We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location. Free internet. Clean and comfortable room.”
Review of Hotel Le Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Le Royal
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Bonifacio
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Hotel Le Royal is a FANTASTIC off-season choice. The location is perfect for exploring Bonifacio, and the price is right!

The room was very clean and spacious. Bed was comfortable. Staff were friendly and helpful. High-speed internet is FREE and with few people staying in the hotel, it was very fast.

TV has no English-language channels. Entry into the hotel is a bit strange. You must enter through a ricketty sliding-glass door, cross an outdoor patio dining area (abandoned for the winter season), then enter the hotel through a non-nondescript door. After hours your room key also opens the main hotel entrance.

My stay was during the winter, but it appears that there's no air conditioning. Heating worked great and was easily controllable.

Parking is on the street. During the busy season, I suspect parking would be difficult.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 7,268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2011

Bonifacio is an EXTREMELY charming little town. We had worried it would be too touristy, but we actually really loved it. The Le Royal is a completely fine hotel (really it is some rooms above a restaurant, more restaurant than hotel) -- extremely, extremely basic, but quiet, clean and cheap. The bed was fine, and the bathroom completely sufficient. It is in a great location in the heart of town. The restaurant was fine, and the staff was very kind. They let us use a crib, towels and beach umbrellas all without charge. Bonifacio can be really expensive and this was a great choice for us, I would recommend it if you are not looking for much more than a clean, well located place to sleep.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank twnewton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

for the price in this very crowded, very old hilltop town.
Our rooms was large, if basically furnished but clean and with a great view of the Harbour and the Ferry Port below where we were catching our early morning ferry for Sardinia (only early as check in is 90 mins. ahead of loading six cars, two trucks and 20 passengers).
Perfect for a night or three (if you can afford the Restaurant and Shop prices) We didn't eat at the hotel and breakfast was not on offer at < 7am).
The Car Park (don't park on the lower level overnight~broken glass) is a LONG walk away so be prepared to drop off and pick up in a very busy street by the Hotel.
Make sure you UNDERSTAND the means of free access to the car park. We found the receptionist far too off hand in her instructions!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ludensian2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2011

Stayed here for one night, would have stayed for two but it was fully booked the next night. Had a really nice room overlooking the sea and the hotel could not be more centrally located within the tourist trap that is Bonifacio.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYHel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2010

We stayed in Bonifacio for 2 nights in late September, as the town was shifting into low season. Hotel le royal seemed like a good choice in a rather expensive town. The accommodation itself is fine - basic but clean. Service was fine and the free private parking (5 mins walk away) is great in this town as you can't just park on the street. The room was very small and a bit dark. The bathroom was basic too - the fact that you had to hold the shower handle was extremely frustrating but I guess they do this to ensure you have short showers. The shower itself was tiny with a flimsy curtain which meant water went all over the floor. We paid 81 euros per night which would usually be expensive for this standard but in Bonifacio it was decent value. Our advice on visiting Bonifacio would be to do it as a day trip. It is an absolutely beautiful town and it's worth spending a day there, but at night there is not much going on. The restaurants are poor - either very expensive or with terrible food. There is not much atmosphere in the town (even in September, it's probably fine in high summer).

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2010

Hotel Le Royal is very nicely situated right in the centre of the old town, with lovely views of the harbour/port from some of the bedrooms. It’s a fairly basic hotel (which is reflected in the prices) – there’s no mini fridge, or satellite tv, but it is clean and comfortable. Our double room was bright and airy in blue, white and yellow and had a double bed, wardrobe (of sorts), two chairs and a flat screen tv on a table. Spare blankets were on the wardrobe, there was a safe (free), an air conditioning unit and a radiator.

The en-suite bathroom was nicely decorated in blue and white, but the shower was fairly rudimentary - as there was no clip on the wall you had to hold the shower head all the time, or keep turning it off and on. Still, once it got going there was plenty of hot water. Towels were .. adequate.

We found the staff on reception to be very pleasant and helpful, and they recommended places to visit and things to do in the area. I don’t think they speak a lot of English, so if you have rudimentary French, that’ll help! We hadn’t booked breakfast, but from what I saw it would be the basic continental – hot drink, juice, a croissant and some bread, jam etc.

There is a restaurant attached to the hotel but we didn’t eat there as there were so many other lovely places to dine in nearby – but coffee outside under the trees was very pleasant, watching the world go by.

If you’re driving whilst in Bonifacio, the hotel does have a secure, private car park – it’s a five minute walk from the hotel itself and you’ll need to know the code that opens the gates – even out of season there was no other parking that I could see, so the fact that there’s a free car park is a big bonus. The hotel website says that the car park is covered, but it isn’t. In season I suspect driving in Bonifacio would be horrendous.

Hotel Le Royal is a great hotel if you want somewhere central, and you’re not looking for luxury.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nemish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

Le Royal isn't the Ritz but the room we had was clean, simple and the bathroom was a decent size. It was also perfect location being in the centre of the citadel/ old town. The staff are relaxed/friendly and the room served its purpose for the 1 night we stayed there. Our window looked out onto the street below- but it never got noisy.
Bonifacio hotels are quite pricey so for 72 euros we got the cheapest deal for the best location.
The other plus was the private carpark !!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fairy2410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bonifacio hotels
0.6 mi away
A Madonetta
A Madonetta
#13 of 20 in Bonifacio
226 reviews
1.5 mi away
A Cheda
A Cheda
#5 of 20 in Bonifacio
488 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel du Roy D'Aragon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Santateresa Hotel
Santateresa Hotel
#6 of 20 in Bonifacio
421 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Cala Di Greco
Hotel Cala Di Greco
#1 of 20 in Bonifacio
450 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Genovese
Hotel Genovese
#7 of 20 in Bonifacio
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Royal

Address: 8 rue Fred Scamaroni, 20169 Bonifacio, Corsica, France
Region: France > Corsica > Corse-du-Sud > Bonifacio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Bonifacio
Price Range: £48 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Le Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Royal Corsica/Bonifacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing