We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Functional alternative to old city location”
Review of A Madonetta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
A Madonetta
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Bonifacio
Hastings, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Functional alternative to old city location”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We used this hotel purely because of car parking problems in trying to locate in the old city.
The location is great and the rooms clean and spacious enough. But for the price not really good value. Reception is really luke warm and little interest in you as a guest. Although our early morning check out with the night porter was efficient - maybe he should be in charge!
Balcony views over Bonifacio are good - so make sure you ask for the view.

Room Tip: Balcony with harbour facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    104
    45
    11
    0
See reviews for
54
107
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I would give 3.5 stars if I could - my two friends both said they'd give 4 - 5 stars. I just feel that even though I have nothing negative to write, for the money it still didn't blow me away and to receive 4 or 5 stars you need something special.

Parking was super convenient - a lot attached to the hotel in the packed little city of Bonifacio. We had a quad room for three people, so there was plenty of sleeping space but not a whole lot for luggage. That wasn't a problem though. The little balcony was cute and overlooked the street. It was just a few minutes away from the citadel and main restaurant row, so the location was great.

We did not eat the breakfast. The rooms were spic and span.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmsinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sardinia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Travelling yet again for work I had a really good experience with this hotel. It's family run so attention to detail and customer satisfaction is a priority for them. The rooms are large and airy and very clean. The bathrooms are a good size, very clean (with large sized bath towels). Free WiFi in all the rooms. Just 200m from the quey everything (boats, road train, shops, restaurants) are all close by. The only down side was the cost and quality of the breakfast, but overcome by the owner Andrea offering me free expresso coffee every morning in the reception. Andrea was always helpful and gave useful info. Highly recomend this hotel. One last point......it's open during the winter!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BritExpat_65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ks
Level 6 Contributor
340 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

In Bonifacio in winter there is only one hotel open, and this winter it is the A Madonetta. Although it does not face the sea, the rooms are fine and so is the breakfast. The staff was efficient and helpful. Although the hotel is open, their spa services are not. The hotel is located close to the harbor and within easy walking distance of the citadel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

The hotel seems almost newly built and keeps a very good standard. The one thing we didn't like so much was the location, as it is situated a bit outside of the town and just in front of a road. Also, the surrounding is not very picturesque and quite different from what you see if you walk into the center.

However, if you like to live in a modern place and don't mind a short walk to see the marvels of Bonifacio, this is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Logge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Pros:
Very nice room with large double bed, bathtub and balcony
Clean, except for some ants which kept appearing in the bathroom
Friendly welcoming
Electrical outlets on bed side
Close to the port

Cons:
Impossible to use wifi in room (301). Upon check in we asked if it worked and we were told, as usual, wifi is available everywhere. Long story short, since you can lose signal by moving your device by one or two inches, we had to step down to the lobby to book our next accomodations.

Room Tip: If you need wifi access in the room, go and check yourself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexdeflorence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

No view from the hotel but only a few minutes walk from the port and all the restaurants. Easy to get to and free parking.
Rooms are soundproof. Very good breakfast with lots of choices in the buffet. Breakfasts kept us going till supper with a light snack in the afternoon.
Hotel is fairly recent but there is no shower, only a shower head in the bathtub. Not very convenient.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ok2roll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bonifacio hotels
1.3 mi away
A Cheda
A Cheda
#5 of 20 in Bonifacio
445 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel du Roy D'Aragon
1.3 mi away
Hotel E Tre Stelle
Hotel E Tre Stelle
#7 of 20 in Bonifacio
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Genovese
Hotel Genovese
#8 of 20 in Bonifacio
352 reviews
1.0 mi away
A Trama
A Trama
#15 of 20 in Bonifacio
166 reviews
0.9 mi away
Santateresa Hotel
Santateresa Hotel
#6 of 20 in Bonifacio
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Madonetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Madonetta

Property: A Madonetta
Address: rue Paul Nicolai, 20169 Bonifacio, Corsica, France
Region: France > Corsica > Corse-du-Sud > Bonifacio
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Bonifacio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — A Madonetta 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your A Madonetta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
A Madonetta Corsica/Bonifacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing