant in China itself. The stream in back and the attention to detail of their landscape really makes this place amazing. All the beauty of Costa Rica without the cheesy and increasingly difficult to cover up issues of Costa Rica. A genuinely beautiful B and B in a genuine and pristine location.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nomadicrph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2010

A small hotel located in a nice place where the air is fresh and a chill temperature, perfect get away place. The service was great with tasty Chinese food and a very good bed to have a good rest after a long day of hiking and side seeing... so comfortable that didn't wanted to get up the next morning.

The night is cold, so you can go out to the backyard and do your bonfire, sing and play guitar if you got the skills or if you dare, no one will bother you about your "artistic" singing.

Our trip there was remarkable and sure will do it again, hopefully soon.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RicardoChen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2010

Hmm, what a list of problems:
1. Mouse droppings in the bathroom
2. a sink that leaked on the floor
3. abysmal construction
4. styrofoam ceilings
5. expensive for the area
6. it's a B&B, but no breakfast?!

Spend a few more bucks and go to the Los Quetzales Cabins in the woods for a truly unique stay. There are some decent places in El Bambito as well. This place was just an overpriced dump that was built on the cheap and is run on the cheap. Oh well.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank infinitysa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cerro Punta
4.4 mi away
Hotel Bambito Resort
Hotel Bambito Resort
#2 of 4 in Volcan
146 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hotel Dos Rios
Hotel Dos Rios
#3 of 4 in Volcan
67 reviews
5.7 mi away
Finca Lerida
Finca Lerida
#2 of 11 in Boquete
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Hacienda Los Molinos Boutique Hotel
4.7 mi away
La Petite Maison B&B
La Petite Maison B&B
#1 of 8 in Volcan
21 reviews
4.2 mi away
Casa Grande Bambito Highlands Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Orquideas Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Orquideas Bed & Breakfast

Property: Las Orquideas Bed & Breakfast
Address: Bajo Grande, Cerro Punta 0420, Panama
Region: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Cerro Punta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cerro Punta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LAS ORQUIDEAS Bed & Breakfast it's a touristic enterprise stablished in Bajo Grande, Cerro Punta, Province of Chiriqui, Republic of Panama, on January 1st 2010.Our goal it's to provide an excellent customer service to our clients, with a professional approach, along with our high quality facilities, sorrounded by a totally green environment, with bird songs, fresh weather, and the relaxing water flow sound coming from the Graille Creek on our backyard.Among our services there are: Touristic Information and Packages; Copies, Fax and Phone Call Services; Tradicional Chinese Food Restaurant and an unique experience to enjoy!Cerro Punta:Located at 2030 meters above the sea level, Cerro Punta it's the highest village in the Republic of Panama. Cerro Punta is famous for its horse farms, called "Haras Carinthia" and "Haras Cerro Punta", as well as for its strawberries, flowers and vegetables shops. Tourism in Cerro Punta it's a must for any traveller, as in this beautiful area of Chiriqui you will find hiking and birdwatching attractions, in a friendly rural and fresh environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Las Orquideas Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing