We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth a certificate of excellence” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant Les Quatre Vents

Restaurant Les Quatre Vents
Ranked #2 of 105 Restaurants in Bonifacio
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Specialites "poissons" et "bouillabaisse maison"
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not worth a certificate of excellence”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Between the Tripadvisor reviews and the recommendation of our hotel, I was expecting a lot from this restaurant. It's true the service was very friendly and it did have a family vibe, but the food really was pretty unremarkable, especially given the price. Everything we ate was decent, but not exceptional. And the bill for two people including wine was well over 100 Euros. All in all, we didn't find a lot of creative or exceptional cooking in Bonifacio and this restaurant was no exception, unfortunately.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AJude10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    500
    189
    34
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Langenzersdorf, Austria
Level Contributor
243 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Average fish at exorbitant prices”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We came here to have some fish.
Service is nice, view is fine.
But out of 2 fishes one was great and the other dry (cooked to long) - that is not acceptable. And prices were very high.

And the cooking was not very creative.

I would not go there again, they need to improve.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank reise21at
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best bouillabaisse I ever had”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Charming hosts, tasty food nicely presented, with a perfect location beside the marina. Tip: dont try to park next to the restaurant - park in the car park just on the left as you enter Bonifaccio and walk the very pleasant walk along the marina until you get to the restaurant almost at the end of the marina.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank 369GerryM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
153 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Delicious Bouilliabaise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

This charming restaurant is on the quai facing the luxurious yachts of the rich and famous.
The people are warm and welcoming. We walked in without a reservation and were seated immediately.
But the star is the delicious bouillabaisse, labeled as Petite,but too large to finish. The broth is flavorful and redolent with seasonings, fennel, tomato, and the classic tastes. Several typical fish and a bunch of mussels, as well as potato which re-opens the debate as to whether to include or reject in classic preparation. At €29 per serving, it is certainly reasonable.
A crab and avocado starter was immaculately fresh and wonderful.

This is the Real Deal for bouillabaisse in Corse!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JandLfromNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
151 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“One of the best meals I've Ever Had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

During our trip to Corsica and Sardinia, the stop on Bonifacio was an after thought. Merely a stopping over place to catch the ferry to Sardinia. What a surprise to find a fantastic restaurant where we weren't expecting it.

Le Quatre Vents is located in the heart of the Bonifacio marina, which gives it a charming location to begin with. The wait staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. They made us feel right at home.

But it's the food that is the star here. We started by sharing a "stuffed" mussels appetizer. I'm not sure what it was stuffed with, but these mussels were perfectly cooked and delicious. The the butter that was part of the cooking process was sopped up instantly with the fresh french bread. That was just the opening delight.

My daughter ordered the duck. As mentioned in other reviews, this is unlike any duck I've ever seen. The breast was huge, perfectly cooked, and served with a honey dipping sauce that was out of this world. Accompanied by perfectly cooked frittes, this entree would be a home run anywhere. But as good as the duck was, I think that the restaurant's boullibaise was incredible. Whole filets of fish, fresh mussels, and a broth to die for.

The portions are huge, the food is magnificent. All I can say is - this is a restaurant to be reckoned with! Congratulations Quatre Vents!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Les Quatre Vents also viewed

Bonifacio, Corse-du-Sud
Bonifacio, Corse-du-Sud
 
Bonifacio, Corse-du-Sud
Propriano, Corse-du-Sud
 

Been to Restaurant Les Quatre Vents? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing