We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely lodging, great food and hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cielito Sur Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Cerro Punta B&B and Inns
Skagit valley, Washington
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“lovely lodging, great food and hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

My husband and I spent five nights here in the cooler highlands of Panama with our hosts at Cielito Sur. Every day we had a delicious breakfast, including a breakfast and lunch they prepared for us to take in the field for a complete day of birding. Glenn was on top of every place to go birding and lined up guides for us whene ver we requested them, both guides being very good at their job. Since birding was our main activity, it was important to us that we stay at a good home base, and I cant imagine a better one. Our hosts were also good at suggesting other activities and good local restaurants for dinner. We were glad to have rented a car to stay there as it is a bit out of the local town of Volcan, but if one has more time than money, you could also do with using local taxis. We look forward to returning to the B and B and I'll bring a better camera to photograph the many birds around the garden. One might stay there just to watch the amazing hummingbird show.

Room Tip: you cant choose a bad room here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ouzelchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    4
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
45
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

Cielito Sur is a lovely place with sparkling streams, lovely flowers, fruit trees and beautiful birds flitting about everywhere. My husband and I are birders and at Cielito Sur we truly found a small heaven of birds. We stayed at the self-catering Casita for 2 weeks and we enjoyed the peace and quiet of our stay. We suspect that we would have enjoyed staying in any of the other rooms as well with the daily breakfasts provided. The hosts, Janet and Glenn, bird enthusiasts themselves, are most attentive and friendly with helpful advice and information. They grow their own coffee and gather fresh eggs daily from the hen house. We felt very welcome and it was like visiting family. We look forward to staying there again in the future..

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1hum-mer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

We spent 2 nights at Cielito Sur as part of a 2-week trip in Panama. We were absolutely satisfied with what we received, including a cosy room, delicious home-made breakfast, useful briefing upon arrival and much hospitality in general. We can only recommend Cielito Sur for shorter or longer stays in the area. An additional advantage is that the Volcán/Cerro Punta area is much less touristy and crowded than Boquete, while it offers almost the same amount of activities and, in our opinion, prettier landscape.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DDD217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2013

Cielito Sur was just pefect. We spent 10 glorious days watching the hummingbirds and justvenjoying ourselves. Janet and Glenn have created a paradise---and we were lucky enough to share it. The rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated, it's very quiet, and they have all the added touches (flowers, chocolates, fast internet) just right. We will come back.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

Cielito Sur is in a very quiet setting, surrounded by nature, including hummingbirds galore. We spent two nights there and although it was New Year's Eve in a country which doesn't need any excuse to party, we slept very well. We were in the spacious and clean Kuna Room which had dozens of molas. There is also a large community room with books, games, and a computer to use. We were able to access the internet in our room, though. The second night there were hibiscus flowers and a Hershey's kiss on our pillows. The owner's make delicious breakfasts, grow and serve their own coffee, and provide information and advice. We were told where to see quetzales, on my bucket list, and lo and behold we did! Thank you!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robertshill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

Stayed here 2 nights in August---beautiful grounds, lots of birds, great home made breakfasts using coffee, jams, yogurt, eggs all from their property. The hosts, Janet and Glen were excellent giving us tips on what to do locally as far as hiking, food, etc. We stayed at two other locations during our trip and this was easily the best. Rooms were comfortable, clean and nicely decorated.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cptfredandrenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

Spaciously roomed B&B with good common areas located in pretty gardens. Good breakfast with many hummingbirds outside windows. Can be cold at night although heaters are provided. However, it is overpriced in our view and the pillows could with renewing. A car is essential.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue&Paul-Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cerro Punta
1.9 mi away
Hotel Bambito Resort
Hotel Bambito Resort
#2 of 4 in Volcan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel Dos Rios
Hotel Dos Rios
#3 of 4 in Volcan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
8.1 mi away
Finca Lerida
Finca Lerida
#2 of 12 in Boquete
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Las Orquideas Bed & Breakfast
Las Orquideas Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 2 in Cerro Punta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
7.1 mi away
Mount Totumas Cloud Forest
2.5 mi away
La Petite Maison Lodge & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cielito Sur Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cielito Sur Bed and Breakfast

Property: Cielito Sur Bed and Breakfast
Address: Via Volcan - Cerro Punta | Nueva Suiza, Cerro Punta, Panama
Region: Panama > Chiriqui Province > Cerro Punta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cerro Punta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quiet, private, country estate inn surrounded by trees, gardens, fruit & coffee orchards, the estate is a natural bird sanctuary nestled in the rustic landscape of the Chiriqui highlands. It's conveniently located between the towns of Cerro Punta and Volcan, offering easy access to both the Volcan Baru National Park & La Amistad International Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Cielito Sur Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing